Solar Energy...(score one more for Obama)

• Solar Energy...(score one more for Obama)

The World's Largest Solar Plant Goes Online In The U.S.A.

Written by David. Posted in News

1 of 3Next >>

Whoever said solar power isn’t a viable form of alternative energy must be turning a lovely shade of red right now. The reason? After years of construction, testing, and development, the world’s largest solar plant – situated in the Mojave desert – is officially operational. Co-owned by Google, NRG Energy, Brightsource Energy, the Ivanpah Solar Electric Generating System is reportedly ready to generate approximately thirty percent of all solar thermal energy currently produced in the United States.

“At Google, we invest in innovative renewable energy projects that have the potential to transform the energy landscape and help provide more clean power to businesses and homes around the world,” explained Rick Needham, Google’s director of energy and sustainability. “Ivanpah is a shining example of such a project and we’re delighted to be a part of it.”
    Worlds Largest Solar Array - Ivanpah - 4

The plant – which spans nearly 5.5 square miles – is the largest of its type in the world, and is capable of supplying clean energy to 140,000 neighboring California homes. It consists of three 459-foot-tall towers, topped by large water boilers. The three towers are surrounded by tens of thousands of garage-door-sized robotic mirrors, designed to angle sunlight towards the boilers.

BTW: Please click the next>> button above to see more......

How much does it cost to provide power to those 144,000 homes?

How much is it worth to save the planet? Is it even worth saving the planet?

maybe if we lived in never neverland cost would not be a concern...seeing as we live in the real world however...so at 4 x the cost of conventional energy...producing much less energy than conventional methods and utilizing massive amounts of real estate in addition to creating its own environmental problems...i would say this experiment will be a non-starter

So shortsighted! It's projects like these that will lead to more research resulting in smaller units, increased efficiency, etc.

And when since is the desert considered "real estate"?!?

So shortsighted! It's projects like these that will lead to more research resulting in smaller units, increased efficiency, etc.

And when since is the desert considered "real estate"?!?
              He is thinking Uranium or oil or some other current or to be discovered 'goodie' lies beneath but he gives not a thought to your suggestions on how such developments would impact the life of this our only space ship. You are correct -he is shortsighted caan dun!

are you willing to pay four times more for your energy needs? is the desert devoid of wildlife? maybe they should have done this research BEFORE shelling out $4 billion of taxpayer money to build it and then figure out it isn't feasible

I think it's a move in the right direction BrickTop.

Over time, the technology will become more smaller and more efficient.

Recall the evolution of the computer?

Computer now-a-days are essentially monitors--they do not carry system-unit towers anymore. They are also much thinner.

Same will result from alternative energy systems. They will become smaller and a lot more efficient. Cost will be cut too.

Thanks for the post, and we have yet to take advantage of our solar & wind energy resources. I recall a small business man developing a hybrid solar panel/windmill that he was selling in Hellshire.

I remember a discussion when the Internet arrived on the scene. Some were saying it was merely a gimmick and it would not improve the way we do business. I should be able to find such articles online somewhere.

Anybody still feels that way?!?!

I guess that's why Google pulled their investment in the project...it makes no sense...photovoltaics is the obvious way to go...pv is cheaper and offers energy storage capability which this Ivanpah thing doesn't...yuh analogy doesn't make sense...

The way science works though...is that errors/failures are equally important as breakthroughs. The technology steadily advances......

it makes no sense...photovoltaics is the obvious way to go...pv is cheaper and offers energy storage capability which this Ivanpah thing doesn't.
                            Why is PV cheaper? Have you taken into consideration the lifecycle of the PVs, their replacement cost as well as the fact that Li-Ion batteries which are usually used in energy storage (as a result of having the highest energy density of battery materials) are expensive. These batteries would also need to be replaced every 10 years.

I think the Ivanpah system has its purpose, especially when looked at as being able to generate electricity to supply to a grid. For sure when the sun is down the Ivanpah would not be able to generate electricity but it makes up for that by having the units which can generate do load shedding during the hours in which it can perform at its peak. In that way, the electric companies would be seeing net saving on energy generated.

There is still concern about disposal of hazardous waste that would be generated by those large scale PV plants. I do not see the same issue with the Ivanpah system apart from regular maintenance on machinery and boilers used in the generation of the electricity.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

is that why google pulled out and there won't be another one built?