To Be Poor and Living in Singapore, A Real Shame

Link me.

I never said it could do much. I said she is better off than she would be almost anywhere else in the world in the same position.
      Apologies for reading more into what you actually said than meant.
      Sorry!

Very interesting article.

No doubt our politicians could do well in 'studying' how things are done there. The cautionary tale is there must be a reason why snippets of a not too pleasant underbelly seeps out.

How many on a personal level would embrace the trade-off to living in this lap of luxury with the 'cost' of doing so? Perhaps 'the kicker' would be always having the option of retiring in a more 'happy' country?

Much to admire about the Singapore story. Surely there must be much to ape by our Jamaica leaders.

Define faring well.. what is your standard ?

When you identify Heaven on Earth.. let me know..

I can point to certain places that approach Hell.. quite easily...

The place is the size of St James, almost twice the population of JA, their water comes from Malaysia through a pipe, they believe in themselves, more industrious than us, gets far more tourist than us, nuh owe IMF nutten, what are our fears?

Must be the fear of success?

I believe that for most persons the more financially comfortable they become the harder they work.
                  That may or may not be so. I don't know.

I believe that the majority of people do not want to be on public assistance. However for a far too large minority I believe it is not so. Large enough for public policy to address.

My view: If you are UNABLE to work then living off public assistance should attempt to give you as comfortable a life as possible. For those who live off public assistance AS A CHOICE (and there are many who do) , life should be bearable but not comfortable.
                  Last edited by Islandman; March 1, 2014, 03:18 PM.

yuh getting really close to the heart of it..

Miggle Passage in Stats class is not about success.. mi not even know wheh dat is about but mi know is not success !

You have no clue....

<Theirs was a relaxed culture. The people were full of song and dance, spoke eloquently, danced vigorously and drank copiously. Hard work they had left behind with slavery.">

And that was 40 years ago.. imagine today after decades of mendicancy..

Wake up.

Thanks.
                        Nice staccato answer

Your last paragraph is refuted by Genesis....

You have time a worry bout Rich Singap. when Jamaica a box shat outta hog mouth!

We are afraid to be all we can be. Perpetual, petulent children.

TDowl - you've got me confused! Xmas dinner where