English lessons for Jamaica

• English lessons for Jamaica

"In fact, Jamaica is the only so-called English-speaking nation in the world to benefit from the programme and only one of two countries in the Caribbean, the other being Cuba, whose official language is Spanish."

Wooiiee, mi glottis!

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...maica_16327560

A few problems I hqve with the article,there is that local dialect presence in all Caribbean countries,why is it more consequential...in Jamaica?
    English teachers are typically in command of the language,I am being now told some are not.
    Does our penchant for literature written in US english consequential....?
    Also,much was said disparagingly about our patwah by England officials,is this a nefarious subliminal attack....?

Get off it, Rockman! Wi nuh talk English round 'ere! Yuh not listening to what di nice white lady (or genkleman) seh?

Heh heh!

A Simple Question, Rockman

Why is it that Jamaica is the only CARICOM country to see a desperate need to use patois in order to teach understandable English?

Afterall, like you correctly said, other Caribbean countries have their dialect.

I sometimes wish that we could become less overly nationalistic in our defenses and instead focus on the realities that abound! On the one hand we talk glibly on this forum about expansion, globalization, the shipping hub, and other apparently little understood concepts and practices, yet on the other hand we, in our thinking, often turn out to be Jamaica’s worst enemies (as far as true development is concerned)!

In this specific case the simple fact, regardless of any argument we try to bring, is that a functional understanding of the English language is EXTREMELY important once we fly or sail beyond the borders of Jamaica! It is as simple as that, boss!

A few problems I hqve with the article,there is that local dialect presence in all Caribbean countries,why is it more consequential...in Jamaica?
        English teachers are typically in command of the language,I am being now told some are not.
        Does our penchant for literature written in US english consequential....?
        Also,much was said disparagingly about our patwah by England officials,is this a nefarious subliminal attack....?

Things have to really be what they are said to...
          If anything we talk less patwah now than before,we read more now too
          Jamaica has far more immigrants living there now,are those immigrants parents?
          If the children of Chinese immigrants are having better passes in English then why the preferred language of their parents proved inconsequential?
          There are so many plausible reasons but all I am hearing about is patwah,and from people whose country was highly critical of our dialect during its problems with riots.

yuh notice they call for total immersion in English...not no teaching English Language in patwa foolishness...so I don't know why all the patwa doctors are gloating about this news article

That's it right there, and we are not functionally literate in English in the first place.

Historian
              In this specific case the simple fact, regardless of any argument we try to bring, is that a functional understanding of the English language is EXTREMELY important once we fly or sail beyond the borders of Jamaica! It is as simple as that, boss!

I'm first celebrating the recognition that we do not speak English!

If that is not acknowledged, then it matters not the teaching method.

Interesting move.
                  It is noticeable that we understand English...but it is fact, as our posts here show that there is not one poster who does not at times struggle with writing in English.

...and before there is wholesale attack or otherwise, let me state that it is noticeable that some posters are better at writing using the English Language than are others.

In the bigger picture of purpose why we enjoy this unique and wonderful community of "The Massive", using English to communicate fades when compared to our sharing of thoughts, experiences and camaraderie.

More power to those introducing 'Use of English' to and in the classrooms in our beloved JAMAICA but here...more power to "The Massive" and the reggaeboyzsc.com!
                  FORWARD!

Wooooiiiiie....

Interesting move.
                    It is noticeable that we understand English...but it is fact, as our posts here show that there is not one poster who does not at times struggle with writing in English.

...and before there is wholesale attack or otherwise, let me state that it is noticeable that some posters are better at writing using the English Language than are others.

FORWARD!
                    ... Mi belly!!!!!

Interesting move.

Good one Karl! Speak for yourself anyway, and I am fluent in English and I do not struggle with the language, and I know where to place my commas, semi colons, and colons etc.

that has been acknowledged a long time ago...hence the culture doctors idiotic call for students to be taught in their "first" language

This english adventure is more suited for london where it belongs,they need help in english.

David Starkley ....this Jamaican patwa....the whites have become black.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bAGTE_RGN4c

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Thanks for this, X. I forgot about it since dem time deh!

No wonder wi suh violent. Wi speak patois!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post

Good one Karl! Speak for yourself anyway, and I am fluent in English and I do not struggle with the language, and I know where to place my commas, semi colons, and colons etc.
                              Guess the above is a great example of your being fluent in English?

...and since you pointed to specific areas in which you are fluent, what do you have to say about the construction of your sentences?

...or were you agreeing with me?

'Nice' post...still!
                              Last edited by Karl; March 25, 2014, 10:07 PM.