Re: Under-17 World Cup - Opportunity Lost

1. I never said it was a plan.

2. I clearly said that sometimes we indavertently say...do things that have unexpected/unplanned consequences.

3. I said Manley's utterances on "five filghts a day" was unfortunate.

4. Yet...for all that...that waking up of Jamaicans...more and more Jamaicans to possibilities outside of the island had...still have its benefits.

5. ...and, one of the unintended benefits is the not unsubstantial remittances.

...and, before you come with your nonsense - may I tell you the above is not verbatim. I did not do a seach of the site. There was no need to do a search of the site as the points I listed, and more...have been held by me for a very, very long time.

Do the site search? Pleeeeease!
    Benefit ? How is it a Benefit to under-utilize human resource ??

You do realize that the unfortunate utterances is a net NEGATIVE to Jamaica.. right ?

Man seh benefits.. heh, heh.. if is suh you comrades tink.. no wondah wi in such a predicament..

Re: Five Flights

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
      Very good analogy Mosiah...many here are either young or just choose to forget those days.

I bet many dont even remember that in October 1990 when the JLP won the next day if you stood along Hope Rd which I lived by at the time there was a parade of cars of WHITE JAMAICANS that went by holding up the V for victory and the JLP honking horns and celebrating. Oh and Mr Seaga gaurded by Trinity who was riding on the car bonet followed later.
      Yuh mekking up things or yuh losing it? 1990? hehehe.

Suh whats wrong with White Jamaicans being in the parade? Come on now Scaly, duh better than that. Dem nuh Jamaicans tuh? Isn't our motto, "Out of Many One People?" Suh whats the hang ups about White Jamaicans? Suh we moving this from economic to a race issue?

People can gwaan revise Manley's legacy. Thank God for those Manley years. Yes, as a BLACK man, a Garveyite, I am proud of those years that gave my people hope. Yes, we stand up inna line a supermarket and gas gone thru di roof, but we were proud BLACK PEOPLE. Give me that over 8% growth, and a black population that was reminded to know its place, told what books to read and where to live and go to school.

Chat bout!

Hmm another one of the Profound Posse...

Black people could not vote in the United States in the 60's.. where yuh live now ?

Stop... Trying.. To.. Be.. Profound...

All yuh end up with is 1 Trillion in Debt, 10% Total Growth in 14 years, 1800 murders a year and 25 BLACK citizens shot and left to rot in the streets and not even a sarry sah..

But what yuh seh.. wi can guh beach now ?

We need to pack up all di Profundists, pack them on a Shuttle and send them to the Moon...

Suh whats wrong with White Jamaicans being in the parade? Come on now Scaly, duh better than that. Dem nuh Jamaicans tuh? Isn't our motto, "Out of Many One People?" Suh whats the hang ups about White Jamaicans? Suh we moving this from economic to a race issue?
            Sorry 1980

People can gwaan revise Manley's legacy. Thank God for those Manley years. Yes, as a BLACK man, a Garveyite, I am proud of those years that gave my people hope. Yes, we stand up inna line a supermarket and gas gone thru di roof, but we were proud BLACK PEOPLE. Give me that over 8% growth, and a black population that was reminded to know its place, told what books to read and where to live and go to school.

Chat bout!
              You comrades tekking things to extreme now. Give me a means fi elevate my way out of poverty anyday.

I keep telling you Black people could not vote in merica in the 60's...

Today Cross Dressers are beaten in the Street..

What is your point ? Yuh cyaan guh beach suh yuh ago F()*& up di entire country ?

Black people have more hope for justice in American right now than Jamaica... so what you really saying ?

Either you cose to ignore the point or u stupid and I know u personally so I can't agree that it's the latter.

Read again I have no problem with white jamaicans or any other white people for that matter but during that time we like Rudi rightly said we were a minny Aparthied.

I know him personally too, yet...

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
                      Lazie forget economics for a second I am not talking bout that, yes that was not a success under Manley but we talking about the Social state of the country at the time.

You may be too young but back then every and I mean every industry was controlled by a 21 family member. Do think a DB&G could have exsisted then given the complextion of some of the partners ? Lazie economics is not the argument here so figet the stats we talking everyday social life for normal even middle class BLACK jamaicans.

I'll give you one example, their was/still is a school called Priory which at the time was private it was mostly white JAMAICAN WHITE with a few diplomatic kids and I can tell you factually most of the minority BLACK jamaican kids even though they were from upper middle class families too faced hell because of the society at the times.

I was in my late teens during the 70's and I can give u many stories.
                      SOME THINGS U JUST DONT FORGET !!!
                      Still don't get your point.. are you saying without Michael Manley we would not have DB&G today ??

How many business do Black people control in America ? Where yuh live again ??

It look like seh is a bunch of Mad people left over from the 70's a saboutage Jamaica.. nuh wondah wi cyaan reach nuh wheh.. if dem nuh run dem stay yah suh and mek sure wi f()* up good and proper.. meanwhile di '21 Families' easy like Sunday Morning ah buy Govt Bond and cock up dem foot.. suh di Brown man dem tek wheh Jamaica from di White man dem fi save di Black Man in the 70's.. 30 years later Black Man can guh beach but times still hard..

Thanks ??

.. but Scaly, you amaze me more than anybody else. Karl, Jawge, Balla and other diehards ... yes ... but mi expect MUCH better from you ... despite you being a comrade.

"Lazie forget economics for a second I am not talking bout that, yes that was not a success under Manley"

I must be dreaming or some hacker tek control a Scaly's account. If the economy wasn't a success, how dem ago pay fi social services? Mi quite certain Profit oopps Prophet Phinn wasn't having one on one with the Almighty.

"The '70s proved to be a terrible period. Jamaica was getting poorer by the minute.

The flight of capital, from the man who owned a rum bar to big business, was devastating, and the divisions in the society along political lines was rapidly destroying our beloved Jamaica," he recalls. "The crime and violence had escalated. Almost overnight the places where friends used to gather and drink were becoming out of bounds." (White Jamaican that provide mass employment).

I rather have a job, than siddung a wait pon handouts.

Ok Brown Man.. been by the American Embassy lately.. what complexion yuh si ?

Lazie, those "means" were hardly there! And if you even managed to pull yourself up by the bootstraps, then what?

Look at God-blessed USA, the amount of housing discrimination that goes on there is ridiculous! A lot of people with money could not live where they really wanted to live.

Y'know what, mi dun wid dis. Mi embarrassed fi know say people a really talk like this in 2007.

Who vote in the JLP ? White people ?

Don't let Rascism get in the way of common sense...

Lazie, those "means" were hardly there! And if you even managed to pull yourself up by the bootstraps, then what?

Look at God-blessed USA, the amount of housing discrimination that goes on there is ridiculous! A lot of people with money could not live where they really wanted to live.

Y'know what, mi dun wid dis. Mi embarrassed fi know say people a really talk like this in 2007.
                                Can you imagine how embarrassed I am that even with hind sight, unuh still a defend almshouse? How fi the love of God, the President of Singapore could use our model a benchmark yet today they have a GDP/Capita of U$28,077. We tek up Manleyism and today we just reach wha ..U$4,100. Know wha ... unuh should be embarrassed yes.