Anti-Gang Bill Says ...

• Anti-Gang Bill Says ...

Criminal organisation means any gang, group, alliance, network, combination, or other arrangement among three or more persons that:

Has as one of its purposes, the commission of one or more serious offences; and

(a) In relation to which the persons who are a part thereof or participate therein (individually, jointly or collectively) -

(i) Have engaged in unlawful activity in order to obtain, directly or indirectly, a financial or material benefit or to gain power or influence; or

(ii) Issue threats or engage in conduct to create fear or to intimidate or to exert power or influence in communities, or over other persons;

In determining whether a person is part of or a participant in a criminal organisation, the Court may take into account all factors that appear to it to be relevant, including:

(a) Whether the person has admitted that he is a part of or participant in the criminal organisation;

(b) Evidence that the person has been identified as associating or being involved with the criminal organisation or any of its participants;

(c) Evidence that the person has been charged or arrested for a criminal offence on more than one occasion in the company of a person or persons known to be a part of a criminal organisation;

(d) Evidence of criminal activity by the person that indicates a link or involvement with the criminal organisation;

(e) Evidence that the person knowingly assisted in or in any way facilitated the concealment, transportation or disposal of evidentiary material relating to unlawful activity engaged in by the criminal organisation.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Are You A Gangster? Anti-Gang Bill Passed In House
    Published: Wednesday | February 19, 2014 0 Comments
    Formerly Jamaica's most wanted, Joel Andem, being escorted by a policeman before his appearance at the Gun Court in downtown Kingston on June 17, 2004. - file
    Edmond Campbell, Senior Staff Reporter

THE POLITICAL divide in Gordon House yesterday coalesced as parliamentarians signalled their unanimous support for The Criminal Justice (Suppression of Criminal Organisations) Act 2014 (anti-gang bill), which the Government has crafted to dismantle criminal organisations.

Members of the House of Representatives passed the far-reaching piece of legislation with 22 amendments after a spirited debate.

In an impassioned plea to his colleagues and the country to rally behind the tough new statute, Attorney General Patrick Atkinson declared: "This society is tired of gangsters ... . It is not just any informal group of young persons; it is this criminal organisation."

He said the disruption andsuppression of criminal organisations is fundamental to solving the country's violence problem. "If we do not do it, we are lost as a people," he added.

The attorney general made it clear that the proposed law would not exist in isolation as it was subject to the supremacy of the Constitution and the supervision of the court.

Delroy Chuck, former justice minister, in his contribution to the debate, challenged his parliamentary colleagues to dispense with political capital in order to dismantle criminal gangs.

"In this Parliament, some of us, all of us, will have to be prepared to give up some political capital to dismantle some of these garrisons. I think that we are never going to fully break up the gangs until we agree, between us, both sides and all politicians, that we must free the minds of our members in our communities so that they respect how others exercise their vote."

He warned against the "fostering" of corner crews, noting that these are the same persons who "come back after the election to demand of us, and it is very difficult for us to say, 'Go about your business'".

While Chuck addressed his colleagues, some disagreed, saying, "Speak for yourself."

Chuck noted that even though the criminal gangs were not created by politicians, they thrived in political garrisons.

He urged the security forces not to go net-fishing when implementing this law, but to use intelligence to target criminal organisations.

Create greater opportunities for youth

West Kingston Member of Parliament Desmond McKenzie urged National Security Minister Peter Bunting, who piloted the legislation, to tackle the importation of drugs and guns, which, he said, helped to fuel gang activities in the country.

Both McKenzie and Dr Horace Chang want the administration to create greater opportunities for young people and to increase social programmes in the inner city.

Chang also urged the Government to quickly complete the justice reform programme.

"We have to find a way to ensure that justice can be attainable. It must not be perceived now, as it is in the inner city, that you have to have big money to find justice. We have to change that. If we do not change that, we will be coming here in three years' time to look at how we can toughen the law," he said.

In closing the debate, Bunting addressed detractors of the anti-gang law, saying that many changes had been made since the bill was first promulgated.

"This bill is not a panacea, but it is a significant step forward."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Not worth the paper its written on.Nothing new , just a double down of the same.

Where is the outcry from these human rights org , these laws are no different from the laws enacated in the 30s,40s,50s to take young men off the street they deemed unemployable i.e idle.

The state has declared war against the poorer class cc: Stuart Hall

So after this law is passed, how many people remain in Gordon house and not in Jail?

I believe that a lawyer on the site said it ,there are laws on the books that are selectively enforced ,what happen to the anti corruption bill that has been in parliament for decades? Bunting says not a panacea ,then says the militaristic system can't stop crime,does he know something that we don't know? Its a joke a feel good bill a placebo bill,there are laws on the books already this is madness.This will be selectively enforced like the rest our history has shown this,the town next to hell.

that is what I try to tell you about these laws on constitutions, that you are telling me about. It comes down to the people making it and the Jamaican people who accept it without even thinking and accepting it because they think the politicians have interest at HEART.

Very concern about this proposed law.
                It is all offences that are adequayely dealt with by the laws thst are being used to justify its inception,so there has to be hidden agendas.
                Stronger sentences and the ability to snarl people that would not otherwise be targeted for arrest.
                Are gangs registered?What constitutes being a gang member?

And I keep telling you much is given much is asked where are the human rights org the Stuart Halls we only win by educating the masses on what's at stake in holistic truth not piece meal show the social connections I.e laws ,politics, criminalization ,health care,education etc.

So I'm not one for popular opinion but I'm trying to understand the logic being discussed....are the masses against this bill? I don't know about you, but when I'm in Jamaica, I fear hanging out at a bar, playing dominoes on the corner, walking home late night...not because of the police or duppy (like in the old times) but because of these gangs and hoodlums. I'm sure we have group of people doing similiar things in peaceful areas and they are not being criminalized/arrested by the police because they are not committing crimes or attempting to. I say bring them on...We also need the DNA and plea bargain legislation. Crime in Jamaica is out of Control.
                    Offcourse Coruption and other White collar crimes need to be addressed but I would like tobe able to walk the streets freely again.
                    There is more opportunities in JAmaica now than 10 years ago yet people are more heartless and cry about system failure...Yes the system failed many but do you sit and wait for handouts or do you try to find a honest living.

I'm pretty sure many of you disagree with me and will probably bash all I'm saying but I'm not singing this ghetto crap when I've been there and know that you can make something out of life despite the worthless government....and you need crime to cut to have a chance not hindered by extortion, etc. Maybe the plea bargain legislation will help catching some of the politicians who are linked to crminal activities.

Patiently waiting on the conviction of Kern Spencer

Just seems riddled with ambiguity,which can lead to exploitation.
                      I believe it arms prosecutors to use it in cases it was never intended for.

you can't blame human rights organization when people not taking part and see the massive see them as uptown and irrelevant. Academia plays a bigger role.

The problem is this legislation make any three people a gang.

the forum could nearly be deemed a Posse based on such legislation.

We have legislator and we expect better from them, not to make law that doesn't reflect reality or that they can't uphold.

Exactly Sass riddled with ambiguity that will criminalse the poorer class who haven't the resources to fighty it,e.g John Brown says to fix a bicycle for him and I am a welder ,am i to be charged because its stolen ?

We already have laws on the books.
                            Last edited by Sir X; February 19, 2014, 12:35 PM.

Where is the ambiquity? Isn't most of what is said tied to criminal involvement....ISn't it defined as 3 or more people involved in a criminal activty....the word criminal stands out.....I do agree that we probably already have laws on the books to deal with this but I don't see the issue based on what I read