• Di Goat dun' kill, skin and heng up long, long time

Di Goat dun' kill, skin and heng up long, long time

BY PETER E T EDWARDS
    Tuesday, March 04, 2014 3 Comments

An aerial view of the Goat Islands.(PHOTO: JET)

THERE is an Igbo parable that reads: "The fly who has no one to advise it follows the corpse into the ground." This parable travelled from West African via the transatlantic slave trade and reemerged in Jamaica with versions such as: "Sweet-mout' fly follow coffin go a hole," and "Idle donkey follow cane-bump go a pound". I think this parable is a fitting analogy for the ongoing mystery surrounding the Goat Islands development. In this parable I submit that the fly represents the Government of Jamaica, and as a result of their unwillingness to entertain advice on other options for relocating the port development, they are, like "idle donkey", following the promise of sweet sugar cane, taking us along with them into debt and poverty, synonymous with an animal pound.
    Project was fait accompli

As many persons suspected, and based on Gordon Shirley's recent comments to the media, it appears that plans to cut, level, fill and dredge the corals and soft bottom sediments surrounding the Goat Islands complex were indeed fait accompli. The Government has, therefore, won the waiting game. In other words "di goat dun kill, skin and heng up long long time".
    At the time of writing this contribution, the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce had just completed a multi-day conference on the logistics hub. Hopefully some clarity comes out of these sessions because the public has been under-informed about the whole process. This is evident based on the recent poll showing that a high percentage of Jamaicans were not really sure what this logistics hub thing was about. The lack of transparency surrounding the development is probably why many persons keep confusing the Goat Islands development with the logistics hub. Let me be clear, as best as I can tell, given the limited information, the proposed China Harbour development is not the logistics hub. Whether China Harbour's project will fit into the wider logistics plan or not, we have no idea, but the hub is much more than Goat Islands.
    No transparency

The lack of transparency surrounding this issue is very disappointing. As an environmental professional (which is not the same as an "environmentalist") it is hard to provide a balanced and analytical response to this issue in the absence of information. The argument that the discussions are proprietary is quite frankly a bucket of mannish water, because any large-scale development on public lands requires scrutiny. Broad scope of works of any large-scale project is not proprietary information.
    One can understand where, in latter stages (i.e. post project approval) of similar projects, companies may be bidding on implementing components of the plan, thus requiring confidentiality. But not in this instance, at such a preliminary stage. This argument by the Government is akin to saying you cannot tell the public whether a project running through, say for example, a village, is going to be a bridge, a tunnel, an asphalt road, or a major waterway (canal). The public has a right to know the general scope of works of this project because the land (up to this point) still belongs to the people of Jamaica.
    US$1.5b is cost not project benefit

Another disappointing aspect to the discussions surrounding this project is the less than genuine claim that large financial benefits will accrue to the Jamaican economy. In particular, I am referring to the repeated pronouncements that the project will bring US$1.5 billion into the economy. This is incorrect as this US$1.5b actually represents the cost of the project.
    Costs that could include heavy equipment imports, renting special cranes and barges and the cost of importing skilled and perhaps unskilled labour. Misrepresenting this dollar amount as money flowing directly into the Jamaican economy is disingenuous. Many of the items previously described will have to be outsourced, probably to the home country of the major investor.
    But back to my original point, without any information on the Goat Islands project there is no way to advise the public of reasonable alternatives. There is not enough information to conduct a proper cost-benefit analysis and no way to really assess the potential environmental and economic impacts. We are simply fed information that 10,000 jobs will be created and money will be crinkling (not jingling) in our pockets. This in my opinion is not an example of good governance or transparency. It smacks of a lack of a respect for the Jamaican people who, at minimum, deserve accurate information so they can make up their minds if this project is something they think will ultimately benefit the widest possible cross section of society.
    We should draw any lessons learned from similar large infrastructure projects. If we ask the man in the street in Falmouth how the cruise ship pier has benefited him we may get a sense of what to expect from this new shiny carrot (or cane bump) being dangled in front of us.
    Instead, I fear, like the idle donkey mentioned above, we are being led down the road and very soon the country might very well end up in the metaphorical animal pound of further debt.
    Dr Peter E T Edwards is a Jamaican marine scientist, environmental economist and policy analyst. He currently works as a consultant for a US Federal ocean and coastal management agency.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Island & Don dis bredda juss said what I have been saying for awaile, dis ting is a pipe dream dat not even ganja can compete wid......pure smoke or up in smoke ?...If he had thrown in the 14 to 16% unemployment rate of 375-400k dat would have been sweeter,more reality to dis B.S.

Mi nuh inna nuh hub ting ,ganja mi a deal wid.

