Anti-Gang Bill Says ...

ahm.. yuh nuh si di battering JFJ get regarding the 'Corner Crews' ?

Yuh have serious issues...

so how does that exclude gordon house?

Which part of Gordon House is organized ?

The yapping.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

look like seh yuh nuh listen to a session yet..

cacophony..

Trust me its organised confusion what they call critical thinking.Some people here partake in.

Its a ridiculous law designed as escapisim,unemployment - poverty ,the root of crime is hidden under the theme of being hard on unemployed youths who have nothing else to do but hustle, not saying I condone it, but lets say all crime was eliminated today in Jamaica, what would they do with the unemployed,they still have to eat ,bathe and purchase goods for daily living.

14 - 16 % which I dispute 400- 450,000 people ...Joke ting brethren.

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/jama...mployment-rate

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You know Jamaican police???

Every 3 youths on a corner is a criminal. You lucky you grow up already.

Expand on Criminal activities for me. What do you call picking two a somebody else mango?

Plush,the three strikes law was intended to rid the street of certain type of criminals,it was a noble idea but in hindsight....
                  The good judge will only say my hands are tied.
                  This law is being proposed because of the great violence that has taken over Jamaica,was violence mentioned..?
                  Criminal is everyone found guilty in a criminal courthouse,you be surprised it doesn't take a lot to get a case there.
                  Last edited by Rockman; February 19, 2014, 07:22 PM.

I always wonder why everyone is arrested if the cops find an illegal gun on one person in a group(playing cards,talking to an old frienf),the criminal cases for the others are usually dismissed but nevertheless,only arrest deems you a member.A sweep also poses the same questions.
                    We are thinking about people that routinely hang out together,the proposed law goes beyond that.

Thanks Rockman. I look at it differently. Given the statistics of Gangs committing crime in Jamaica, we do need laws to address this. IT might not be perfect but and I'm pretty sure not everyone will agree with it becasue this never happens in any society....Tell me one law that hasn't been chnaged or amended over the years...If there is any, it's probably far a nd feew between. THis has been on the table for at least two years so I think enough time was given for debate....addressing the points you made.....I say, cut the small crimes...no mango tiefing ;-). But seriously, doesn't the law says.
                      1. arrested or charged more than once in the company of the members.....means that you ahve to be tiefing mango with the same person at least twice.
                      2. For material benefit....you must be tiefing a whole lot of Mangoes for material benefit.
                      3. Serious Offence - I don't think mango tiefing and the likes would be considered serious crime

300 gangs inna likkle jamaica?

Criminal organisation means any gang, group, alliance, network, combination, or other arrangement among three or more persons that:

Has as one of its purposes, the commission of one or more serious offences; and

(a) In relation to which the persons who are a part thereof or participate therein (individually, jointly or collectively) -

(i) Have engaged in unlawful activity in order to obtain, directly or indirectly, a financial or material benefit or to gain power or influence; or

(ii) Issue threats or engage in conduct to create fear or to intimidate or to exert power or influence in communities, or over other persons;

In determining whether a person is part of or a participant in a criminal organisation, the Court may take into account all factors that appear to it to be relevant, including:

(a) Whether the person has admitted that he is a part of or participant in the criminal organisation;

(b) Evidence that the person has been identified as associating or being involved with the criminal organisation or any of its participants;

(c) Evidence that the person has been charged or arrested for a criminal offence on more than one occasion in the company of a person or persons known to be a part of a criminal organisation;

(d) Evidence of criminal activity by the person that indicates a link or involvement with the criminal organisation;

(e) Evidence that the person knowingly assisted in or in any way facilitated the concealment, transportation or disposal of evidentiary material relating to unlawful activity engaged in by the criminal organisation.
                          Hmmm.. Finally a perfect description of the JLPNP