Here is one idiot that could have done well with

• Here is one idiot that could have done well with

free education aka pie in the sky dream. Whats so hard in understanding the importance of having an educated labour force? Yet here I was thinking its was Jawge alone than refused to see it.

LETTER OF THE DAY - Free education? Pie in the sky dreams that turn into nightmares
    published: Thursday | May 17, 2007

The Editor, Sir:

Mr. Stephen Smith, the pie in the sky dream of free education that Mr. Golding is leading a seemingly educated person such as you to believe is appalling.

Your letter failed to quantify the cost of this free education in the same fashion the Leader of the Opposition did. The Budget is already overburdened with revolving debt and your great saviour, Mr. Golding, would be adding to the mess that we are now in. All governments in the past have failed miserably to provide some of the basic infrastructure and resources for schools and you want us the citizens to sit back and watch the Government educate our youths?

In your letter you blast the PNP and JLP partisan politics, but in the same tone you are telling the country that Bruce Golding will be able to make good on his pie in the sky. I ask you, how can he possibly do any of this with the same JLP around him? Also, did you forget that he was a big part of the JLP in the past, so how on earth is he any different?

You may recall that he was one of the original members of the infamous gang of five, according to Mr. Seaga. Mr. Golding is the same old tired politician of yesteryear that the people of Jamaica do not need, more so because he has lit his candle, sung his sankey and found his way back home.

Clean slate

With that said we should rest this idea of free education once and for all, and look to more meaningful ways of lifting our beloved nation out of the rut that it is currently in. Therefore, all the pie in the sky ideas should get thrown through the door and that should leave us with a clean slate to start with, because all we have been given are dreams that, turn into nightmares.

So only collectively, with everyman and woman of the island playing their part and not waiting for the government to do it, will we solve the issues facing Jamaica and not until then will we attain real progress.

I am., etc,

XAVIER D. ALLEN

xallen@verizon.net

Duckenfield, Golden Grove P.O.

And the JLP general secretary should also have made use of free education. The man was lamenting yesterday that Portia has been on the campaign trail for how long now, even as she and the PNP denies it. He complains that she is getting free campaign publicity by being on the front page of the newspapers announcing NHT benefits.

Then what does he expect her to do?! She is, afterall, the PM! Any and every incumbent will always benefit from such "free" press reports.

Time everybody raise the bar and chat sense!

Funding is really a problem considering;
      1)The JLP will not raise taxes on the rich(the few that own just about everything)
      2)Doubt they will nationalize....

How will Bruce fund free education? I want to be an informed voter.

Blessed

Funding is really a problem considering;
        1)The JLP will not raise taxes on the rich(the few that own just about everything)
        2)Doubt they will nationalize....

How will Bruce fund free education? I want to be an informed voter.

Blessed

Here is one route that was put forward, http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ews/news2.html. There is also an interview with Bruce in which he addressed this.

Bruce Golding 'raise di bar' long time...

Politics by its nature has its 'childish' side.. even in 'First World' countries.. at the end of the day one is judged by performance.. or should I say SHOULD be judged by performance.. there is a reason the PNP gained power in 1989 and were it not formation of a 3rd party for the same reasons would have been long gone even with their Garrison multiplication tactics.. the issues are not if the PNP has failed or succeeded as a Govt, it is clear they have failed magnificently, the issue is if MONEY views the JLP as recovered from they split because in our apathetic 'Democracy' MONEY is the difference beween winning and losing. If you have enought MONEY to maintain a good campaign and have a cohesive party, the sins of the incumbent will bury them.. the PNP had 18 years of power but due to their ineptness they also have 18 years of sins.. the unfortunate thing is instead of capitalizing on this windfall to implement good long term policies to promote employment, significant investment and production, they did the opposite... suh it guh.

Just keeping it real.
          Last edited by Muadib; May 17, 2007, 10:58 AM.

That is yet another reason why the PNP must win

Bruce Golding 'raise di bar' long time...

Politics by its nature has its 'childish' side.. even in 'First World' countries.. at the end of the day one is judged by performance.. or should I say SHOULD be judged by performance.. there is a reason the PNP gained power in 1989 and were it not formation of a 3rd party for the same reasons would have been long gone even with their Garrison multiplication tactics.. the issues are not if the PNP has failed or succeeded as a Govt, it is clear they have failed magnificently, the issue is if MONEY views the JLP as recovered from they split because in our apathetic 'Democracy' MONEY is the difference beween winning and losing.

Just keeping it real.
            They have more money to spend. And when their executive arms like NHT and UDC and NIBJ start to advertise on their behalf with multiple full page adverts etc then we will get F U C K again.

I can find no reason why the JLP will win the next election. I suggest we prepare for the inevitable.

Just keeping it real.

Was that Michaels plan in the 70's ?

Raise taxes on the Rich (21 Families) ?

One day if you have time read about a real life experience 'From Third World to First'

I think Michael and PJ should have collaborated on a version 'From Regional Powerhouse to Regional Pariah' after all it is important to learn from the mistakes of others.

There is a limit to what Money can effect in our 'Democracy'.. for example no politician would be able to or could afford for example to buy the vote of individuals that are meaningfully employed.

The winner in this environment will be the one that is able to move the normally apathetic voting age person.. with all the MONEY the PNP spent on the last election (enough to send the economy spiraling) they lost considerable ground and the popular voting numbers show a very close election.

It is understandable that the PNP could be viewed as some Demonic Force that is able to magically produce a miracle element.. the reality is that they have benefited from voter apathy and a fractured opposition.. conventional wisdom has them not only losing but losing fairly badly. The evidence of this reality is the very tactics being observed.. "No Vote" movement is very significant and indicates that they are at the end of their rope.. the voter registration numbers will tell the tale.. if voter registration shows a jump then.. kiss them goodbye.

I'm sure when Bruce is PM the executive arms will not have "multiple full page adverts etc", especially so close to an election.

Only one way to find out !

If we serious about free education, then cut the deficit on Air Jamaica, JUTC and Sugar company that can Fund all everything to secondary education and JAMAL. Instead of using the 1 cent per call to buy computers which is not happening, how about use it for free education?

Not to mention the waste on so many projects.

If we serious about free education, then cut the deficit on Air Jamaica, JUTC and Sugar company that can Fund all everything to secondary education and JAMAL. Instead of using the 1 cent per call to buy computers which is not happening, how about use it for free education?

Not to mention the waste on so many projects.
                        RAHTID!!! Mi figet bout dah fund deh! WHEY BALLA DEH? Mr. CCOC who was put incharge of the fund stated that the money was not taxpayers' money. After certain exposure ... mi curious about what is happening with the fund.

Anyway, yuh right Sass, that fund could be used.

Did you know that when Cingular Wireless gave up its license to operate a mobile company in Jamaica it lost its US$6M deposit?

Who keeps track of that? Or dat dun spend arready?

Cyaan expose all di cards dem just yet... dis year haffi mek sure dem guh down fi di eight count..