Tricked.. Hoodwinked.. Bamboozled

I don't know why X think that weed is different from coffee, sugar, banana or anything else we say we have an industry in.

Even is there is US $14 billion to be made, if we keep doing what we are doing we will get close to no benefit.

It is not about the commodity it is about adding value and controlling your own destiny. How many African nations have natural resources fe stone dawg and only the corrupt politicians, their cronies and the multinationals are getting the benefit.

Time to wake up X. We need to focus on HUMAN resources, then the rest will fall into place.

We need to focus on HUMAN resources, then the rest will fall into place.

Good point but how do we go about that when we keep rotating the same set of political criminals?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LOL... Di Goat Islant sitten independent.. it nuh included inna GOJ logistics hub. Yuh nuh know dat yute???

Plus... Mi tink dem seh di rush related to one big hole dem soon done build inna Panama

No easy or quick solution, but I believe whatever one can do to improve the education and opportunities for the youths will help.

The more educated the population is, the less they will be controlled by corrupt politicians and businessmen, area dons and other assorted lowlifes. Also the greater the chance they will produce better leaders and thinkers.

We collectively have to make the change from the ground up, community by community, school by school, organization by organization, then force the change at the top.

We been trying it the other way for 50 years now and nothing but pain to show for it.

LOL. Well nuff mongrel deh a JA dat can be put to productive use.

Exactly Island , its about controlling our own destiny,the hub thing is ceeding control we will have little to no say about it ,at least we control the herb and we cant blame no one if we screw it up, incidentally is it something that we can dismiss, do we have that luxury ?...wi nuh narmal....some would for the hub ,a thing they will admit ,we have to give up alot of control,so how in the world do they expect to benefit ?

We dismiss ganja out of cultural shame,hide behind anectodes of grandma or our rasta cousin who uses it .We need to put all options on the table and deal with it on a practical,pragmatic level.

14 billion US is nothing to dismiss especilally when we have control of itIt makes the hub thing look like a joke for any angle, practicality ,commonsense, control moentarily.

The projected earnings of the hub pales in comparrison to ganja.What are the projected earnings of the hub which we have to ceed control ?

Governments acting as entrepreneurs are reflected in their ability to act in new and innovative ways and their willingness to undertake policy actions that have uncertain outcomes. One of such policy actions that have far-reaching entrepreneurial effects is whether or not to regulate the marijuana market. This paper examines the savings that could be accrued if the marijuana market in Jamaica was regulated- savings from the Constabulary and Correctional Services Departments with the elimination of enforcement costs, as well as income that could be earned if marijuana was taxed like other goods. This paper estimates that in 2011 enforcement costs (marijuana arrests, prosecutions and incarceration expenses) in Jamaica were approximately J$12.2 billion in government expenditure; between J$473 million - J$665 million annually could be earned if marijuana was taxed like normal goods and between J$1.5 billion – J$2.3 billion if marijuana was taxed at rates similar to those on cigarettes and alcohol. An additional US$14 billion could be earned if companies were allowed to export marijuana and then were taxed. This paper will contribute additional knowledge on the value of marijuana production in Jamaica, in terms of the amount of revenues that can be earned from the export of marijuana. It will also discuss the implications for both future academic research and public policy. Keywords: Government as entrepreneurs, regulated marijuana market.What are the projected earnings of the hub ?

Clink on link for paper

http://sbaer.uca.edu/research/ICSB/2013/65.pdf

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Don

I agree we need to have certain regulatory boards in place before anything happens,that said if Colorado and Washington can do it in a year , why cant we?

As per the projected 14 billion , I hope you read the paper,it is feasibile, the closess thing we have to a cost analysis,cant same the thing for the hub.

What investment would we need to get a ganja industry going ? how much sure as hell not 2 or 10 billion,probably a point of a % of that .

The biggest pie is the hub , we have no control over it , its all secretive ,
                  HYPE !

There will be a market for jamaican ganja and its derivatives,north america with its, ice box weather cant compete with our labour cost as it pertains to the herb, most importantly we have a brand name.

Come on Don !Even if you look at the cost of decriminalisation(no arrest/ sales) that is a hub savings !

If yuh nuh read brethren read !

Last edited by Sir X; February 27, 2014, 07:10 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Ben ......Agreed and that is what I am looking at ,10,000 jobs for an unemployment rate of 14 to 16% 375,000 isnt doing anything !

The Hub thing look like a joke fi sell to hurry come up, beggy beggy beggy idiat

Unemployment rate only factors in those looking for jobs.

Suh we inna di mongrel killing business now..lol

Pay attention.. the Goat Island port will be operational a minimum of 4 years from ground break and only in limited scope..

Yuh need to take off your blinkers...

Chiney Island is not the Hub ting.. stap fallah Don1...

The REAL Hub ting is what Dubai, Singapore and Chiney Consortium a fight fi get.. it innah di KMR..

Feigned ignorance ?.. yuh nuh hear mi seh is not 3,000 acres ?

Yuh nuh tyad fi get yuh face batta bruise ?

Rath..

Whether yuh put it on Chiney,Goat,My,Your Island or the REal Hub as you say ,the benefits of a 1.5 billion investment returning 10,000 jobs of which we have no control as to who gets what job is ridiculous ,especially when its in secrecy,given the fact we have a 14 to 16 % unemployment rate 375K,at best we decrease it to 365K ,worst case 374 K......9000 jobs to the chinese,Visa free now !

Given the fact that we sit on green gold which would cost little or nothing and a year at most to come up with a regulated plan to kick off ,estimated 14 US billion by Babylon own study ?

Dismissed as a pie in the sky ......Wi nuh narmal.Better yet dismissed , on the premise it takes human resources and control of it.......wi nuh narmal.

Governments acting as entrepreneurs are reflected in their ability to act in new and innovative ways and their willingness to undertake policy actions that have uncertain outcomes. One of such policy actions that have far-reaching entrepreneurial effects is whether or not to regulate the marijuana market. This paper examines the savings that could be accrued if the marijuana market in Jamaica was regulated- savings from the Constabulary and Correctional Services Departments with the elimination of enforcement costs, as well as income that could be earned if marijuana was taxed like other goods. This paper estimates that in 2011 enforcement costs (marijuana arrests, prosecutions and incarceration expenses) in Jamaica were approximately J$12.2 billion in government expenditure; between J$473 million - J$665 million annually could be earned if marijuana was taxed like normal goods and between J$1.5 billion – J$2.3 billion if marijuana was taxed at rates similar to those on cigarettes and alcohol. An additional US$14 billion could be earned if companies were allowed to export marijuana and then were taxed. This paper will contribute additional knowledge on the value of marijuana production in Jamaica, in terms of the amount of revenues that can be earned from the export of marijuana. It will also discuss the implications for both future academic research and public policy. Keywords: Government as entrepreneurs, regulated marijuana market.

Clink on link for paper

Yuteman tap yuh foolfool yappin an mek wi know bout di tourism mecca