Tricked.. Hoodwinked.. Bamboozled
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Thats what they have left us with ,speculation the process is in a cloud of secrecy.You really cant blame anyone,the enviromentalist, enginers,business sector are calling for details, all we keep hearing is the projected 10k jobs and the 1.5 billion in investment, a cloud , the chinese are known to invest and import their own labour force, their enviromental record is the worst,such speculation is credible given the chinese history.
Caaan blame nuh bady ..if dem a ball bout chiney ship,government bring it pan demself, no comparison to the 70s propoganda....money inna diss and Jamaica a look some !
Look man we have a product that we have control over (ganja) estimated to pull us 14 billion USA dollars a year in exports, where is the interest ? They give credence to this hub port ,which hasnt passed a R&D test yet ? It would be quicker and easier if we got this ganja thing running than this snail pace port-hub,we have nothing to lose and much to gain.
Governments acting as entrepreneurs are reflected in their ability to act in new and innovative ways and their willingness to undertake policy actions that have uncertain outcomes. One of such policy actions that have far-reaching entrepreneurial effects is whether or not to regulate the marijuana market. This paper examines the savings that could be accrued if the marijuana market in Jamaica was regulated- savings from the Constabulary and Correctional Services Departments with the elimination of enforcement costs, as well as income that could be earned if marijuana was taxed like other goods. This paper estimates that in 2011 enforcement costs (marijuana arrests, prosecutions and incarceration expenses) in Jamaica were approximately J$12.2 billion in government expenditure; between J$473 million - J$665 million annually could be earned if marijuana was taxed like normal goods and between J$1.5 billion – J$2.3 billion if marijuana was taxed at rates similar to those on cigarettes and alcohol. An additional US$14 billion could be earned if companies were allowed to export marijuana and then were taxed. This paper will contribute additional knowledge on the value of marijuana production in Jamaica, in terms of the amount of revenues that can be earned from the export of marijuana. It will also discuss the implications for both future academic research and public policy. Keywords: Government as entrepreneurs, regulated marijuana market.
Clink on link for paper
http://sbaer.uca.edu/research/ICSB/2013/65.pdfTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I trust no Babylon element... Wedda dem name Chiney, Russian, British or American all ah dem out fi samfie wi.
We have 400 years af history which establishes that reality
This is why questions are good... We need data to enable analysis.... But wild fables not so much.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Muadib View PostDetails ?
Yuh mean like how di 10% split up ?
Woooiiiee mi inna Sheriff!!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Actually no...the Termites have provided no details. As for your Vernadah Talk...For critical thinkers that labrish doesn't qualify as data....TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Jamaicans tend to be idiotic when it comes to projects and their implementation if the project is promoted by non-Westerners.
This is driven by emotions and not critical analysis. Most of what passes for analysis in the press on this logistics project is uninformed rubbish.
Ok you can fault the Termites for not releasing details. But if they release details prematurely there will be even MORE hysteria based on people's irrational fear of the unknown investors (shaped of course by their devotion to Western media stereotypes )
Investors are naturally skittish about precarious economies like Jamaica's. I don't see any Americans or British rushing to invest in JA
The hysteria about the Chinese could well cause the project to be scuttled. If it's scuttled those same emotional critics will be all over the Termites because there's no investment..and no jobs
Under the circumstances mi nuh blame di Termites atall for being economical with the details....until when details are released and the project is not favorable.... then there may be cause for me to bun dem out
Until then I'll keep my powder dry ...an gwaan watch di stage showLast edited by Don1; February 27, 2014, 04:40 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Boss how can you allow a man to dictate business in your house on his terms , thats weakness ,especially when yuh siddung on a 14 billion dollar commodity.
Wi nuh narmal.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
LOL! Suh yuh really tink Babylon naw dictate to Jamaica pon weed? Yuh tink Baylon gi up US$14 Billion juss suh??? Mi bely!!
Money talks... Bullsheet walks. A bruk pakit country cannot afford to ignore an investor willing to put down US$2Billion in the short term on a project...And a bruk pakit country cannot dictate terms.. it can just try to negotiate the best deal.... period.
I don't know about any $14 Billion ganja pie in the sky...which may or may not occur in another 10 years or so. In fact no one can foretell what will occur in a new market
It's important to get the thing decriminalized fast, start a massive education program about the pros and cons of its use...and start investing in the science which could support derivative products from weed. Simply producing weed as a raw material will get nowhere
Seems to me you're allowing dis weed ting to have you blinkered. A lot must happen before that opportunity matures... and it is not advisable to ignore other projects in the interimTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
ahm.. why does Jamaica have to accept the Chinese 1.5 Billion investment ?
To produce a fraction of 10,000 jobs in 4 years time ?
If we have to worry about a fraction of 10,000 jobs in 4 years time then we have bigger problems than that.. it would have meant the failure of the Logistics Hub initiative and therefore 'the end'... so what is the rush on this ?
What more details do you need than what they have declared in Parliament..
Upside: a fraction of 10,000 jobs in 4 years time.
That is 4 good size call center.. not sure if we need to give up a potential Tourist Mecca for that.. it nuh compute..
Originally posted by Muadib View PostWhat more details do you need than what they have declared in Parliament..
Upside: a fraction of 10,000 jobs in 4 years time.
That is 4 good size call center.. not sure if we need to give up a potential Tourist Mecca for that.. it nuh compute..
Kindly show me the "investors" waiting to put money in the "tourist mecca" and the amount of the "investment"
Mi spleen!!! Dis noice!!!!!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE