• How to step up from building Pothole Apps

Why Tech Bubbles Won’t Ever Exist Again

And Where Great Ideas Come From
    Ali HamedAli Hamed in On CoVenture

People often ask if the tech world is in a bubble. It’s sort of an obligatory question asked before investing or fundraising. But I think the question is posed through an incorrect framework.

I believe it’s more important to analyze what industry a tech company is disrupting—and where that industry currently stands. The Internet is being used to tackle vertical industries, not tech itself. I’d even argue that the companies being founded today are often not even “tech companies” —rather, they are “tech-enhanced” or “Internet-based.”

They are solving market problems (does anyone want this?) as opposed to technical problems (can this even be built?). With the evolution of popular libraries, scalable technologies and tools that have streamlined the building process, designing a product that reaches market-fit is more difficult than coding a new app.

Today—the business cases Internet startups are solving are far more nuanced—and those companies are being founded by entrepreneurs who have unique insight on a broken system. Chris Dixon asks founders: “why do you see a problem that no one else does?” It’s a great question and points to how industry-specific startups have become.

The founders of Warby Parker found an oligopoly in the eyewear market—which they broke through. The founders of Sabre realized how distributed the booking platforms of major carriers were, and the founder of Uber understood that the taxi marketplace (which involved a lot of running around and hand waving) was inefficient.

This means that founders no longer need to be recent graduates of Stanford’s Computer Science program. Rather, they need to be those individuals who have unique insight into a particular industry, and understand how it works.

Searching for an Idea
    Try to have a vision for the future—what do you think the world will look like in 5-10 years. Then think about the world you live in, work in, and are exposed to: are there pieces in that world that make no sense? Are there problems you are encountering every day?

School principals and substitute teachers had no way of finding each other, aside from ad-hoc phone calls and application processes: EnrichedSchools’ founder had been an administrator at a school, had done TFA, and solved a problem she saw every day.

Hotels in Africa had no way of promoting themselves to an online marketplace: Globa.li decided to solve that problem. The company’s founders had sold their last travel business, and were the right people to take on the job.

Women were buying incredibly expensive dresses for one-time events: That made no sense. In came Rent the Runway

Kids were growing out of clothes, and those used clothes were rendered useless: Threadflip

These are all problems that are non-technical, and founded by people who don’t meet your standard “tech-nerd profile.” They were founded by people with real insights, unique perspectives and an ability to execute.

I see yuh stuck in di past... upgrade yuh yapping.. CrimeBot ah di new app..

anodda waste a time app...

suh wait.. if wi nevah have di competition.. how wi fi know who fi hiyah ??!

I see yuh stuck in di past... upgrade yuh yapping.. CrimeBot ah di new app..

LOL... RoboBot tuh di rescue .. wooooiiiee mi Caped Crusader!!

Dem need competition fi develop app?

Well mi hope seh unnu RoboCop solve some real world problem...and can scale.. Im fiya shat??

Pothole app is what gwaan when when people fram Whirl Bank kontrol tings. Dem peeple deh nuh know nutten bout innovation... dem too guvvament focused

Marcelle dem fi drop dat and bring on some people who know bout innovation

no we need competition to identify talent..

All well and good but you can still have a tech bubble.

WhatsApp at US$ 16 billion and Instagram at at 1 billion sounds kinda pricy.

All well and good but you can still have a tech bubble.

WhatsApp at US$ 16 billion and Instagram at at 1 billion sounds kinda pricy.
                    I don't take the headline literally...

I think the writer means IF people follow his prescription about ideation...bubbles won't occur

Ahm.. the Whirl bank came up with the pothole app idea ??

Ah wheh di ?!

Whirl Bank job is innovation ?

Ah wheh di ?!

identify talent? why the talent don't just build some apps and make some money...sound like our talent can't quite cut the mustard

Ahm.. the Whirl bank came up with the pothole app idea ??

Ah wheh di ?!

Yuh lost in linear thinking... as usual

Whirl Bank seems to be a or the prime organizer of dat competition.

Consequently the DNA of dat project is unlikely to reflect real innovation since the Whirl Bank is a stodgy govt-type bureaucracy. One doesn't often find such rule-based entities fostering innovation

It's possible it may produce real innovation but...:Early indications don't make me sanguine on that matter ...

It may be better to have a company known for innovation to lead that project

But I wish DigiJam every success and if all goes well we'll add a potentially game-changing element

Whirl Bank job is innovation ?

Ah wheh di ?!

Nope... and that's a problem