• Choc'late reads, fasts for peace in Jamaica

Choc'late reads, fasts for peace in Jamaica
    published: Wednesday | May 16, 2007
    Damion Mitchell, News Coordinator - Radio

Choc'late Allen from Trinidad and Tobago ponders a thought while reading a book on day one of her three-day 'Reading Fast For Peace and Purity' at the Kingston and St. Andrew Parish Library, Tom Redcam Avenue, St. Andrew, yesterday. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Thirteen-year-old Trinidadian Choc'late Allen has a message for Jamaican youths.

"We have the power to be successful in anything as long as it's positive!"

Today and tomorrow, she will continue to spread this message during her 12-hour-a-day fasting and reading for peace and purity at the Kingston and St. Andrew Parish Library.

It all began at 6:00 a.m. yesterday and already, there has been an overwhelming response to what Choc'late calls her 100 per cent crime-free initiative.

"A lot of times as youths, what we may hear especially from adults are negative things - we don't have self respect, we don't have discipline we don't have a sense of direction - however my motive is to tell the youths what we have. We have the power of making the right choices! We have the power of accepting responsibility for our action! We have the power of doing anything!" she said.

But the 13-year-old home-schooled girl said adults must also acknowledge their responsibility to their children. She also said she is deeply disturbed by reports of neglect of children and crime and violence across the region, but Choc'late will continue to do her best to fight against this in a gentle way.

"We will read," she said. "With reading comes about knowledge. So, let's read to inspire ourselves."

Already, Choc'late has fasted for peace and purity for five days in her home town of Port-of-Spain and she plans to go to other regional territories. So committed is she to the initiative that Choc'late has postponed her Caribbean Secondary Certificate Examations this year to allow her enough time to visit countries of the region to fast and read for peace and purity.

Choc'late is the executive director of Caribbean Vizion, a five-year-old non-profit organisation with executive member.s in several regional countries.

let the trini girl deliver you all from darkness

Has Venezuela claimed all of its territories and assets in the Golfo de Paria? You better call somebody, on a regular, to find out when allyuh need to speak fluent Spanish.