Maybe we haffi start question di numbers. The JLP is notorious for censorship.
Comment, yuh not alone on this one! I
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostMaybe we haffi start question di numbers. The JLP is notorious for censorship."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostFor me, those stats prove who was causing the mayhem.
I more rather think it is descent into general lawlessness and mayhem caused by the dire conditions that exist in our economy as it relates to jobs and opportunities(or more rather lack thereof!) a hopelessly hamstrung police force and successive ministers of national security who have no idea what national security is much less how it is achieved.
But anyway you have tacitly admitted that (for whatever reason you feel), based on the stats, that it is the JLP who better controls crime and violence of the two parties.
So Scaly that is two possible reasons to vote for the JLP. One is they manage the economy better, and the second is they manage crime and violence better.
Scaly, of the two parties, who do you think by way of policy and application creates more job opportunities for the population?
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI am not exactly a ghetto yute, Lazie. Had I been, dem probably woulda did eat mi food right there and then. But when "armed" with an id from a decent multinational company, driving a decent car and speaking proper English, they know HWT, under the clock, would not be the place to carry out dem phuqery.
No need to talk to anyone, Lazie. I lived it as I am doing now.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI'll never forgive Seaga for unleashing the Eradication Squad on the public, who, for no reason at all, aimed their M-16s at me in HWT and promised that if it was anywhere else, it woulda different.
They both failed miserably when it comes to crime and violence. And the fact that a not-too-small army exists in the mother of all garrisons does not bring comfort to my world.
Originally posted by Comment View PostOK. the stats may prove to you who is causing the mayhem (although I fail to see how you relate by way of a few examples a double murder in Portmore involving a 15 year old girl and a 6 year old boy to your theory, or "Soft drink delivery truck hijacked, driver killed" which was a headline in today's paper, or "Woman shot dead inside her car" which was a headline in yesterday's paper.)
I more rather think it is descent into general lawlessness and mayhem caused by the dire conditions that exist in our economy as it relates to jobs and opportunities(or more rather lack thereof!) a hopelessly hamstrung police force and successive ministers of national security who have no idea what national security is much less how it is achieved.
But anyway you have tacitly admitted that (for whatever reason you feel), based on the stats, that it is the JLP who better controls crime and violence of the two parties.
So Scaly that is two possible reasons to vote for the JLP. One is they manage the economy better, and the second is they manage crime and violence better.
Scaly, of the two parties, who do you think by way of policy and application creates more job opportunities for the population?
Originally posted by Jawge View PostMy turn: which party
would you say manage EDUCATION better? Hey this is my biggest issue over statistical figures on the economy. Also: How important is education to JA (in your own words)."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Oh boy, no you
didn't; you like to go back in time with figures and data. Check your party (JLP) record against that backdrop (is pure banana man ah cut an nym dem name pon bulla) Well we are going bck to it only this time, it's all about craft (or basket weaving). Which work force that is BTW? The Jakan version of silicon valley? get a grip. We may be the first nation to declare Bankruptcy when you guys are finished with the island
Originally posted by Jawge View PostOh boy, no you
didn't; you like to go back in time with figures and data. Check your party (JLP) record against that backdrop (is pure banana man ah cut an nym dem name pon bulla) Well we are going bck to it only this time, it's all about craft (or basket weaving). Which work force that is BTW? The Jakan version of silicon valley? get a grip. We may be the first nation to declare Bankruptcy when you guys are finished with the island"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Jawge View PostMy turn: which party
would you say manage EDUCATION better? Hey this is my biggest issue over statistical figures on the economy. Also: How important is education to JA (in your own words).
"Last Tuesday at the PSOJ's Job Creation Award ceremony, the keynote speaker, Peter Moses, gave an account of his time with Citibank. In particular, he spoke of the transition Citibank made in the 1970s in order to survive. He said that in the 1970s the flight of capital and the brain drain created difficulties in the business environment, with great uncertainty as to what was happening in the country. In 1979, Citibank had to change its business model if it planned to continue in Jamaica, and made the bold decision to do so after recognising the difficulties being faced in the economy.
Crossroads
My opinion is that this is the cross road that Jamaica is at presently. It is clear that something is not working about our model.
Security and Education
Similarly with security issues, the latest move is to bring foreign police personnel to help us address our problems. In the past, across administrations, we have used special police squads to confront the crime situation. Because of our crime- fighting strategies, we have created personalities such as Reneto Adams, who in many instances have been seen as saviours because our security infrastructure has failed to protect the average citizen and create a society free from the fear of crime. This is not unique to Jamaica as in many countries with the same issues many personalities arise as a leadership vacuum is created which they fill. It is therefore not a situation that we have to contend with alone as there are many current and historical experiences that we can examine to understand the underlying issues.
On the matter of education, we have also managed to introduce the GSAT, dreaded by both children and parents. I really do not know what the purpose of the GSAT exam is, outside of placing the fear of God into children as they scramble to avoid being placed at less than desirable institutions. Even with this dreaded exam being in place for a while, CXC results continue to be less than adequate, and as far as I am concerned that we continue to produce a poorly educated workforce. There is generally a lack of thinking in our society. The result is that we have created a situation where persons use their contacts to get children into schools of their choice rather than place their children at schools where they would be amongst their academic peers. We have managed to create another bed of inequality and corruption."
I don't know but when you read that coupled with the fact that 80% of all secondary level, high school graduates do so without ANY passes in ANY subject at all, then it looks dire to me.