Marcus Garvey on Education and Universal Knowledge

• Marcus Garvey on Education and Universal Knowledge

Marcus Garvey was decades ahead of his time bwoy. If ONLY we would actually learn from his teachings instead of just call up him name.

You must never stop learning. The world's greatest men and women were people who educated themselves outside of the university with all the knowledge that the university gives, and you have the opportunity of doing the same thing the university student does---read and study.

Read history incessantly until you master it. This means your own national history, the history of the world---social history, industrial history, and the history of the different sciences; but primarily the history of man. If you do not know what went on before you came here and what is happening at the time you live, but away from you, you will not know the world and will be ignorant of the world and mankind.

You can only make the best out of life by knowing and understanding it. To know, you must fall back on the intelligence of others who came before you and have left their records behind.
    To be able to read intelligently, you must first be able to master the language of your country. To do this, you must be well acquainted with its grammar and the science of it. Every six months you should read over again the science of the language that you speak, so as not to forget its rules. People judge you by your writing and your speech. If you write badly and incorrectly they become prejudiced toward your intelligence, and if you speak badly and incorrectly those who hear you become disgusted and will not pay much attention to you but in their hearts laugh after you. A leader who is to teach men and present any fact of truth to man must first be learned in his subject.

Never write or speak on a subject you know nothing about ( ), for there is always somebody who knows that particular subject to laugh at you or to ask you embarrassing questions that may make others laugh at you.

You can know about any subject under the sun by reading about it. If you cannot buy the books outright and own them, go to your public libraries and read them there or borrow them, or join some circulating library in your district or town, so as to get the use of these books. You should do that as you may refer to them for information.
    Marcus, these days them have a ting name internet dat make it much easier than your time, but still ignorance is pervasive.

Islandman, do you notice the simple and easy to read language that Garvey use when he writes?

I think I have posted that it's his words that motivate me in everyday life; especially the importance of business ownership....

I read what you have posted and reflect on the leadership and people of our born-land with respect to 'communication'.

Yesterday a young (blackman) came in to apply for a job. His name was McDonald. On his application he wrote Mcdonald. I ask 'shouldn't the 'D' be upper case?'...and he replied 'yes'. (sigh!)

"WE" jump-up in glee over the fact that the Chinese will be dictating the terms--and taking the lead on the initiative I keep reading about on this forum. I feel disgusted and embarrassed about "OUR" inability to take full advantage of our destiny......

Lots more i could say:
    Last edited by HL; February 27, 2014, 03:10 PM.

To be able to read intelligently, you must first be able to master the language of your country. To do this, you must be well acquainted with its grammar and the science of it. Every six months you should read over again the science of the language that you speak, so as not to forget its rules. People judge you by your writing and your speech. If you write badly and incorrectly they become prejudiced toward your intelligence, and if you speak badly and incorrectly those who hear you become disgusted and will not pay much attention to you but in their hearts laugh after you. A leader who is to teach men and present any fact of truth to man must first be learned in his subject.
      wait till his namesake, Baron Mosiah Marshall, sees this...him might just change him name after

You should say more HL.

If you ask the average Jamaican, rastas included , you would think the sum total of Garveys message was back to Africa on the Black Star Liners. Nothing about his views on education, the importance of enterprise and economic viability, and personal self-development.

The literal repatriation to Africa is less relevant than all of these in the world we live today.

Marcus Garvey was decades ahead of his time bwoy. If ONLY we would actually learn from his teachings instead of just call up him name.

Marcus, these days them have a ting name internet dat make it much easier than your time, but still ignorance is pervasive.
          The internet makes information readily available.... Unfortunately not necessarily the ability to understand or apply information correctly or successfully.

It is the latter that constitutes intelligence

You asked for it Islandman.

These are my favorite Garvey writings. I have read and re-read them..... over and over>>>>
            http://keyamsha.wordpress.com/2012/1...marcus-garvey/

Ignore! Ignore! Ignore! ..please

You asked for it Islandman.

These are my favorite Garvey writings. I have read and re-read them..... over and over>>>>
              http://keyamsha.wordpress.com/2012/1...marcus-garvey/
              Kindly highlight the section of Garvey's writings which would justify investing in equity related to the Prison Industrial Complex ... especially since ~20% of young Black men have a relationship with America's "justice shitstem".

How can we get the other 80% involved? What about our girls?? That's a HUGE untapped market!!!

Maybe by reading Garvey one can find ways to drive more of our people into America's privatized prison shitstem...and some smart fellows can enjoy handsome returns
              Last edited by Don1; February 27, 2014, 04:17 PM.

My favorite is "The Philosophy and Opinions of Marcus Garvey". Have a copy looking on me right here.

I will have to check out those others you mentioned.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yes! I have said it all the time that men like Garvey were decades ahead of their time. He say situation as it was and had the balls to question it and challenged it.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla what I find interesting--is Garvey believed in a Hierarchical System within the Black Race (of course with God on top).

Much like a pyramid-like organizational chart?

Yes! I have said it all the time that men like Garvey were decades ahead of their time. He say situation as it was and had the balls to question it and challenged it.
                      ...Yes

And also not just yap...but DO something about what he believed

If you write badly and incorrectly they become prejudiced toward your intelligence, and if you speak badly and incorrectly those who hear you become disgusted and will not pay much attention to you but in their hearts laugh after you. A leader who is to teach men and present any fact of truth to man must first be learned in his subject.
                        I notice some forumites staying far from this thread...woiee mi ignorance

Where is the poster formerly know as Baron Mosiah Marshall who now simply goes by the name Baron Marshall? How Marcus Garvey a gwaan like him better than black people...woiee mi plate a rice and peas...

Top of the morning Bricky - don't go into slap down mode now

Be merciful TopBrick....PLEASE!!!