<Like its predecessor, Digital Jam 3.0 has an app competition, but there are also hands-on workshops to explore job opportunities in the global virtual economy. There will also be a 'Get Up, STARTUP' conference in March 2014 for young talents. State minister for science, Julian Robinson, said organisers will showcase technology to various areas islandwide at a number of community access points.
"We will not just be catering to those who want to create apps," he stressed.
Robinson said Jamaica had a "multitude of talent", but admitted there were many gaps, including business support for youngsters. Participants in Digital Jam 3.0 will be supported by further guidance, mentorship and access to resources after the competition ends next March.>
Well it is ad revenue. Google has much bigger revenue then FB but up to now the vast majority of it comes from ads just like Facebook.
I agree that Google is making more effort to find new revenue streams. Facebook will eventually have to find new ways to make money off their user base if they are to continue growing.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Yuteman if Digital Jam does not have spurring innovation as an objective...it's a colossal waste of resources... then again that's par for the course regarding government projects
Seems I may have been crediting it too much. My apologies
Sounds kinda like innovation as I suspected..Maybe you're not familiar with the concept
BTW... This GOJ/Whirl Bank project is in its 3rd year so some data on it must be available... Apart from the Pothole App and CrimeBot what are the highlights?
I suspect it may be asking too much for statist institutions like GOJ or Whirl Bank to create a platform that drives the desperately needed innovation. Dem entity deh nuh ave much competence inna dat
You are operating under a misconception.. I suggest you correct it.. if I enter a 200m race it makes no sense to criticize me because I did not run 400m..
That is being.. well.. stupid.
If you want to see a 400m race.. go and find one.. or create one...