• What’s Holding Back Jamaica’s Reforms

What’s Holding Back Jamaica’s Reforms

February 28, 2014 | 12:57 pm | Print

By Dennis Chung
    CJ Contributor

ANYONE who has been reading or listening to my recent commentaries would realize that I am fully in support of the reform agenda otherwise known as the IMF programme in Jamaica.

Similarly, anyone who has been listening to my commentaries in the past will also realize that I was not in favour of the prior IMF programmes, because I never thought they would have worked.

The reason why I think this current programme stands a better chance than the prior ones, is that I think that the approach this time is a fundamental shift.

The previous programmes focused on providing funding support to prop up the balance of payments and fiscal accounts, without undertaking any structural changes to the economic and social order.

In fact, the main theory under those programmes is that if we just devalued the dollar then everything would be OK after that. What occurred in those cases is that one had significant knee damage and got some steroid injections to keep running.

Under this current programme, before we get the steroid injections, we have done the corrective knee surgery to address the damaged ligaments and put a graft in to ensure that the damage is fixed.

The IMF has said after you surgically fix the knee, then we will provide you with the steroid shots you need (funding), so that you can not only run but outperform the competition.

So I think we stand a very good chance at recovery, but there are some significant risks we face.

So while we are better prepared to face the competition and finish the race, the fact is that our productivity is low because our muscles have been at rest for too long, and the shoes that we have are way past their useful life, so unless we change the shoes (support structures) we will only start the process of damaging our knee again, and maybe not finishing the programme successfully.

I have mentioned before that the significant risks to not realizing our goals are no longer with the fiscal side, but rest outside of the Ministry of Finance (the only other monetary situation that was causing significant challenge is the liquidity problem which the BOJ has sought to address). The main challenges we face today rest in three main areas.

These are:

(1) Energy costs. Here, a lot rests on the 360 MW project, and therefore, the management of it by the OUR. Energy is a significant challenge for manufacturers, and is certainly one of the reasons why we have seen growth in agriculture, construction, mining, and tourism and a decline in manufacturing in the last quarter. High energy costs inhibit Jamaica from moving from a producer of primary to secondary products.

(2) Crime. Indiscipline is the major contributor to our fundamental problem and hinders productivity. Crime and indiscipline lead to low productivity of labour and capital, otherwise called total factor productivity (TFP). Jamaica’s TFP has declined at a rate of approximately 1.5 percent annually on average since 1972. An example of indiscipline can be seen in an article I wrote about a few weeks ago concerning Jamaican timekeeping and meetings, road indiscipline and night noise. Unless we get serious about this, then productivity will not be positively affected. Our current attitude sees us unable to successfully compete and everyone grows at a faster rate than Jamaica. I want to also mention in particular the demise of societal values and the failure to protect our children from abuse . This all leads to an even more unproductive work force.

(3) Bureaucracy. This is probably the biggest challenge facing businesses and results in low productivity. I recently had an example, which illustrates that while the Government is trying to pull in one direction (to move the economy forward) its functionaries of government are pulling in the other direction. In the past week I have had two instances that remind me of this. The first is being stopped by a policeman to say he was carrying out a spot check (no reason other than that) and then proceeding to seek to extract something from me, which I refused to do because I told him it was not right.

The second instance, however, is a situation where I had to go to the rent board to resolve a matter, even though the tedious process already set me back two months as that is the time period they gave to me to deal with the matter. So if you are unable to afford to be without the income for two months, then you will lose your property before the rent board deals with it.

After waiting for the two months, though (trying to follow the rules) I get a call the day before the matter is to be dealt with, saying it has to be delayed because the person handling the matter was unavailable, and I would be advised to select another date. After a few days I called to complain about the situation and eventually had to report it to the parent ministry (Transport). I then received a call the day after for a hearing to be set, which date was inconvenient, but then again I had to seek a remedy outside of the rent board, as I might have grown too old waiting on them.

The question, therefore, is what is the purpose of the rent board, as they were supposed to have made the process easier, but only succeeded in supporting the violation of the rights of a property owner, ensured that the Government loses tax revenue because no income is collected during the period, and maybe their delay has caused others to lose their property, and has caused rental costs to be more expensive for future renters as one will now have to demand enough security deposit to compensate for the delay of the rent board.

So, while the government is pressing ahead with the reform agenda in many respects, there are other forces pulling in the other direction.

Dennis Chung is a chartered accountant and is currently Vice President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Jamaica. He has written two books: Charting Jamaica’s Economic and Social Development – 2009; and Achieving Life’s Equilibrium – balancing health, wealth, and happiness for optimal living – 2012. Both books are available at Amazon in both digital and paperback format. His blog is dcjottings.blogspot.com. He can be reached at drachung@gmail.com.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Hmmm..

