• Mo a nuh me say suh.....JFJ corna crews

Who are corner crews?
    Friday, February 14, 2014

Print this page Email A Friend!

Dear Sir,

I usually support most of the initiatives and campaigns of Jamaicans for Justice (JFJ). I believe the protection of human rights is a necessary spoke in the wheel of democracy.

However, I must say that I am surprised and bewildered by JFJ's continued defence of so-called corner crews who, if we are to believe JFJ, are benign knights armed with guns to protect their troubled communities. Further, they are not otherwise involved in nefarious activity as a group. I find JFJ's position naïve, objectionable and laughable at the same time.

Firstly, young men armed with guns commit crimes against ordinary citizens.I do not for one minute believe their guns are silent when not being used to allegedly protect their troubled communities. These armed young men are not angels who use guns only defend their communities. The point of having a gun is to commit crime, not to "protect one's community". I do not believe anyone who has faced the business end of a gun would subscribe to a view that we should allow certain young men who have illegal weapons to associate, trusting that they will only use them to "protect their communities" and not be engaged in criminal activity.

Secondly, I am not prepared to live in a society where we tolerate any group of illegally armed young men usurping the function of the police. If they act in a group to so-called protect their communities, it begs the obvious questions: What do they do with their guns when not on patrol? On whose behalf are they really acting? Who authorised them to carry out the functions of law and order?

Thirdly, if young men in the community wish to respond to a threat to their community from "outside forces", the appropriate response from JFJ in the civilised society is to try to promote them to go to the police and name names. That we should instead seek to condone their "resort" to illegal arms and exempt them from the law of the land is pure craziness. I honestly believe JFJ's position — on the grounds of freedom of association — is totally misguided. There is no right to bear arms under the Jamaican constitution, nor is there a right to associate as an armed group.

Annette Johnson

annejalaw@flowja.com

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Would be interesting to hear your own views on this though.

Firstly, I am for a gun-free society. But what is the reality? Is that something that can be realized today? Tomorrow?

I wonder if Annette has ever been to these communities? Does she even have a friend who lives there?

I know some corner crews and I have never seen a gun. I have asked on a few occasions if anyone owns a gun. I get this "duh" chuckle. Guns are not what they are about. But I guess, because I don't know, there are times when they have to defend themselves. I disagree strongly with her "The point of having a gun is to commit crime, not to "protect one's community"".

Still I find it a bit weird for the JFJ to support this, even if it makes sense "on the ground". The goal should be the removal of all guns from every nook and cranny of Jamaica. But do we do that and still have a police force that is as corrupt as it is? In the meantime, do we encourage corner crews?

I don't know the answer.

Sounds like one of those Orange county jurers that found the Police not guilty in the first Trial for the Rodney King beating...

The lady is right ,how can you justify youths arming themselves in a civilised society,its like justyfying extrajudicial killings in a civil society,and here lies the JFJ problem ? Hypocrysy !

Jamaicas criminal problem can be dealt with by a progressive approach and it doesnt mean militarising our tactics,that has been done from the late 70s to present with utter failure,so 1st lets admit that has failed,then lets look at the laws as Mr Gardener suggested that has failed,2nd we know that poverty and crime has a proven correlated link.We have ganja laws on our books that do 2 things,criminalise and leave youths unemployable which in essence means a poverty policy,criminalisation policy,garrisonisation policy.

The end result is a perpetual cycle where it puts youths in these garrison communities at war with the police,no trust ! and vice versa the police force is at war with these communities in its criminalisation - garrisonisation policies.

In order to build trust and respect between community and police force what is the obvious solution if the objective is to build trust ?...Granted they will be unemployable because our government hasnt a clue on how to create jobs,but at least the criminalisation and mistrust has been reduced by implementing the obvious progressive policy and people in the community will see the police more so as saviors ,whom they are willing to give information freely to fight crime,or we can continue with the failed colonial policy and blame everything but the truth and deal with the consequences of extrajudicial killings.

Now that is progressive.
        Last edited by Sir X; February 15, 2014, 05:34 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What is the JFJ's position on Corner Crews.. lets start there and then see where you went wrong...

If Mo and the Lady is wrong enlighten them, at the same time the board.

What is the difference between 'Corner Youths' in Jamaica and 'Corner Youths' in America ?

Next !

I'll just say this - you are hardly in a position to call the JFJ hypocrites or anything else! You could live 100 lifetimes and never accomplish one thing of worth as the JFJ has.

Hypocrytes ! ...you dont find this ambiguous ?.... I disagree strongly with her "The point of having a gun is to commit crime, not to "protect one's community"".

You can vouch that their kind of protecting the community is done in the interest of the community or their interest ?

Still I find it a bit weird for the JFJ to support this, even if it makes sense "on the ground". ......weird ? yuh mean stupid ! again see the term ambiguous !

So these corna youths can be vouched for but the police are corrupt ?...aah boy....look we have a criminal problem we need progressive ideas ,that isnt one of them.In the paper I posted 90 % of the stand alone drug arrest were for ganja,which means 90 % of them are criminalised ,50 % of individuals criminalised have a 50 % recidivism rate, 38 % of youths who are unemployed turn to some form of crime....we have a criminalisation police policy that cant work.

Whats the obvious solution ? .....Corna youths !

http://sbaer.uca.edu/research/ICSB/2013/65.pdf

Run yes...