To Be Poor and Living in Singapore, A Real Shame

OK sah. The model is wrong. Those migrant workers flooding into Singapore must really lick dem head.

You ever see nobody jump pon a boat headed to Cuba yet? Or Venezuela?

Oh yes, George Flash and Tony Brown. Those esteemed comrades.

Woiii! Comedy inna the Friday yah!

Not so,many people travel to Cuba for medical care,and the quality of cuban doctors are acknowledged insomuch that they are exported.
      No drug epidemic and low crime rates.
      There are those indicators that makes the cuba model desirable.
      I purposely mentioned Chavez so as to not waste time on the communist angle.

1) Are people flooding to Singapore to WORK.

Yes or No ?

2) Where do you live ?

But wait, Singapore have a drug problem? A crime rate problem? A health care problem?

Plus dem have money too! They are not mutually exclusive goals.

Singapore is a small nation with few of its own natural resources. Yet in the past 50 years it has transformed itself into one of the world's economic powerhouses. Here, Tenna Schoer, a Danish journalist based in Singapore, counts some of the measures where the country comes top of the class.
          http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-24428567

Lawd! Anywhere you tun makka jukk you!

You know what, mek me stop. As Ato Bolden like to say, this is not a fair fight.

Woiii!

Rockman see one straw you can grab at here:

The most unhappy people in the world

In Singapore you can find almost anything you desire but one thing in short supply, apparently, is happiness.

A recent Gallup report revealed that Singapore's wealthy population is the unhappiest, or least positive, in the world, less happy than people in Iraq, Haiti, Afghanistan and Syria.
            Damn yacht can only go 50 knots. Life haaaard fe real!

Wait.. in 3 years dem Gambling industry is 3rd in the World.. just behind Las Vegas ?!!

If dat is not the sign of a 'propped up' country I don't know what is..

lol ! woiee !!

oh to be so unhappy !!!

lol ! woiee !

You reach so far? Me still stuck pon #1 . Having a hard time processing this one.......

Only 16 people were murdered in 2011 in a country with a population of 5.1 million.
                  Me will try reach a #9 by next week.

Must be all that unhappiness and discontent among the citizenry...

Well I mean one can only eat so much lobster and drink so much fine wine before boredom sets in and the mind turns on itself .

When that happens I suppose a life of pit toilets and bullets flying outside your door will appear to be more adventurous.

The pursuit of excellence can get boring I guess..

Where is the joy of the unknown.. as in not knowing where your next meal is coming from ?! or not knowing if yuh will get killed one day to the next ?

Have you ever been there?

It is not perfect, but we live in a glass house comparatively.

Correct... it's just that I suppose we don't equate poverty with Singapore, in the same way I don't equate poverty with Switzerland, but we'd be naive, even foolish, to not think that "poverty" doesn't exist in these countries. It goes without saying that the percentage of poor, relative to the majority, is in the minority compared to the Land we Love.

Yup the model is wrong. Thats why the bottom 10% of working Singaporeans earn US$1500 a month. Disgraceful.

I wonder what the bottom 10% of Cubans earn? Me hear say medical doctors there earn less than $100 US a month. A true?

LOL! Unoo is some real joker.

...and what does that $1500 get you?
                              Less than J$500 gets you in JA?

The point is, what are the reference points? Merely throwing out 'money numbers'/what is earned tells nothing if there are not reference points?

I know the easy thing to do for those living in say, the USA, is to think of the US$ and living conditions here...but the topic is Singapore and many here have not a clue on 'how far' a Singapore dollar goes in Singapore. Help us, nuh?

Interesting sites
                              http://coinmill.com/SGD_USD.html#SGD=1

http://www.iproperty.com.sg/

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/ne...D=BMW+M+Series

http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living...city=Singapore

http://thehearttruths.com/2013/08/02...-in-singapore/

It just maybe that for the vast majority...as in JA it is no bed of roses. Without the facts we never know...
                              Last edited by Karl; February 28, 2014, 09:28 PM.

Yup the model is wrong. Thats why the bottom 10% of working Singaporeans earn US$1500 a month. Disgraceful.

I wonder what the bottom 10% of Cubans earn? Me hear say medical doctors there earn less than $100 US a month. A true?

LOL! Unoo is some real joker.

...and what does that $1500 get you?
                                Less than J$500 gets you in JA?

The point is, what are the reference points? Merely throwing out 'money numbers'/what is earned tells nothing if there are not reference points?

I know the easy thing to do for those living in say, the USA, is to think of the US$ and living conditions here...but the topic is Singapore and many here have not a clue on 'how far' a dollar goes in Singapore. Help us, nuh?

Interesting sites
                                http://coinmill.com/SGD_USD.html#SGD=1

http://www.iproperty.com.sg/

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/ne...D=BMW+M+Series

http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living...city=Singapore

http://thehearttruths.com/2013/08/02...-in-singapore/

It just maybe that for the vast majority...as in JA it is no bed of roses. Without the facts we never know...