February 28, 2014 | 12:57 pm | Print

By Dennis Chung
    CJ Contributor

ANYONE who has been reading or listening to my recent commentaries would realize that I am fully in support of the reform agenda otherwise known as the IMF programme in Jamaica.

Similarly, anyone who has been listening to my commentaries in the past will also realize that I was not in favour of the prior IMF programmes, because I never thought they would have worked.

The reason why I think this current programme stands a better chance than the prior ones, is that I think that the approach this time is a fundamental shift.

The previous programmes focused on providing funding support to prop up the balance of payments and fiscal accounts, without undertaking any structural changes to the economic and social order.

In fact, the main theory under those programmes is that if we just devalued the dollar then everything would be OK after that. What occurred in those cases is that one had significant knee damage and got some steroid injections to keep running.

Under this current programme, before we get the steroid injections, we have done the corrective knee surgery to address the damaged ligaments and put a graft in to ensure that the damage is fixed.

The IMF has said after you surgically fix the knee, then we will provide you with the steroid shots you need (funding), so that you can not only run but outperform the competition.

So I think we stand a very good chance at recovery, but there are some significant risks we face.

So while we are better prepared to face the competition and finish the race, the fact is that our productivity is low because our muscles have been at rest for too long, and the shoes that we have are way past their useful life, so unless we change the shoes (support structures) we will only start the process of damaging our knee again, and maybe not finishing the programme successfully.

I have mentioned before that the significant risks to not realizing our goals are no longer with the fiscal side, but rest outside of the Ministry of Finance (the only other monetary situation that was causing significant challenge is the liquidity problem which the BOJ has sought to address). The main challenges we face today rest in three main areas.

These are:

(1) Energy costs. Here, a lot rests on the 360 MW project, and therefore, the management of it by the OUR. Energy is a significant challenge for manufacturers, and is certainly one of the reasons why we have seen growth in agriculture, construction, mining, and tourism and a decline in manufacturing in the last quarter. High energy costs inhibit Jamaica from moving from a producer of primary to secondary products.

(2) Crime. Indiscipline is the major contributor to our fundamental problem and hinders productivity. Crime and indiscipline lead to low productivity of labour and capital, otherwise called total factor productivity (TFP). Jamaica’s TFP has declined at a rate of approximately 1.5 percent annually on average since 1972. An example of indiscipline can be seen in an article I wrote about a few weeks ago concerning Jamaican timekeeping and meetings, road indiscipline and night noise. Unless we get serious about this, then productivity will not be positively affected. Our current attitude sees us unable to successfully compete and everyone grows at a faster rate than Jamaica. I want to also mention in particular the demise of societal values and the failure to protect our children from abuse . This all leads to an even more unproductive work force.

(3) Bureaucracy. This is probably the biggest challenge facing businesses and results in low productivity. I recently had an example, which illustrates that while the Government is trying to pull in one direction (to move the economy forward) its functionaries of government are pulling in the other direction. In the past week I have had two instances that remind me of this. The first is being stopped by a policeman to say he was carrying out a spot check (no reason other than that) and then proceeding to seek to extract something from me, which I refused to do because I told him it was not right.

The second instance, however, is a situation where I had to go to the rent board to resolve a matter, even though the tedious process already set me back two months as that is the time period they gave to me to deal with the matter. So if you are unable to afford to be without the income for two months, then you will lose your property before the rent board deals with it.

After waiting for the two months, though (trying to follow the rules) I get a call the day before the matter is to be dealt with, saying it has to be delayed because the person handling the matter was unavailable, and I would be advised to select another date. After a few days I called to complain about the situation and eventually had to report it to the parent ministry (Transport). I then received a call the day after for a hearing to be set, which date was inconvenient, but then again I had to seek a remedy outside of the rent board, as I might have grown too old waiting on them.

The question, therefore, is what is the purpose of the rent board, as they were supposed to have made the process easier, but only succeeded in supporting the violation of the rights of a property owner, ensured that the Government loses tax revenue because no income is collected during the period, and maybe their delay has caused others to lose their property, and has caused rental costs to be more expensive for future renters as one will now have to demand enough security deposit to compensate for the delay of the rent board.

So, while the government is pressing ahead with the reform agenda in many respects, there are other forces pulling in the other direction.

