• Jamaica: 1 Million in Poverty

Jamaica's poverty rating worsens

Tamara Bailey, Gleaner Writer
    MANDEVILLE, Manchester:

SOME 1.1 million Jamaicans are living below the poverty line, fuelling an intergenerational crisis.

The finding was one of several which came out of a study conducted by member of the American Counselling Association and the Association of Adventist Family Life Professional Dr Alanzo Smith.

Smith, who was the plenary speaker at the recently held Biennial Psychology Conference at Northern Caribbean University, said intergenerational poverty stems from a breakdown in family structure, lack of education and economics and is one of the reasons the Human Development Index, a report used to measure development through various means, ranked Jamaica 86th out of 187 countries with an alarming poverty rate.

read more
    http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news2.html

There will be a poor people's revolution one day....maybe in 10 or 20 years.

Unemployment 14 to 16 % ,poverty at 1 mill,corruption pandemic,Goat/Hub is a secret and the opposition cant make none of these a political issue ? Cant present themselves as a viable option with a way forward.

Ganja criminalisation seems to be the panacea to deal with all the above.

Vybz conviction seems to be the highlight of the so called good ones in the shitstem.

Joke ting.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

More people to love, Portia!

More ignoramouses wid mouth.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Unemployment 14 to 16 % ,poverty at 1 mill,corruption pandemic,Goat/Hub is a secret and the opposition cant make none of these a political issue ? Cant present themselves as a viable option with a way forward.

Ganja criminalisation seems to be the panacea to deal with all the above.

Vybz conviction seems to be the highlight of the so called good ones in the shitstem.

Joke ting.
            ... yet again you intend to cast blame on the opposition? Let's see, during the previous campaign, the opposition then did not put any plans forward, except JEEP. The masses went out and gave the then opposition a 2/3 majority in Parliament, yet you still see the need to blame the opposition?

Clearly you were trying to make a joke.

More people to love, Portia!
              True words!

Your myopic and tribal sentiments clouds your comprehension that its as much an attack on the opposition as it is the current government.

Or is it you would rather me leave the opposition out of being bashed ?

Your myopic and tribal sentiments clouds your comprehension that its as much an attack on the opposition as it is the current government.

Or is it you would rather me leave the opposition out of being bashed ?

My tribal sentiments? Lets see, December 2011 when you all were dancing on the ceiling bout vote out the green man and predicting 18 more years, unuh never know what unuh a tek up? Why not knock yuh gov't? When the previous gov't was in office, you all were eager to knock them, so why unuh hesitant fi criticize unuh beloved religious higher order? Tme you stop being a hypocrite X.

Grasping at straws my friend , because I am not in any mans corner I am a comrade worse yet ,your enemy !

I pointed out a glaring issue , as much as you clowns beat up your gum about the PNP and Portia plane fare,you have no base to get out the clueless PNP,so what does that say about the opposition, thats a valid question that you shy away from by questioning my political affiliation, it will always be about my percieved support of the PNP and not the wanting of the JLP.

The question stands ,Is it you would rather me leave the opposition out of being bashed ?

You guys are like the Tea Party, running after every redherring about Obama and cant come together to oust him, anyone who questions you , are right wing liberals,unpatriotic or enemies.

Grow di F*Ck UP !
                    Last edited by Sir X; March 27, 2014, 09:02 AM.

ahm.. you are blaming the opposition for not being able to thrive in PNP country ?

Wheh yuh want dem duh ? Promise HUMMER ?

lol ! woiee !

Meanwhile the propped up state of Singapore has moved up 8 places to now be ranked at 18. Hmmm.

The HDI list is an interesting read. You have the large, fast rising economies like China and India which are still well below Jamaicas rank. This suggests that they still have a long way to go in human development. The report does say however that:

Projections in the 2013 report suggested that by 2020 the combined economic output of three leading developing countries alone—Brazil, China and India—will surpass the aggregate production of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom and the United States. This shift has related to trade and technology partnerships between emerging economies.
                        Botswana which is seen as an African success story is below Guyana at 119. Zimbabwe moved up one place to 172 out of 187 though. Long live Mugabe!

Jamaica, with a 30% poverty rate. is actually ranked among the countries with "high human development". Think bout that for a minute.

All well and good.. but at least in Jamaica, accomodations is a matter of where you can capture..

Can the Singapore housing situation match that ?!

Thought so...

How much time a must tell yuh? The JLP had to go after that disgraceful mismanagement of the Dudus affair!

LOL, if you say that Mosiah. You can use that, while people like X blame them for not being a viable alternative. I notice that none of you have anything to say about the dollar.