Didn't we loose our Free Zone investment?

• Didn't we loose our Free Zone investment?

We borrowed money to build the duty free zones which we were told would provide employment. The Free zone companies did employ Jamaicans in the beginning but they have now brought in overseas workers. They also stole the deductions that they took from the workers pay. Is Jamaica making a profit from these free zones so that we can pay off the loans?

What is the plan to make money from goat island?

Is this 45 million a year alternative viable?
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/envir...year-_16081177

Plan to make money ?

Yuh nuh hear 10,000 Jobs ?

Basically 2 more Guardsman company !

Yaay !

Get further details from Don2...

we nuh bun out free zone long time???? Say a slavery and all kind a thing.

Them packup and leave.

we nuh bun out free zone long time???? Say a slavery and all kind a thing.

Them packup and leave.
        A project in 1982 was suppose cost US$13.5 million and create 4000 jobs.

Did we make a profit?
        Who is using the buildings?

http://www.worldbank.org/projects/P0...roject?lang=en

That is not the question. The question is why is it not operational today? Could we have done more to keep that industry??? Could we have taken over it over in time?

What has others such as Mexico, China, Haiti, Dominican Republic etc. done with their free zone?

"The ethic of hard work, they seem to have left behind with Slavery.."