Dennis Chung is a chartered accountant and is currently Vice President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Jamaica. He has written two books: Charting Jamaica’s Economic and Social Development – 2009; and Achieving Life’s Equilibrium – balancing health, wealth, and happiness for optimal living – 2012. Both books are available at Amazon in both digital and paperback format. His blog is dcjottings.blogspot.com. He can be reached at drachung@gmail.com.
    Is it that the HouseHold Disease is spreading or.... is The True Blue community merely rallying around Hero petah??

What bugs me ,is when they cite problems without data e.g

Crime has a financial cost with a dollar amount ,list it ,it has a human cost with a dollar amount ,list it ,it can be broken down to unemployment and types of crime ,list it ,give it a human touch ,like the president did in his speech about the black communities issues.

Instead we take the seriousness out of it by saying we have a crime and unemployment problem,put data,stats numbers to it.

14 to 16 % unemployment is a startling number in unemployment,90% of stand alone arrest being ganja is alarming ,and we can go on and on.

It speaks to how we address the issues....we have a crime problem that hinders productivity,ok why do we have crime ,is the 375,000 unemployment rate being addressed ?
      Last edited by Sir X; March 1, 2014, 11:49 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The economic impact of crime has been widely documented... but Dennis could repeat it because the number is so HUGE

Babylon's World Bank has estimated the cost of crime (not even including corruption) on the JA economy at ~6% f GDP annually.

Projecting that cost over the 40 years that crime has been really impactful.... my back-of-the-envelope calculation is ~US$70 Billion in LOST income to Jamaica

Apart from the human toll in lives destroyed.... that HUGE cost is the reason mi affi bun out JLPNP misleaders who have godfathered political garrisons and political criminality from the 1960s.

Dem ah Vampiya.... strait

Economic impact also has a social impact ,which in my opinion is not projected and documented enough.All they have to do is single out one of these social impacts that they believe is tearing apart Jamaica and highlight it .

Personally I am looking at the grass roots social impact,of unemployment that 16 % ,how do we address it ? Garrisonisation - ganja laws ,police abuse ,militarisation of the police force.A losing strategy ! There is no data as per police abuse in Jamaica,none ! I asked for it !...what human rights org in Jamaica have done is address extrajudicial killings.

It would stand to reason that because of high unemployment 14-16% it correlates with the 90% of stand alone ganja arrest,which would again be in so called garrison areas (no data) and police abuse would equal the 90% (no data) of said arrest in those areas .

Now throwing out crime needs to be addresed is putting it simple..too simple.All what I have stated would lead anyone to conclude that individuals in those hoods would have the mentality of F%%$K the police or (US vs THEM).

It needs to be presented as such with social data,Jamaicans are deluded in their approach....Crime needs to be addressed....Please !

mi nuh si why yuh seem to believe dat ganja legalization an commercialization is a panacea... it's not. It MAY be a MODERATE part of a development program though ...but only IF some value-added products can be derived from it

Jamaica's GDP is around US$15 Billion today. Projecting income of US$14 Billion/year from ganja is not real...That would mean ganja alone doubling Jamaica's GDP... a fairy tale dat name imho

I dont believe it is and I dont believe it is not , but its a proposition that cannot be ignored.I believe it has alot more weight that this logistical hub thing.

I dont see how value added products cannot be added to it ,it is possible for ganja to double our GDP.The markets are there to export and exploit ,we have a brand name.

That said the savings from decriminalisation will go a far way in our social justice and of course economic debt.

If you believe this hub thing is a paneca ,you are in the same boat that you accuse me of,at least I can realistically estimate cost in savings from decriminalisation and profits,this hub thing as Island says is a real pie in the sky.I reason because it doesnt have the stygma of ganja ,we are willing to literally sell our souls for it.

We cede land,cede visas and citizenship .

Governments acting as entrepreneurs are reflected in their ability to act in new and innovative ways and their willingness to undertake policy actions that have uncertain outcomes. One of such policy actions that have far-reaching entrepreneurial effects is whether or not to regulate the marijuana market. This paper examines the savings that could be accrued if the marijuana market in Jamaica was regulated- savings from the Constabulary and Correctional Services Departments with the elimination of enforcement costs, as well as income that could be earned if marijuana was taxed like other goods. This paper estimates that in 2011 enforcement costs (marijuana arrests, prosecutions and incarceration expenses) in Jamaica were approximately J$12.2 billion in government expenditure; between J$473 million - J$665 million annually could be earned if marijuana was taxed like normal goods and between J$1.5 billion – J$2.3 billion if marijuana was taxed at rates similar to those on cigarettes and alcohol. An additional US$14 billion could be earned if companies were allowed to export marijuana and then were taxed. This paper will contribute additional knowledge on the value of marijuana production in Jamaica, in terms of the amount of revenues that can be earned from the export of marijuana. It will also discuss the implications for both future academic research and public policy. Keywords: Government as entrepreneurs, regulated marijuana market.

