• Five Flights

Re: "Five flights"

Is that what I really said?

A half-truth is a damn lie!
    Well karreck mi den nuh.. when I criticized the 'Five FLights a Day' what was your come back ?

Agreement in my criticism or some Silver Lining Mumbo Jumbo ?

Your serve.. what yuh a guh come wid.. back spin or side spin.. ?

Re: Under-17 World Cup - Opportunity Lost

1. I never said it was a plan.

2. I clearly said that sometimes we indavertently say...do things that have unexpected/unplanned consequences.

3. I said Manley's utterances on "five filghts a day" was unfortunate.

4. Yet...for all that...that waking up of Jamaicans...more and more Jamaicans to possibilities outside of the island had...still have its benefits.

5. ...and, one of the unintended benefits is the not unsubstantial remittances.

...and, before you come with your nonsense - may I tell you the above is not verbatim. I did not do a seach of the site. There was no need to do a search of the site as the points I listed, and more...have been held by me for a very, very long time.

Do the site search? Pleeeeease!

Five Flights

Michael Manley's five filghts - Unfortunate utterance!

Re: Five Flights

Man a change dem tune now? Didn't you make some comical comment a while in an attempt to justify that statement? I guess better late than never.

Check the posts and the time of each?

The above was a "heading and body" created to facilitate the moving of the posts to its more relevant forum.

Inserting that new sub-thread was a 'hi-jack' of the original post on the U-17s.

These two threads - the original "Five Flights" and your response could now be removed. Anyway - let them remain.

...and, as you can see - No Tune Changed!

Move it if you want. Didn't see the other thread as I clicked in from the forum main page.

What the hell is wrong with you people ? when Manley said that do you people even remeber the colonialist sate Jamaica was in ? Lazie and Maudib how old are you guys ?

You forget that the 21 families who controled 90% of Jamaica's wealth were consistently high-jacking and threating the country ?

In case you all arn't aware in those days after many a meeting with the minister of finance about how to get the country going forward the elite cliques would then have their own meetings about how to sabatage the country.

When Manley said that his audience was not the common man because most of them never even had visas much less could afford to travel, he was to talking to the plantocracy (which still exsist btw) who were adamant on keeping the wealth and power for them selfs.

I think most of the people here are way too young to remember how f-ed up jamaica was for BLACK people before Manley.

Who here even remembers or even knows that there were several beaches black Jamaicans could not go to ? including the very famous Buccaneer beach which at the time was the nearest beach to kingston.

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
                What the hell is wrong with you people ? when Manley said that do you people even remeber the colonialist sate Jamaica was in ? Lazie and Maudib how old are you guys ?

You forget that the 21 families who controled 90% of Jamaica's wealth were consistently high-jacking and threating the country ?

In case you all arn't aware in those days after many a meeting with the minister of finance about how to get the country going forward the elite cliques would then have their own meetings about how to sabatage the country.

When Manley said that his audience was not the common man because most of them never even had visas much less could afford to travel, he was to talking to the plantocracy (which still exsist btw) who were adamant on keeping the wealth and power for them selfs.

I think most of the people here are way too young to remember how f-ed up jamaica was for BLACK people before Manley.

Who here even remembers or even knows that there were several beaches black Jamaicans could not go to ? including the very famous Buccaneer beach which at the time was the nearest beach to kingston.
                dem a spring chicken!

When I mentioned that matter of not being able to visit some places in Jamaica they found it funny!

We used to have a saying when I was a schoolboy - Dem nuh readi!

I think most of the people here are way too young to remember how f-ed up jamaica was for BLACK people before Manley

Yuh actually post that with a straight face Scaly? I don't know where you get your info from, but under Manley's Monsterous Era, our GDP declined 25%, he drove out those with the capitall, unemployment increased and according to the US Congress Library, there were 8 years of negative growth. So how you come up with the myth of "how f-ed up jamaica was for BLACK people before Manley"

Come again Comrade! Karl, Jawge and the other jokers may fall fi that. People that pay attention to the stats see yuh post as an audition for Saturday Night Live.

