How to step up from building Pothole Apps

That is exactly why I'm wondering about the value around an app competition sponsored by government entities...Seems Quixotic

BizSpar shows a sound way to develop the sector

Maybe you need to read more before 'wondering'...

<Like its predecessor, Digital Jam 3.0 has an app competition, but there are also hands-on workshops to explore job opportunities in the global virtual economy. There will also be a 'Get Up, STARTUP' conference in March 2014 for young talents. State minister for science, Julian Robinson, said organisers will showcase technology to various areas islandwide at a number of community access points.

"We will not just be catering to those who want to create apps," he stressed.

Robinson said Jamaica had a "multitude of talent", but admitted there were many gaps, including business support for youngsters. Participants in Digital Jam 3.0 will be supported by further guidance, mentorship and access to resources after the competition ends next March.>

I don't see anything quixotic there...

Maybe not...but suboptimal considering that both GOJ have substantial resources... in GOJ's case it has substantial non-csh assets like buildings etc

i don't see a coherent model... typical for a govt program

There is no sense in re-inventing the wheel... use a successful model and adapt to JA conditions

Before you get ahead of yourself.. do you see the folly of your earlier musings ?

Where do you see any objective of Digital Jam as 'real' innovation industry development ?

Well it is ad revenue. Google has much bigger revenue then FB but up to now the vast majority of it comes from ads just like Facebook.

I agree that Google is making more effort to find new revenue streams. Facebook will eventually have to find new ways to make money off their user base if they are to continue growing.

LOL!! Dis noice!

Yuteman if Digital Jam does not have spurring innovation as an objective...it's a colossal waste of resources... then again that's par for the course regarding government projects

Seems I may have been crediting it too much. My apologies

you believe stimulating app development and digital workplace skills among youth is a colossal waste of resources ?

Hmm.. interesting.. looks like you have gotten unhinged again...

And a Pan Chicken app too!

is wheh duh Don 1 ?

Innovation Industry...

Him tink dat grow pon tree ?

lol ! woiee !

Sounds kinda like innovation as I suspected..Maybe you're not familiar with the concept

BTW... This GOJ/Whirl Bank project is in its 3rd year so some data on it must be available... Apart from the Pothole App and CrimeBot what are the highlights?

Dats what I want to know

I suspect it may be asking too much for statist institutions like GOJ or Whirl Bank to create a platform that drives the desperately needed innovation. Dem entity deh nuh ave much competence inna dat

So mek Microsoft or Google lead it as mi seh...

You are operating under a misconception.. I suggest you correct it.. if I enter a 200m race it makes no sense to criticize me because I did not run 400m..

That is being.. well.. stupid.

If you want to see a 400m race.. go and find one.. or create one...

Platform ? wheh yuh mean exactly ?

Certain GOJ cyaan even maintain and economic climate that will allow a basic industry to survive and compete... much less innovation !

Look like yuh slipping into a quixotic mode again..

Mi nuh tink even strategically placed Silicon Valley ites can help dem.. mek wi si doh..

Fortunately I am creating one.... someone has to start. I know it won't be GOJ or Whirl Bank .
                                Stand by Jamaica
                                Last edited by Don1; March 5, 2014, 12:52 AM.