Clink on link for paper

http://sbaer.uca.edu/research/ICSB/2013/65.pdf

]I dont believe it is and I dont believe it is not , but its a proposition that cannot be ignored.I believe it has alot more weight that this logistical hub thing.
                Logistics is a proven business model which has revolutionized countries like Panama, Singapore and Dubai. The record is clear

I don't know any country where weed or any other individual plant has done that or is projected to do that.

Consequently I don't give the idea of a Jamaican ganja industry being a development game-changer much credence. However I think it can play a small but positive role
                I dont see how value added products cannot be added to it ,it is possible for ganja to double our GDP.The markets are there to export and exploit ,we have a brand name.
                We have a brand name in tourism, sports, music, coffee etc. I don't see those brands revolutionizing the country.

A good brand name is a very small part of the puzzle. Scientific capability is way bigger. Unfortunately we are minnows in science so that will limit the ganja sector
                That said the savings from decriminalisation will go a far way in our social justice and of course economic debt.
                Absolutely... I see that as the biggest advantage

If you believe this hub thing is a paneca ,you are in the same boat that you accuse me of,at least I can realistically estimate cost in savings from decriminalisation and profits,this hub thing as Island says is a real pie in the sky.I reason because it doesnt have the stygma of ganja ,we are willing to literally sell our souls for it.
                Logistics development is not a panacea.... but can be a big part of the development equation if Jamaica is smart and prepares kids and the existing workforce with advanced STEM applications like robotics and software development... not just driving trucks, taxis, forklifts, lifting boxes and serving as security guards

Again...I can show you existing models of countries similar to Jamaica that have leveraged logistics to lift themselves from poverty in a generation or 2.

I would like to see a model of a country that has used a plant to do that

We cede land,cede visas and citizenship .

Governments acting as entrepreneurs are reflected in their ability to act in new and innovative ways and their willingness to undertake policy actions that have uncertain outcomes. One of such policy actions that have far-reaching entrepreneurial effects is whether or not to regulate the marijuana market. This paper examines the savings that could be accrued if the marijuana market in Jamaica was regulated- savings from the Constabulary and Correctional Services Departments with the elimination of enforcement costs, as well as income that could be earned if marijuana was taxed like other goods. This paper estimates that in 2011 enforcement costs (marijuana arrests, prosecutions and incarceration expenses) in Jamaica were approximately J$12.2 billion in government expenditure; between J$473 million - J$665 million annually could be earned if marijuana was taxed like normal goods and between J$1.5 billion – J$2.3 billion if marijuana was taxed at rates similar to those on cigarettes and alcohol. An additional US$14 billion could be earned if companies were allowed to export marijuana and then were taxed. This paper will contribute additional knowledge on the value of marijuana production in Jamaica, in terms of the amount of revenues that can be earned from the export of marijuana. It will also discuss the implications for both future academic research and public policy. Keywords: Government as entrepreneurs, regulated marijuana market.
                You mention innovation... I'm a BIG believer in that

Let's ramp up some science around weed research and develop products with credible partners... then test the market wid dat

That's a strategy I can believe in to have a CHANCE to create a viable industry which could have some development impact

$12.2 billion in savings from decriminalisation is small ? Agreed with all what you said about the logistics hub in that it can be to some benefit to us, but only if we have some form of control over it .I fail to see how we reap much benefit ,when we are giving away so much ,These hubs you listed are controlled by their nationals , or their nationalistic interest , we on the other hand,stand to have a hub design that mirrors panama,where multinationals run it ,locals are given mid level or low level positions.

I have no doubt we can control our ganja industry,invite partners on our terms ,find market on our terms ,research on our terms and benefit on our terms.Ganja is too versatile a plant/plan to dismiss, the industrial use as you know it is immense.

Show me a R&D paper as per the benefits of the logistics hub for Jamaica,not Dubai,Singapore or Panama ? we are dealing with the chinese who declare they want to run it ,we arent even gauranteed low level jobs .It took Panama how long to run theirs and see the benefits , before that Panama was a basket case,from what I am hearing about Panama only certain Hues get certain positions.Our government doesnt want any R&D done,not even the basic enviromental study.This hub thing based on the chinese/PNP design will see us gaining nothing and losing our souls.

I have to conclude that ,given what I have seen/heard which is nothing.Too secretive.
                  Last edited by Sir X; March 1, 2014, 06:38 PM.

While yuh talking...

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead6.html

Thank yuh sah.

