To Be Poor and Living in Singapore, A Real Shame
Originally posted by Islandman View PostI never said it could do much. I said she is better off than she would be almost anywhere else in the world in the same position.
Sorry!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Very interesting article.
No doubt our politicians could do well in 'studying' how things are done there. The cautionary tale is there must be a reason why snippets of a not too pleasant underbelly seeps out.
How many on a personal level would embrace the trade-off to living in this lap of luxury with the 'cost' of doing so? Perhaps 'the kicker' would be always having the option of retiring in a more 'happy' country?
Much to admire about the Singapore story. Surely there must be much to ape by our Jamaica leaders."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
The place is the size of St James, almost twice the population of JA, their water comes from Malaysia through a pipe, they believe in themselves, more industrious than us, gets far more tourist than us, nuh owe IMF nutten, what are our fears?
I believe that for most persons the more financially comfortable they become the harder they work.
I believe that the majority of people do not want to be on public assistance. However for a far too large minority I believe it is not so. Large enough for public policy to address.
My view: If you are UNABLE to work then living off public assistance should attempt to give you as comfortable a life as possible. For those who live off public assistance AS A CHOICE (and there are many who do) , life should be bearable but not comfortable.Last edited by Islandman; March 1, 2014, 03:18 PM."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
You have no clue....
<Theirs was a relaxed culture. The people were full of song and dance, spoke eloquently, danced vigorously and drank copiously. Hard work they had left behind with slavery.">
And that was 40 years ago.. imagine today after decades of mendicancy..
Wake up.