Robotics article for 1Don

Maybe they will, but not in the short to medium term, that is all I am saying.

Like most things futuristic, we have very little clue how it will play out in the long term. Maybe if things get sticky we will time travel back to an earlier era like John Connor Or maybe we will just shut down the damn machines before we lose control. Nothing is set in stone , we have some control over our destiny.

Anyway, those are problems for our grandpickneys, right now me more focused pon trying to help a few youth inna JA and elsewhere fe see the light. Unfortunately it look like you already give up pon dem.

Leadership is important. Unfortunately whether it's Portia or Andrew or Bruce or PJ etc... Jamaica's leadership is woeful.

The last thing I want in any project I get involved in is some politician dabbling in it... I'll just get them to show at the ribbon cutting so they can get some press and take credit...then tek whe demself

Since neither the PNP nor JLP has progressive leadership the question is what to do about that competence gap. For me it's left to progressive people to come together and act. Waiting on some political Messiah is a waste of time. Merely complaining constantly about problems is also a waste of time & energy

For example if we could energize 3-4 people in every high and primary school and provide them with the correct training & tools to manage a robotics and software development program ....the politicians and their folly would be irrelevant. We would be able to revolutionize education with a couple thousand teachers and volunteers trained in STEM applications

Since JLPNP politicians are so backward it's left to regular folks to quit bellyaching and get involved in development projects... big or small..

If one is interested in progress there's really no excuse not to act accordingly
      Last edited by Don1; February 24, 2014, 08:02 PM.

It can never be too late...as we can always use/utilize 'the power' machines (to assist us) to catch up.
        ...but the longer we wait, then it shall naturally be the longer we endure 3rd class statehood and lifestyle.

Like I was talking with some technology buff and he said forget all you hear about 3D printing, we are not anywhere close to what can be done for numerous reasons. The technology needs refining and the overall cost of owning and maintenance it is too much.

If you listen to some people you think it is on the market readily available already.

So are you saying there is a robot existing today that can choose a weave, and weave it into a woman's head better than a human can do it?

Is there a robot that can cook an oxtail or curry goat the way a good chef can do it?

I am not saying those tasks will remain impossible , I am saying the technology is not there yet to do them without significant human intervention. These skills require neither great physical force nor massive processing power, but rather a certain emotional connection to humans which smart machines are not yet able to simulate.
            Yuh tricky bad
            you saying there is a robot existing today

...but why is it not something we can perceive where sometime in the future our every thought can be translated into action by a machine feed our range of experiences...yes how we 'absorb stimuli from the environment, sum of our experiences...interpret and act? ...moving to fulfill our every desire as we think it or before we think it? ...why not 'chips' (...not chips as we currently know it?) all around that receives all and receptors unique to each person that enables that to think equals having at command?

...could such weed out bad thoughts???? ...but still?...but for all that?...possible (...do we think possible)?

Leadership is important. Unfortunately whether it's Portia or Andrew or Bruce or PJ etc... Jamaica's leadership is woeful.

The last thing I want in any project I get involved in is some politician dabbling in it... I'll just get them to show at the ribbon cutting so they can get some press and take credit...then tek whe demself

Since neither the PNP nor JLP has progressive leadership the question is what to do about that competence gap. For me it's left to progressive people to come together and act. Waiting on some political Messiah is a waste of time. Merely complaining constantly about problems is also a waste of time & energy

For example if we could energize 3-4 people in every high and primary school and provide them with the correct training & tools to manage a robotics and software development program ....the politicians and their folly would be irrelevant. We would be able to revolutionize education with a couple thousand teachers and volunteers trained in STEM applications

Since JLPNP politicians are so backward it's left to regular folks to quit bellyaching and get involved in development projects... big or small..

If one is interested in progress there's really no excuse not to act accordingly
              Just do it!
              To use the likle wud you use - noice!

Your tech buff needs to get with the times. 3D printing is not new, it is only that the cost of doing it is coming down, it is getting better and more accurate and industries start seeing the potential. Back in 2008 I worked with a small start up that designed and manufactured some specialized equipment for the security forces. We were in the market for a 3D printer to help speed the prototype process. A low resolution version was easily US$100,000. Costs are coming down, but they are still expensive. Major manufacturers out there have been using the technology to get product to market faster.

Anyway, here you see companies like Ford is employing 3D printing: Ford’s 3D-Printed Auto Parts Save Millions, Boost Quality

There are many other examples of the technology being put to use.
                Nike for example I know do 3D print of athletic shoes before a single one is built by the regular manufacturing process.

10 Incredible Things You Can Make With 3D Printers
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Dem ongle call it printing kah dem use paper, dat ah manufacturing/molding di part using paper compound. Ah done know how dem ah guh produce di z axis pan a 2 plane surface. Dem can do it inna projection kah di glasses view create di z axis.

Dem can do it inna projection kah di glasses view create di z axis.
                    No glassed is used to see the part in 3D. The part comes out of the printer and you hold it in your hand like the real thing. Sounds as if you are talking of 3D TV not 3D printing. Two different things.

This process has been used for years to get the touch and feel of parts at the prototype stage of development. Only when one is satisfied with the part, then you commit to tooling for regular manufacturing. It is only getting better. . .
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

3D printing is a word dem use fi manufacture a prototype ah some sort. Yuh hab differenct form a manufacturing sup'mn and dem jus use 3D printing as a wud to refer to di non traditional way. Dem not really printing anyting.

ok boss

Alright sar!

ok thanks for that, but as you see the capital injection that is involved. The tech buff I speak of is a decision maker for a huge corporation and he said he doesn't see it be used viable commercially for most companies in at least the next 10 years.

For prototyping it is already fairly common. If he means for mass production then that is a different thing. At this point is it is not really a mass production technology, but it can be used to produce small batches of products which can make the manufacture of the product possible for a small man with a new idea to get started.

If production needs to be ramped up later then you can use the same design files and send it to a facility in China or elsewhere that can produce it cheaper.

The beauty of 3D printers and other technologies like laser cutters and CNC machines is that it lowers the entry cost for product development, just as digital technology has lowered the cost of music production. That is a good thing. The Luddites won't like it but...thats why they are Luddites.
                              Last edited by Islandman; February 26, 2014, 02:23 PM.

Strictly speaking it is more of a product replicator than a printer, but eventually they won't cost much more than a printer costs today. That is the breakthrough.

I judge some high school robotics competitions where the youths them already making some of the parts with a 3-D printer.