Jamaica...No problem!!
Me notice from de odda day sey dem love fi mention Jamaica in everything.
Trini internal issues dem still find a way fi mention Jamaica.
Merika doing a 180 pon weed and Jamaica a de first name mentioned inna de article.
If we neva did stress to begin with,we definitely will be when dem done wid we.Just how many communist countries are there?
I thought people there are living under terrible conditions.
Kiss teeth.
it was almost up there with the happiest .. . right now Jamaica is , the most confusing dilemma to pollsters as to whether it is amongst the most stressful or happiest places in the world.
Is bout 2 or 3 communist countries left in the world, IF you can even consider China and Vietnam communist.
Life was stagnant and unprogressive under communism, that is why it is all but dead today as a system of govt.
I wonder if the East Germans miss it, LOL!"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Figet bout the ideology of famous/infamous former stalwarts of now defunct Russia,if a country does not elect its leaders then for all intents and purposes....,how many of those...?Isn't the binding trait...?
What is OUR problem,and why Cuba does not have the same problems?
Our problem today is lack of leadership , discipline and misplaced priorities. When the rest of the world was growing we found a way to be stagnant, even with so many natural advantages. Go figure.
Can't speak to the specifics of all the reasons for Cuba's problems except for the obvious one of being in the backyard of the USA. What is clear is that they have not made much economic progress for decades either."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Look,I think it was in Michael Moore's capitalism someone said democracy can be two wolves and a sheep trying to decide what is for dinner.
It can be argue that lack of growth in an economy will result in a rise in crime,maybe our poor is distinctly different than the poor in Cuba,hence despite a stagnant economy,Cuba crime rate is strikingly low compared to ours.It is low compared to countries with far better economy too.
Same thing regarding drug usage.
If only the economy was better,yeah right.
Nuff place poorer than Jamaica have a lower crime rate than us. Poverty certainly creates the environment for Jamaicas crime problem but it is clear there is a lot more at work there, particularly with regards to violent crime. We have cultivated a culture of violence and are reaping the bitter fruit.
But this has nothing to do with the collapse of communism as a viable world economic system does it? The few relics left like Cuba will soon pass away as well.
Any system that prevents its citizens from traveling freely and accessing information about the world freely is not one I would want to be a part of."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
It hard to handle the truth sometimes. There some good things about Cuba no doubt, but the freedom most of us fight for everyday is nowhere there. A few people might have it but certainly not the majority and this vastly limit invention, productivity and growth, not to mention freedom of expression.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Communism has as much chance of being eradicated as opposition to ruling party;fundmental to democracy.
The head has been killed but the body actually lives on,it wasn't that crucial regarding survival.Besides,isn't trade sanctions as communist as it gets?
In light of the dwindling number of communist countries then capitalism is enjoying free reign,why is the world plagued by economic hardships?
For capitalism to be wholly embraced,it has to change by moving towards communism.
Corporations having the rights of citizens is really taking inherent rights from citizens.
The two wolves represent supreme wealth and the sheep is the countries thay merely exist to be exploited....
It raises the question,what(in actuality) capitalism means to YOU.
As I have told you many times and you refuse to believe, the world is in a much better place economically than it was when communism was at its zenith. Less wars , less scarce resources caused by ineffective distribution, less cases of mass starvation, higher standard of living to hundreds of millions. Extreme poverty, while still far too common , has been on the decline for much of the past 20 years.
It may well be that capitalism is not the system to eradicate all the wrongs in the world. I certainly have never suggested that is was and it is clear it has caused some wrongs as well. However I believe in the saying "Don't Let the Perfect Be the Enemy of the Good" .
I will work with the system that has produced some results and try to improve it until something superior comes along. Meanwhile unoo can gwan talk bout wolf and sheep and pine for the good ole days."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Look,can you imagine what the US would be without welfare?
We can't say countries that come to the aid of poor countries do so for altruistic purposes,they are gifted the right to exploit...,that is the unseen stipulation,and it is as capitalistic as it gets.Besides,China walked into NATO despite being guilty if human rights....,it today,is a significant contributor to be "betterment of poorer nations by aiding..,as it too is serving a self interest.
Look at what is happening in farming,did you get to familiarize yourself with Monsanto?
The wolf exists,you ignore the obvious at your own peril,it is another crucial factor to having an informed opinion about capitalism.
Always a pleasure Islandman,gwaan start my workd day now boss.
Originally posted by Islandman View PostNuff place poorer than Jamaica have a lower crime rate than us. Poverty certainly creates the environment for Jamaicas crime problem but it is clear there is a lot more at work there, particularly with regards to violent crime. We have cultivated a culture of violence and are reaping the bitter fruit.
But this has nothing to do with the collapse of communism as a viable world economic system does it? The few relics left like Cuba will soon pass away as well.
Any system that prevents its citizens from traveling freely and accessing information about the world freely is not one I would want to be a part of.
Are there, today, more opportunities for upward social mobility?
What was the crime-rate in those bygone eras?
Would love to get the facts...but there is one thing we know: In the not too distant pass we could move about freely without fear!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."