• RIP Phillip Smart.

http://www.clintonlindsay.com/2014/0...e-with-cancer/

X thanks for the website. Only to see my friend Ace producer Phillip Smart has died. Phillip was a gentleman in the business. As humble as they came.
    He would tell me about his early days with King Tubbys, and we talk about him introducing pro tools in reggae with Dirtsman "hot this year" to his Gold records including his Shaggy productions.

I spoke to Phillip about 8 months ago. RIP Phillip, you have done your work from Radio to Studio. He has done so much work on reggae. Strength to his brother Mikey Mcdonald.

Thanx TDowl...RIP went to his studio once in my 5 min carear as a singer my voice croaked and too much weed man i.e supercat did Inna di studio in Freeport.... Humble bredda.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Normally he doesn't allow smoking in the studio. Yeahman a real cool brother
      And one who is always looking work for musicians and entertainers.

US-based reggae producer Philip Smart dies

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 | 10:33 AM 1 comment

Phillip Smart ...Mampie, Oh Carolina, Big Up and Angel were some of Shaggy's songs recorded at his studio.

KINGSTON, Jamaica -- Phillip Smart, whose Long Island studio was the hub for reggae/dancehall in the tri-state area, died Tuesday in Port Washington, New York.
        Smart, who was in his late 50s, died from pancreatic cancer, his brother-in-law and business partner Michael McDonald confirmed.
        The prolific engineer/producer worked with countless artistes at his HC&F Recording Studio in Long Island, most notably Shaggy who recorded several of his hit songs there.
        ‘Mampie’, ‘Oh Carolina’, ‘Big Up’ and ‘Angel’ were some of the songs Shaggy worked on at HC&F.
        Musician Derrick Barnett of Sagittarius Band fame also did numerous sessions at the facility. He knew Smart since the early 1980s.
        "Phillip was always willing to share his knowledge, him never hold back," Barnett told OBSERVER ONLINE.
        Rodney Hill, a music industry insider who has worked with dancehall acts including Junior Cat and Super Cat, described Smart as "Humble, gave a lot of good advice."
        He added that HC&F was the hit factory during the 1980s and 1990s.
        "It was always booked out. Phillip used to mix and engineer everybody," Hill said.
        Born and raised in the Havendale area of Kingston, Smart got his start in the music business through Augustus Pablo, who lived in the same area.
        Smart was at the Randy's recording studio in Kingston in 1972 when Pablo cut his classic instrumental ‘Java’.
        He later became an understudy to engineer and dub maestro Osbourne 'King Tubbys Ruddock.
        Smart migrated to the United States in the late 1970s and in 1981 established HC&F which became the go-to studio for reggae artistes and musicians in the tri-state region.
        Smart operated two record labels: TanYah and Eclipse. The former produced notable hits like deejay Dirtsman's ‘Hot This Year’ and ‘Rikers Island’ by Cocoa Tea.
        Phillip Smart is survived by his wife Georgette and son Phillip.
        Howard Campbell