Governments acting as entrepreneurs are reflected in their ability to act in new and innovative ways and their willingness to undertake policy actions that have uncertain outcomes. One of such policy actions that have far-reaching entrepreneurial effects is whether or not to regulate the marijuana market. This paper examines the savings that could be accrued if the marijuana market in Jamaica was regulated- savings from the Constabulary and Correctional Services Departments with the elimination of enforcement costs, as well as income that could be earned if marijuana was taxed like other goods. This paper estimates that in 2011 enforcement costs (marijuana arrests, prosecutions and incarceration expenses) in Jamaica were approximately J$12.2 billion in government expenditure; between J$473 million - J$665 million annually could be earned if marijuana was taxed like normal goods and between J$1.5 billion – J$2.3 billion if marijuana was taxed at rates similar to those on cigarettes and alcohol. An additional US$14 billion could be earned if companies were allowed to export marijuana and then were taxed. This paper will contribute additional knowledge on the value of marijuana production in Jamaica, in terms of the amount of revenues that can be earned from the export of marijuana. It will also discuss the implications for both future academic research and public policy. Keywords: Government as entrepreneurs, regulated marijuana market.

Clink on link for paper

http://sbaer.uca.edu/research/ICSB/2013/65.pdf

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

No environmental issue,not being mere passengers in a car driven by a reckless driver,and I doubt coffee has as fast a turn over rate....,the crop reaches maturity quicker...

The markets have grown exponentially,that is tge explanation for the large figure representing projected earnings. .

They project for a smoke screen billions & jobs .....PLEASE ! Islandman made a comment about Panama and its canal benefits , he didnt argue that before Panama controlled it ,they were a basket case, no ! which means all the revenue was going back to the lessor(USA) as it plans to be the case with the Chinese in Jamaica , instead he remarked at how the Panamanians have driven their economy upwards since recieving ownership, and in same tone lament how colon looked like a carribbean Island(dominated by darker hues of lower socio economic standing,no doubt delapidated buildings) ,ironic because colon was the main city of west indian migration.

1) So the question is ,how long do we have to wait for the lease to run out on Goat Harbour to see benefits like Panama ?

2) If we are to get the benefits like a Panama would we be like colon ?

The Goat Island thingy is the numbers game...

Our leaders have failed us primarily because they were too slow capitalize on changes,this global change regarding legalizing... is yet another opportunity for our leaders to make amends.

No doubt and we are preparing to miss it by stewing some goat.

The chinese will become vegetarians.

ahm.. yuh joking..

Certain leaders failed us by engaging in Economic Malpractice..

Why is this so hard for some to admit ?

Valid questions.

Panama was indeed a basket case for a long time due mostly to geopolitical reasons. That is why I say they should be something of an inspiration to those of us who are still a basket case. There is hope.

Colon has been left behind for the same reasons as the rest of us of African descent have been. A history of discrimination, predominantly low wage skills, and the migration of the black middle class out of those areas. These developments result in dysfunctional communities stuck in a cycle of poverty and underachievement.

If Panamas economy continues to grow Colon stands to get some benefit, but it will never get its fair share unless there is serious social intervention resulting in a more skilled labor force coming out of those communities. Or the other option is gentrification which typically changes the community more than some of us are willing to accept.

The young people living in Colon have essentially the same skills their great grandfathers had when they moved there to build the Canal 100 years ago. Those were decent paying jobs then, they are not today and will never be again.

So to answer your question, if we do not upgrade the skill set of our workforce I believe we will end up pretty much where Colon is today. Jobs that are created by the logistics projects will be largely filled by non-native Jamaican residents (they may become citizens) and we will serve the food, clean up the floors and maybe run a few of the distribution lines.

That is on us. We can't blame the Chinese or anybody else if we don't educate our people.

Honest answer but you answered half ? the other question is do we know the terms of the lease ,i believe you have that same gut feeling like I do,we will have no control ,like Panama pre ownership of the canal, so the 2nd part of the question.

1) So the question is ,how long do we have to wait for the lease to run out on Goat Harbour to see benefits like Panama ?....and then your answer again answered by the 1st one you gave...lol

Yuh see why mi nuh inna it ?

For the last time.. the Goat Island project is not part of the Global Logistics Hub effort...

You will NEVER see benefits like Panama coming out of the Goat Island project.. the Goat Island project is a key part of CHECs regional play to support their projects in the region.

<China Harbour Engineering Co Ltd or CHEC is an engineering contractor and a subsidiary of CCCC, providing infrastructure construction, such as marine engineering, dredging and reclamation, road and bridge, railways, airports and plant construction.[1] As a dredger the company is the second largest in the world, carrying out contracts in Asia, Africa, and Europe>

Yuh si anyting bout Logistics Hub deh ?

Rath... unnuh head tough baba..

It is an admission of economic malpractice.
                        Your problem is the PNP was not named...
                        For what govt is to make amends?
                        Did the JLP capitalize on the perceived failings of the PNP?

Who has to be really joking?

Semantics,when that class start ,i will call you .Island and I a reason.

No.. my problem is your incorrect analysis of the PRIMARY reason for our failure...

Semantics ?

The question you posed is nonsensical.. and that is because you refuse to understand what the Goat Island project is about..

That is like asking if Guantanamo bay will lead to the development of Cuba in a manner similar to Panama if they start hiring Cubans.. totally ignoring the Brazilian project in Mariel...

lol ! woiee !