• Stuart Hall An Academic Colossus Published:

Stuart Hall An Academic Colossus
    Published: Friday | February 14, 2014 0 Comments
    THE EDITOR, Sir:

With the passing of Stuart Hall, the world has lost one of its most creative and progressive thinkers. Stuart Hall took the field of cultural studies forward with a series of key interventions over the decades which almost always led to a massive and welcome shift in direction for the discipline, and what began in a provincial British university soon spread throughout the world, mostly because of his writings.

Never dogmatic, always writing with a human warmth and humour, Stuart Hall's anti-elitism shone through in his accessible and engaging prose style designed for the general reader, which cannot be said of most progressive academics.

I write from Durban, South Africa, on a university campus that Stuart Hall once visited, in a department called Media and Cultural Studies, where the memory of this remarkable Jamaican will continue in his writings, which no student of cultural studies could be without.

He helped us to enrich our humanity, and he also showed us by the example of his life that to do so placed you outside of the seductive world of the powerful.

JEAN-PHILIPPE WADE

(Prof)

University of KwaZulu-Natal

wade@ukzn.ac.za

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

UWI, JC Cherish Hall
    THE EDITOR, Sir:

'Rediscovering Stuart Hall' (Gleaner editorial, February 12, 2014), which pays appropriate tribute to one of the most important public intellectuals of the post-War era. I must, however, correct an error in your final paragraph, where you suggest that he had neither public nor official embrace in Jamaica.

If official refers specifically to the Government of Jamaica, you might be correct, but you should note that the University of the West Indies awarded him an honorary doctorate as part of its 1998 fiftieth anniversary celebrations.

Also, in 2004, the Centre for Caribbean Thought here at Mona hosted a memorable conference in his honour, titled 'Culture, Politics, Race and Diaspora: the Thought of Stuart Hall'. Despite even then being quite ill, Stuart attended every session and gave a rousing concluding speech later published as the epilogue of the conference volume, Through the Prism of an Intellectual Life.

The book, bearing the same title as the conference and edited by me, was published jointly by Ian Randle Publishers and Lawrence and Wishart in 2007. I should add that as part of the tribute to Hall at the end of the conference, a gift and scroll were presented from Jamaica College and delivered by another respected old student, the late historian, novelist and educator, Jimmy Carnegie.

BRIAN MEEKS (Prof)

brian.meeks@uwimona.edu.jm

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The Marcus Garvey of Cultural Studies.

UWI, JC Cherish Hall
        THE EDITOR, Sir:

'Rediscovering Stuart Hall' (Gleaner editorial, February 12, 2014), which pays appropriate tribute to one of the most important public intellectuals of the post-War era. I must, however, correct an error in your final paragraph, where you suggest that he had neither public nor official embrace in Jamaica.

If official refers specifically to the Government of Jamaica, you might be correct, but you should note that the University of the West Indies awarded him an honorary doctorate as part of its 1998 fiftieth anniversary celebrations.

Also, in 2004, the Centre for Caribbean Thought here at Mona hosted a memorable conference in his honour, titled 'Culture, Politics, Race and Diaspora: the Thought of Stuart Hall'. Despite even then being quite ill, Stuart attended every session and gave a rousing concluding speech later published as the epilogue of the conference volume, Through the Prism of an Intellectual Life.

The book, bearing the same title as the conference and edited by me, was published jointly by Ian Randle Publishers and Lawrence and Wishart in 2007. I should add that as part of the tribute to Hall at the end of the conference, a gift and scroll were presented from Jamaica College and delivered by another respected old student, the late historian, novelist and educator, Jimmy Carnegie.

BRIAN MEEKS (Prof)

brian.meeks@uwimona.edu.jm
        Miggle Passage 101

But certain guy cyaan ovastan dem level ah consciousness ....yuhzimi?