Ukraine Bolts the arms of Babylon East-Embraces Babylon West

• Ukraine Bolts the arms of Babylon East-Embraces Babylon West

Or... How to get a huge, complicated IMF deal done in 3 weeks... Be a pawn in Babylon's Chess game

Mawnin Portia

I.M.F. Prepares $18 Billion in Loans for Ukraine
    By STEVEN ERLANGER and DAVID M. HERSZENHORN
    MARCH 27, 2014

LONDON — After three weeks of urgent negotiations with the interim government of Ukraine and in an atmosphere of great power competition, the International Monetary Fund announced on Thursday an agreement to provide up to $18 billion in loans over two years to prevent the country’s default.

The agreement, announced in Kiev, the Ukrainian capital, will hinge on the country taking steps to let the value of its currency float downward, to cut corruption and red tape, and, crucially, to reduce huge state subsidies for the consumption of natural gas. The energy subsidies alone represent roughly 8 percent of Ukraine’s gross domestic product, and Russia has said that it intends to raise on April 1 the price of natural gas to Ukraine, which is largely dependent on Russian supplies and which already owes the Russian energy company Gazprom well over $1 billion.

China needs to send two N-U-C-L-E-A warships fi come dock up downtown before the US fart pon we. What I find puzzling is how the US is allowing China to move into their backyard without even a whimper.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

China needs to send two N-U-C-L-E-A warships fi come dock up downtown before the US fart pon we. What I find puzzling is how the US is allowing China to move into their backyard without even a whimper.
      The problem here is that the United States has exhausted itself with stupid multi-Trillion dollar wars which achieve nothing...and stupid financial games which almost destroyed its middle class...
      i.e. A really bad case of Capitalism Gone Mad.

The US has neither the desire nor the available disposable income to implement big investments in countries like Jamaica... so it's not really a question of "allowing" China anything. The US does not have a viable alternative to Chinese investment in Latin America, Caribbean, South America, Asia or Africa unfortunately.
      If they did we could secure better terms from the Chinese

However if China were to make aggressive military moves in the region...that would be an entirely different situation

King Jangle, if you look carefully...China has an affinity toward countries with corrupt governments. Generally the type if Government that is willing to sell the birth-rights of it's citizens.

Not that US Companies have not tried to investing in Jamaica. Hanes for example was literally kicked out from the reports i heard.

Jamaica is not attractive to most reputable US Companies for investment.

The US is not really that different HL.

Saddam Hussein was a friend of the US when it suited their cause.

Pinochet was a friend of the US when it suited their cause.

Noriega, Mobutu.....I could go on.

TOTALLY agree Islandman!! The USA is no saint.

But comparatively speaking, who would you rather take your investment chances with China or the US? Who is easier to relate with...?

I would love to sit in on one of those meetings between China and Jamaica. A helluva-lot must be lost in translation and other nuances.

Making a profit at all cost (Capitalism) justifies working with corruption. Jamaica doesn't offer any significant financial benefit to the US to prompt them to make the China-type investment in the region.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LOL!!! Dis rich!!

Making a profit at all cost (Capitalism) justifies working with corruption. Jamaica doesn't offer any significant financial benefit to the US to prompt them to make the China-type investment in the region.
                  Err... not exactly

Consider infrastructure investments for example which is where most Chinese investments are directed.... the USA is unable to find the money to upgrade its own deteriorating infrastructure. Do you believe they would find the funds to upgrade Jamaica's and wait 25 years for the ROI?

Nope...US capital plays the short game driven by stock markets and the pressure imposed by quarterly results. Their view is short term by definition

Chinese state capitalism is driven by Govt long term strategy.... it plays the long game which seeks to return the Middle Kingdom to global domination in 30-50 years or so. Short term results are not primary to their model. Waiting 25 years for whatever ROI they seek is nothing to them
                  Whether that global hegemony will occur is anyone's guess

Chess vs Checkers
                  Last edited by Don1; March 28, 2014, 02:26 PM.

lol ! woiee !

Xi Says China Has ‘No Private Interest In The Ukraine Question’
                      President Says Parties Must Aim for Diplomatic Solution

Facebook
                      Twitter
                      Expand/Collapse
                      Chinese President Xi Jinping said China had "no private interest in the Ukraine question," dashing hopes in the Yest that Beijing could turn more critical of its Russian ally.

http://stream.wsj.com/story/latest-h...9/SS-2-494698/

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Now you flip the script, yuh bias is translation and nuances ? wi talking business.

Island hit the nail on the head no bias in business, politricks that comes with it , is where Jamaica fails misreable.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The vultures were already lined up.
                          Their feast is possible only because of the hard work by the most powerful politicians.
                          This is politics 101.

I think you miss the script too X.

Better Business Schools have courses in Cultural Practices for students who will likely work overseas (doing business) in places like Japan and China. The course takes into consideration nuances......................

This is my last post on this thread.

Last post on the topic for me too,we fail misreable because we into cultural nuances and biases to european cultural practices,so we let commonsense initiatives pass us bye bye ,for all things western or european , the irony is the west and europeans are now embracing the Asians i.e Chinese but we dwell on petty issues , same thing with the ganja business,they embrace we reject.

We need to exam ourselves, there is a course for healthcare professionals called cultural competence and basically it says , you have to examine your biases before you can treat your patients.

We havent even started examing ourselves,so to treat ourselves in business,science,football,trade , healthcare is an uphill battle.

Germany Plans to Expand Chinese Rail Link as Xi Visits Duisburg

http://www.businessweek.com/news/201...isits-duisburg
                              Last edited by Sir X; March 28, 2014, 03:32 PM.