• Foreigners will take logistics hub jobs

if Jamaicans don't qualify themselves — PM
    BY HORACE HINES Observer staff reporter
    Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller addressing the Community Training for Empowerment Programme (CTEP) graduation in MoBay (PHOTO: PHILLIP LEMONTE)

MONTEGO BAY, St James — PRIME Minister Portia Simpson Miller says nothing will be allowed to stand in the way of development, warning that overseas workers will seize the increased job opportunities anticipated from the global logistics hub initiative, if Jamaicans fail to qualify themselves.

"We need to prepare ourselves for the jobs to come when you hear the announcements because if we are not trained then we cannot complain if we have to get people from elsewhere to fill the slots," said Simpson Miller. "Because we are not going to put any hindrance in the way of growth and development investments are a key to this growth and development. When we talk about the logistics hub we need to start to train persons."

Government's position is that the development of the hub will position Jamaica as a major logistics point that will be able to benefit from increased trade activities through the Caribbean as a result of the expansion of the Panama Canal.

As such, it is expected to drive investment and create sustainable employment over the long-term.

The prime minister was speaking at the Wexford Court Hotel in Montego Bay at an award ceremony for the Community Training for Empowerment Programme (CTEP) on Sunday.

CTEP, accredited by HEART Trust/NTA, Kelinworth, was conceptualised in 2004 by Derrick Kellier, who has been the member of parliament for South St James since 1989.

Over 1,000 persons have so far graduated under the project, which involves training in housekeeping, food and beverage, information technology, conversational Spanish and values and attitude.

Meanwhile, the prime minister expessed the need to romp up productivity across the nation.

"We need to get our people into successful businesses as small, medium and large producers. We have to create an army of successful entrepreneurs across this land of ours to produce jobs and to produce more," Simpson Miller said. "That's why the Heart Trust NTA is in major expansion mode, and I want to commend them-to widen its training programmes and increase the number of Jamaicans trained in the various skill areas."

Meanwhile, Kellier also stressed the need for improved production to pull the nation out of its indebtedness.

"Productivity is the key to take Jamaica out of its economic woes. If everyone in Jamaica understands that we will be well on our way to pay off the debt that we owe," argued Kellier who is also the minister of labour and social security. "If everyone should understand that and get on to the productivity revolution, then everyone will be better off in the future."

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/weste...t-NTA_16144052
    Last edited by Karl; February 27, 2014, 09:56 AM.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good to see her telling it like it is. She is totally correct on this.

Is it just that we are not trained??? Why are we not a little bit more ready?

Chinese no longer need visas for Jamaica so look for a lot of them over goat island.

We might need visa fi go a Goat Island.

What's the big deal in hiring the most qualified people regardless of geographic identity?

You will need expatriates to get started but the goal should be to produce locals with the skills who can eventually take over those jobs.

A qualified local should be given preference in their own country.

14 to 16 % unemployment in a nation of 2.7 mill,378K unemployed ...whats the big deal ?

Wow

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Unuh really believe Portia & company a tink bout the locals?

Insofar as getting re-elected, yes.

Some of the skills that are needed can be taught in one or two years. Why haven't we made more effort to do this? Stuff like using heavy equipment, loading and unloading of cargo, using forklifts and other jobs that are needed in this field???? It just seems like the Chinese is going to dictate the employment on their investment whether we qualify or not.

Someone posted what the prime minister constituency looked like. It was at best shabby and destitute. Some places do not have any electric-sity.

I hope this is not just the usual political rhetoric from the PM.

REAL Job creation will/can save Jamaica.

if Jamaicans don't qualify themselves — PM
                      BY HORACE HINES Observer staff reporter
                      Wednesday, February 26, 2014 7 Comments

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller addressing the Community Training for Empowerment Programme (CTEP) graduation in MoBay (PHOTO: PHILLIP LEMONTE)

.remove_caption{ display:none; }

MONTEGO BAY, St James — PRIME Minister Portia Simpson Miller says nothing will be allowed to stand in the way of development, warning that overseas workers will seize the increased job opportunities anticipated from the global logistics hub initiative, if Jamaicans fail to qualify themselves.
                      "We need to prepare ourselves for the jobs to come when you hear the announcements because if we are not trained then we cannot complain if we have to get people from elsewhere to fill the slots," said Simpson Miller. "Because we are not going to put any hindrance in the way of growth and development investments are a key to this growth and development. When we talk about the logistics hub we need to start to train persons."
                      Government's position is that the development of the hub will position Jamaica as a major logistics point that will be able to benefit from increased trade activities through the Caribbean as a result of the expansion of the Panama Canal.
                      As such, it is expected to drive investment and create sustainable employment over the long-term.
                      The prime minister was speaking at the Wexford Court Hotel in Montego Bay at an award ceremony for the Community Training for Empowerment Programme (CTEP) on Sunday.
                      CTEP, accredited by HEART Trust/NTA, Kelinworth, was conceptualised in 2004 by Derrick Kellier, who has been the member of parliament for South St James since 1989.
                      Over 1,000 persons have so far graduated under the project, which involves training in housekeeping, food and beverage, information technology, conversational Spanish and values and attitude.
                      Meanwhile, the prime minister expessed the need to romp up productivity across the nation.
                      "We need to get our people into successful businesses as small, medium and large producers. We have to create an army of successful entrepreneurs across this land of ours to produce jobs and to produce more," Simpson Miller said. "That's why the Heart Trust NTA is in major expansion mode, and I want to commend them-to widen its training programmes and increase the number of Jamaicans trained in the various skill areas."
                      Meanwhile, Kellier also stressed the need for improved production to pull the nation out of its indebtedness.
                      "Productivity is the key to take Jamaica out of its economic woes. If everyone in Jamaica understands that we will be well on our way to pay off the debt that we owe," argued Kellier who is also the minister of labour and social security. "If everyone should understand that and get on to the productivity revolution, then everyone will be better off in the future."
                      Chinese workers took over the free zones before they were scrapped. They are going to take just about all the jobs on Goat Island including security guards. Our security guards are afraid of drug dealers. The Chinese are going to have to provide their own security otherwise goat island will become a drug transshipment port.

I agree, we should have had those programs in place already.

I am not very optimistic about all this, but I hope I am wrong.

This agreement should include bringing in Chinese teachers to teach us the language. This is one of the most critical component. The Chinese are parasitic when it comes to protecting their investments which is very scary.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Many in the PMs constituency (and many other constituencies I might add) are not just unemployED and untrainED but also unemployABLE and untrainABLE.

Best to focus on the youth and try to save the future generations.

One thing you know about the Chinese is, they did their research, one way or another and will take any advantage they can. The question is, did we do ours? I only hear what the Chinese dictate, what did we dictate?

Same thing we talk about the IMF all the time. We need to get our act right.