• Tricked.. Hoodwinked.. Bamboozled

<The Port is not expected to be engaged in transhipment activities for
    several years yet. It will require time for technical development,
    after the signing of the implementation and concession agreements
    prior to the start of construction, and another period for construction.
    Assuming that the Agreements will be concluded about a year from
    now, the port will not be in operation for approximately four years.
    It is also expected to be limited in scope at the start.>

aahm.. but dem nuh seh Panama Canal ready in 2015 ?

Ah wha really a gwaan yah suh ?

Don2.. ??

Where are these quotes from? Somewhere reputable?

This is getting depressing.

I see this hub thing as a disaster if realized we would have no say in it.Voices need to get louder too many unanswered questions... Too many.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The Horses mout.. I mean Omar...Parliament.. not sure how reputable that is doh...

The colonization of Goat Island and by extension Jamaica. Let's look at this in the long term. China has over a billion inhabitants. One little town in China has more people than the entire population of Jamaica. When we give China sovereignty of Goat Island (because make no mistake that is what is going to happen), how hard is it to imagine 100k Chinese living there. With the GOJ waiving visa requirements for Chinese "visitors", they will be coming by the plane loads to "conquer" new frontiers. I don't know how many people Goat island can accommodate, but it's reasonable to think that with such an influx of foreigners, there will be a significant strain on our social services. Are they going to build hospitals and schools over there? Sooner or later they will have to expand over into the mainland. Now I say that Jamaicans learning the Chinese language should be an important component to any agreement. If the plan is to build a bridge, that means it's one way in and one way out of an island inhabited by Chinese nationals. That agreement has already been signed and Portia and her crew is just going through the motions to appear transparent. Sad day.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I doubt the influx of Chinese would strain our social services. In fact I would expect them to have a net positive economic impact as I believe every wave of Chinese immigrants have had.

Also I would rather they be on the mainland than isolated on an island, as their money would more likely low through the general economy if they are. There would be a cultural impact yes, but why is that a bad thing necessarily?

As to whether this overall deal is worth what we are giving up though, I am getting very skeptical about that.

I man, how many of these new Chinese businesses paying tax? That is something that should be visited. With so many Chinese taking over corner stores and others, Jamaican paying more taxes, how many of these Chinese businesses are getting a break, selling fake cigarettes and cheating the tax pool???

Well if they are not paying tax that is the govts fault. Are the Jamaican businesses paying any tax either though? They should definitely pay tax and be required to follow labor laws etc.

I have no problem with them opening a store on every corner if there is a demand for it.

It is really a question still, I am not sure. I hear others complain but we should get a clearer picture. I know that many of the big investment they get concessions on it. What I do know is that the fake products come in somehow and this is not accounted for so the relevant taxes are not paid on those.

7 Miles of Russian Ships Comin' in.. di Harbour!!!

The colonization of Goat Island and by extension Jamaica. Let's look at this in the long term. China has over a billion inhabitants. One little town in China has more people than the entire population of Jamaica. When we give China sovereignty of Goat Island (because make no mistake that is what is going to happen), how hard is it to imagine 100k Chinese living there. With the GOJ waiving visa requirements for Chinese "visitors", they will be coming by the plane loads to "conquer" new frontiers. I don't know how many people Goat island can accommodate, but it's reasonable to think that with such an influx of foreigners, there will be a significant strain on our social services. Are they going to build hospitals and schools over there? Sooner or later they will have to expand over into the mainland. Now I say that Jamaicans learning the Chinese language should be an important component to any agreement. If the plan is to build a bridge, that means it's one way in and one way out of an island inhabited by Chinese nationals. That agreement has already been signed and Portia and her crew is just going through the motions to appear transparent. Sad day.
                    Woooiieee mi spleen!!!

Ahm... Dis is picturesque but... how about waiting for the details of the development to be made public by the Termites??

Hysteria abounds!!

That's the problem the wait and its not as if questions aren't asked of the details everyone is asking and I believe when it comes out there will be a revolt.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Re: The fake products coming in
                        Yuh mean like every other illegal product 'brought in' by Jamaicans? ...inclusive of 'coke'?

fi dem come inna more volume.

Details ?

Yuh mean like how di 10% split up ?

I have no problem with questions. Questions are good...they keep Termites and other political insects in check.

But wild speculations based on ignorance???

That's merely entertainment. If you don't believe that I have a few Russian Ships for sale