LOL...X mi juss penni it ...Dis papah deh pon Fiya!!!!!

Mi spleen!!!!
                        The assumptions are absolutely ludicrous regarding volume of weed exports, putative pricing and margins accruing to Jamaica. It's absolute rubbish

For example... this garbage where they project US$14 Billion in ganja "earnings" from a GOJ "ganja levy"

According to the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics (1992:54), Commercial Grade Jamaican marijuana fetches approximately US$1750 per pound. This paper assumes that the Government of Jamaica imposes a 1% levy or US$17.50 on every pound of marijuana to be exported. Applying this US$17.50 to the quantities of marijuana exported yearly gives estimates of the amount of income that could be earned by the Government of Jamaica.
                        1. When ganja is legalized enuff to allow export to the USA and other points...the price will plummet to a fraction of what it is today. Other countries will easily produce weed for export as well and US domestic production will skyrocket. So it's asinine to use a base price reflecting the "illegal product" in a "legal market"
                        The current price is hugely inflated by scarcity as a result of its illegality
                        In other words...ganja will be like more sugar cane or coffee when its legalized

2. Jamaican ganja exporters will not benefit from the market price in the USA...So a GOJ "tax" cannot be bench-marked on US market pricing.
                        It has to be based on the JA wholesale price model.

JA ganja producers will get a fraction of the US market price (say 20%-30%) because US distribution & marketing costs & margins will probably have a higher share of the final price to consumer than JA production costs have... just like any commodity export

These 2 are but a few of the juvenile assumptions of this paper. It must have been written by coke addicts
                        Last edited by Don1; March 1, 2014, 06:52 PM.

Intellectual Ghetto tuh di Whirl!!!!!

12.2 billion in savings from decriminalisation is small ?
                            That's US$12 million in savings. Not bad

Agreed with all what you said about the logistics hub in that it can be to some benefit to us, but only if we have some form of control over it .I fail to see how we reap much benefit ,when we are giving away so much ,These hubs you listed are controlled by their nationals , or their nationalistic interest , we on the other hand,stand to have a hub design that mirrors panama,where multinationals run it ,locals are given mid level or low level positions.
                            We cannot "mirror Panama" ...they have a canal which they now own after 100 years of Babylon ownership.
                            We don't have the money to build our own facilities...so foreigners must do it. We must just negotiate the best compromise

There's no way around that in the real world....unfortunately

I have no doubt we can control our ganja industry,invite partners on our terms ,find market on our terms ,research on our terms and benefit on our terms.Ganja is too versatile a plant/plan to dismiss, the industrial use as you know it is immense.
                            Ok...noice. Let's see the US$ millions put into science to create value-added products.
                            Show me a R&D paper as per the benefits of the logistics hub for Jamaica,not Dubai,Singapore or Panama ? we are dealing with the chinese who declare they want to run it ,we arent even gauranteed low level jobs .It took Panama how long to run theirs and see the benefits , before that Panama was a basket case,from what I am hearing about Panama only certain Hues get certain positions.Our government doesnt want any R&D done,not even the basic enviromental study.This hub thing based on the chinese/PNP design will see us gaining nothing and losing our souls.
                            Like Ben.. I have no information on that. Unlike Ben... because I have no info I cannot make a call

What I do have is the example of similarly situated countries to Jamaica which have progressed thru logistics development.

I cannot locate a country which has used a plant to do that...can you?
                            I have to conclude that ,given what I have seen/heard which is nothing.Too secretive.
                            ok boss

Nothing ludicrous about the paper it was done in 2010 based on all what you stated ,illegality and potential for exports.That still doesnt exclude the fact that Jamaica stands to save 12.2 billion in decriminalisation , cost , as for the export market .I dont see how N.America with its cold climate and astronomical cost of production can compete with ours ,where it has a steady hot climate year round.

Come on Don american labour cost can compete with Jamaica in ganja production ? a 3000 sqt building in New York is $3000 to 5000 a month,we havent even factored in water and light.Thats just one state up north.

Other countries producing ganja ,will no doubt decrease the price but like us ,they probably have their markets to maintain -supply demand and name brand.Thats where marketing comes from like cuban cigras and brand name wines.Henri Jayer you maintain value based on quality,keeping the price at reasonable levels.

Now the industrial- immense !
                              http://www.votehemp.com/PDF/hemp97.pdf

It is feasible given that markets of industrial and medical use , not just leisurley must have been factored in the export market .

Supply demand cost of production in north america and the expanding world will see that market potentially realised.

If that is a coke head article ,then the way we are going about this hub thing is wha ???
                              Last edited by Sir X; March 1, 2014, 07:45 PM.