I think most of the people here are way too young to remember how f-ed up jamaica was for BLACK people before Manley

Yuh actually post that with a straight face Scaly? I don't know where you get your info from, but under Manley's Monsterous Era, our GDP declined 25%, he drove out those with the capitall, unemployment increased and according to the US Congress Library, there were 8 years of negative growth. So how you come up with the myth of "how f-ed up jamaica was for BLACK people before Manley"

Come again Comrade! Karl, Jawge and the other jokers may fall fi that. People that pay attention to the stats see yuh post as an audition for Saturday Night Live.
                    Lazie forget economics for a second I am not talking bout that, yes that was not a success under Manley but we talking about the Social state of the country at the time.

You may be too young but back then every and I mean every industry was controlled by a 21 family member. Do think a DB&G could have exsisted then given the complextion of some of the partners ? Lazie economics is not the argument here so figet the stats we talking everyday social life for normal even middle class BLACK jamaicans.

I'll give you one example, their was/still is a school called Priory which at the time was private it was mostly white JAMAICAN WHITE with a few diplomatic kids and I can tell you factually most of the minority BLACK jamaican kids even though they were from upper middle class families too faced hell because of the society at the times.

I was in my late teens during the 70's and I can give u many stories.
                    SOME THINGS U JUST DONT FORGET !!!

I wonder what South Africans feel about their country today. Apartheid is gone but for many, they still live in relative poverty. Free, but poor, instead of shackled and poor. Hmmm, decisions, decisions!

Like I said, give me Jamaica any day to racist Barbados and Cayman!

I wonder what South Africans feel about their country today. Apartheid is gone but for many, they still live in relative poverty. Free, but poor, instead of shackled and poor. Hmmm, decisions, decisions!

Like I said, give me Jamaica any day to racist Barbados and Cayman!
                        Very good analogy Mosiah...many here are either young or just choose to forget those days.

I bet many dont even remember that in October 1990 when the JLP won the next day if you stood along Hope Rd which I lived by at the time there was a parade of cars of WHITE JAMAICANS that went by holding up the V for victory and the JLP honking horns and celebrating. Oh and Mr Seaga gaurded by Trinity who was riding on the car bonet followed later.

Re: Under-17 World Cup - Opportunity Lost

Well karreck mi den nuh.. when I criticized the 'Five FLights a Day' what was your come back ?

Agreement in my criticism or some Silver Lining Mumbo Jumbo ?

Your serve.. what yuh a guh come wid.. back spin or side spin.. ?
                          There was nothing wrong with the five flights a day comment I repeat nothing. Jamaica was being run as a little aparthied lite plantation. The hatred of Manley from certain sections was because certain people thought that because he was of a certain complexion he would have defended their interest. What happened in the seventies was a result of the reactionary and backward thinking of the so-called ruling class at the time. Manley was no big radical. The fact is now most black Jamaicans take for granted the reforms that Manley instituted assuming it was always like that. Not even the people who ran away in the seventies would publicly admit to what they use to do before Manley. The Jamaica that Manley dealt with most black Jamaicans have no clue about and when the JLP talk about going back they are very careful about omitting certain things. Whether you know it or not Manley actually saved the Jamaican so-called elite. Black Jamaicans have never been taught their history.

Scaly, yuh start sound like Portia now bredren. First thing, emhasizing white Jamaicans and black Jamaicans nuh move me. That will work on Mosiah, Jawge and the rest.

It all come down to economics boss. If the economy is in a decline, jobs will be on the decline .. unemployment will be on the rise etc ... how the hell people black, white or pink gonna improve their lives? I guess thats why to this day people still looking for handouts. God Bless Joshua. Who was PM before Manley became PM? Wasn't it a black man? Or unuh think PJ was the first black PM?

Nobody is saying things were perfect, no one will ever get it perfect, but Manley's 5 flight a day was as Karl say now ... unfortunate. And, not only did he say it, his policies (if we can call it that) back up his utterances.

I may have been too young, but the same means we all use to know that the slave trade existed, is the same means I use to know that Manley's rule between 72 and 80 was a disaster.

Talk it Scaly!!!

If only I was in a position to buy up dem big house dat was being sold at fire-bun prices. Dag!