• For Casino..Termites select man who flopped Palmyra

Trotta reveals plans for Vegas-style casino
    Published: Friday | March 14, 2014 0 Comments

Robert Trotta

Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer

WESTERN BUREAU:

Celebration Jamaica's founder, Robert Trotta has unveiled plans for his multi-million dollar integrated resort development incorporating a 'Las Vegas Style' casino entertainment complex in the tourism capital of Montego Bay, St. James.

On Wednesday night, Trotta, who had in attendance advisors, former Prime Minister, P.J. Patterson; Canadian businessman, Dennis Mills, and tourism, hospitality and gaming industry expert, Edward McMullen, said Celebration Jamaica was ready to commence construction as early as this summer.

"We anticipate the final vetting process for the granting of a development order, as prescribed by Section 9 of The Casino Gaming Act, Casino Gaming Regulations 2012 by the Ministry of Finance and Planning, could be as early as this summer," said Trotta.

The development order, he said, will facilitate the construction of Celebration Jamaica Hotel and Resort in the second city.

"We have secured three locations for its proposed integrated resort master development and are ready to begin construction at any of these locations," Trotta said with confidence.

The announcement has been welcomed by Mayor of Montego Bay, Councillor Glendon Harris who said this was one project he believed to have the trickling effect tourism should be having on the workers employed in the industry.

"I am committing my support in any way possible, and will ensure your dealings with the Council is seamless," he told the investors.

Conceptualized around the theme “Caribbean World Music”, Celebration Jamaica Hotel and Resort is positioned as a 365-day entertainment attraction for both tourists and locals. In addition to the hotel, the first phase of the development encompasses an entertainment complex with a multitude of facilities to include a full-service casino with table gaming and slot machines.

The integrated resort development will consist of several main buildings and structures containing 1,000 hotel rooms under phase one, with further expansion of an additional 1,000 hotel rooms under phase two.

It will also house a state of the art entertainment complex with a 75,000 square-foot casino and sports book; hotel with spectacular lobby lounge overlooking the Caribbean Sea; bars, restaurants, health club, spa and kid’s club, and retail space.

The development will also include a shopping centre complete with its own “Restaurant Row”, secluded beaches, an artisan village, a Caribbean world music entertainment complex and other premier features, potentially including a marina and water complex.

With partners secured, Celebration Jamaica said it is ready to begin construction of the initial 1,000 hotel rooms the moment the order is granted.

"The estimated development cost of US$450 million for the first phase will provide more than 2,000 jobs for local Jamaicans and millions of dollars in tax revenue for the Government of Jamaica," stated the developer.

According to him, Celebration Jamaica’s advisory board is currently appraising proposals for the final selection of casino operator.

“Out of a full set of international highly reputable casino operators, we have several excellent options,” Trotta said. Celebration Jamaica’s board of directors and advisors comprises 10 local and international world class experts in gaming, finance, law, hotel management and operations.

He has named advisors who he said would drive the project towards early success, including Mills, committee chairman; Patterson, senior counsel, and Michael McMorris, hotel finance and operations expert.

Trotta said “one of … two construction companies has already submitted a bid covering the majority of the construction cost. Financing will be provided by a non-Jamaican financial institution.”

He added that "at the moment we must keep the identity of our partners confidential, but are pleased with their bids which will enable us to move forward swiftly.”

Did they day where exactly in RoseHall they are building this. I was hoping they would tun palymara into this.

Lazie picture this:

Rich tourist (preferably American) sitting around a blackjack/poker table in a fancy casino (in Jamaica) smoking a nicely professionally rolled Jamaican-made ganja cigar, with high-paid, voluptuous, nicely but tightlydressedLady of the Night by his side. He is living out his fantasy and he's on vacation. He easily drops US$5000 for his night of entertainment, not to mention how much he spends for his plane fare on Air Jamaica and his stay at BoJangle Casino. I am being serious.

I have smoked weed before in my youth, but I am not a weed smoker. However, I have nothing against it as I think it's no worse than anything else. Smoking in general is bad for your health. What we (Jamaicans) need to do is to tighten our points of entry and exits (our borders). It should remain illegal to export ganja, but legal to grow distibute and smoke/use it within our shores.

Prostitution is like cockroaches and will always be around, so why not legalise it and improve the working conditions for the workers. There should be a Red Light District in say St. Thomas (our poorest parish). The spinoffs from the influx of patrons will be tremendous to the local economy.

Casino gambling ......that's a no-brainer. The only thing they should be contemplating is where to put them. I think they should probably look to the south coast. They should separate casino-specific hotels from those geared towards a sun, sand and sea vacations.
      As usual, the government reacts instead of instituting proper planning and foresight.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

oh boy, so can he raise the money and run it????

You and dis prostitution ting...bwoyy yuh mek mi wonda bout di weed mental health effects ...yuh waan tun one parish inna whorehouse...a wha di...

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The oldest profession in the world. Tax it and clean up the profession.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Boss yuh designate a parish St Thomas for its trade , Think !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You and dis prostitution ting...bwoyy yuh mek mi wonda bout di weed mental health effects ...yuh waan tun one parish inna whorehouse...a wha di...
                LOL!

Why not? It goes hand in hand with putting casinos in a designated area. As I have said here before, now that the GOJ is looking to legalise casino gambling, they should put them in the poorest parish in Jamaica. prostitution is not going away. This is what is happening now in Jamaica.

How yuh find Ben and im ites ...lol ...wha kinda site yuh a surf ? ...mi nuh inna dat ..brethren ...Mi affi come talk to yuh oneaway....worried..yuh toungue slip ova suh...now dis......leggo offa di ........ brethren.
                    Last edited by Sir X; March 14, 2014, 03:22 PM.

you are suffering from arrested development... a kind of parochial disease..

How yuh find Ben and im ites ...lol ...wha kinda site yuh a surf ? ...mi nuh unna dat ..brethren ...Mi affi come talk to yuh oneaway....worried..yuh toungue slip ova suh...now dis......leggo offa di ........ brethren.
                        Pictures prominent pon FB.

Prostitution is legal in Nevada. So you have the whorehouses a drive away from the casinos in Las Vegas. It may be a hairbrained idea now, but who would have thought that we would be seeing steps to legalizing casino gambling and ganja in Jamaica 20 years ago. Not to mention seeing openly gay men walking about freely in Jamaica. The world is changing boss. The morality of our parents and of when we were growing up, is being thrown out with today's generation. There is no turning back.

According to the Christian Post, the international sex industry is a $30 billion a year business -- with hundreds of thousands of women, men and children coerced into a brutal and degrading life as prostitutes.

I am in support of legalized and regulated prostitution zones but I wouldn't put it in a place like St Thomas, my adopted parish. Too out of the way from major population centers and events.

Carve out a discrete corner of MoBay or Ochi fe dat, and maybe Port Royal, the original Sin City of the Caribbean. In fact put it across the street from the casino and next door to the ganja bar.

St Thomas needs some basic industry first.
                          Last edited by Islandman; March 14, 2014, 03:42 PM.

January 15th, 2009, 08:33 AM
                            Jangle vbmenu_register("postmenu_147870", true);
                            Reggae Prime Minister

What I would love to see is a little more thinking out of the box by the GOJ. I believe that with the passing of the bill, the GOJ should look at developing other areas of Jamaica by designating a special area for casino gambling. St. Thomas and St. Mary come readily to mind. The North and West coasts already have the sun, sand and sea to offer the tourists. By designating these areas, it will force development.

Island thou has no knowledge of what you have done....Jangle gonneeeee.....why yuh a mix ganja inna dis ?