• Babylon Studying Jamaicas Ganja market

This paper estimates that in 2011 enforcement costs (marijuana arrests,
    prosecutions and incarceration expenses) in Jamaica were approximately J$12.2 billion in government expenditure; between J$473 million - J$665 million annually could be earned if marijuana was taxed like normal goods and between J$1.5 billion – J$2.3 billion if marijuana was taxed at rates similar to those on cigarettes and alcohol. An additional US$14 billion could be earned if companies were allowed to export marijuana and then were taxed.

http://sbaer.uca.edu/research/ICSB/2013/65.pdf

University of Alabama,Down to Graphs and %.

Man say im nuh inna nuh science ,Wi nuh normnal ? Criminalise....Projected US 14 Billion annually ? and man say wi fi stay deh criminalise because im see what it can duh ?...Wouldn't that make us free from the IMF ?
    Last edited by Sir X; February 10, 2014, 04:58 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How much more study Jamaicans aguh study , dem nuh inna science ,suh hopefully dem inna money.

http://sbaer.uca.edu/research/ICSB/2013/65.pdf

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Forget the science and obeah the tit for tat the schizophrenia,those numbers are mind boggling,expenditures,savings and of course revenue, and we get 10 million a year for our war on drugs and lose out on billions,my god.Thank the lord for google.

I said it years ago,they plan to legalise it corner the market and sell it back to us,our biggest fight is amongst ourselves,if we cant be progressive enough to at least try for ourselves before its too late.The chinese and IMF will own us ,not just the ports but our ganja.

They have studied us! I doubt the GOJ has done such a study.

You gotta ask yourself why are they studying us from 2010 to make future determinations,4 years before this legalisation rush ?

Man, you are really obsessed with this subject.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Shouldnt we all be considering the situation and numbers involved ?

Seriously asking.

A keep tellin' him that he must position himself to benefit financially when tings buss in Jamaica. That cheer-leading in not enough!!

Jamaica scares me to invest in ,that green rush will be for locals and those willing to remit money back home to try a thing on idle land ,in that wild west.Big men will corner the tourist market in their all inclusives.The versatility of the market will see hemp more than ganja being produced.Two markets will drive the ganja economy.industrial (export) and tourist.

Farmers that have land will usher in a new middle class .My greatest joy will be the decriminalisation of our people and money pumped back into social service,healthcare,education.

We need to own our culture,claim it not be ashamed of it,Sass,Pryce and Myself have given humanistic stories of ganja from a Grandmothers perspective.Maybe thats how we need to sell it to break down the stygma.

Deal with the science of ganja,our science and not propoganda to have us like beggars worse yet fools.Economic science ,Medical science and Social science.

My deep interest in it is personal ,I have seen like historian evils associated with ganja and as a clinician ,esp when its close to home and family you have to look if its justified.I have to speak from a point of truth.I could easily blame ganja and escape with NIDA propoganda but too much litreature and elder clinician in the field pushed me and gave me unbiased perspectives ,which I accept as truth.

You cant hide it, I will forever say it,its the greatest human rights issue post slavery and we are numb to it.The paper above proves this,what we are doing is economic suicide -garrisionisation-human depravity in our criminalisation policy.

Speak up,speak truth.

It is Amazing!

I thought I was the only one who realized this! What X hopes to accomplish is beyond me! He is a good person, I am sure, but he keeps forgetting that we do not make or influence policies in Jamaica.

Wow...me having a love affair with preaching about Jamaicas colonial schizophrenia with ganja is a highlight on the forum,why not some of us who like certain music,politrcks or sports .Like i said i am on vacation ,xpect more ,all ganja articles have been forwarded to my associates in Jamaica to continue the push.....BTW no mention of my love affair with SKA and Socialist Latin America ?

The research and postings continues.

Like i said i am on vacation ,xpect more ,all ganja articles have been forwarded to my associates in Jamaica to continue the push.
                      Are you on vacation or out of work? I is not like this thing started over the past two or three weeks.

Not that I have a problem with the postings. I read some and overlook many. I wonder if you are really reading all you post on here?

Anyway, don't let me stop you bass.

BTW, you occasionally post on Ska. You post numerous posts everyday on ganga.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Its the political thing now ,since the legalisation thing start rolling ,i feel it is my duty to keep the massive up to date , even when I am at work,i studiously google sites to find the latest news to see the impact or correlation with Jamaica.

If I had time I would love to do a case study on ganja arrest resulting in police brutality in Jamaica.I made some calls and guess what ,Jamaica has no statistical data to support such.

A paper could be written on the correlation between ganja laws and the deprivation of citizens rights /police brutality/garrisonisation.The above article basically supports it .

The numbness affects us subconsciously as a nation,I was on the phone talking with a human rights org in Jamaica trying to explore the link.I thought I was talking to historian,they could not make the profiling ,garrisonisation,police brutality link...in his own words...its against the law.

YES GANJA IS MY THING.

This is not an issue I've previously commented about here but.... X I think you may be mistaken on the probable economics of legalization of the ganja business

When herb is commoditized the real value will not be found in clearing bush and planting seedlings...then reaping vegetable matter. Since it's relatively simple to grow and can thrive on marginal land.... the barriers to market entry in the herb business will be very low (assuming govt regulation is not onerous).
                            With easy market access comes low prices...and a need for economies of scale.... just like any other agricultural product.
                            Other countries will have a comparative advantage over Jamaica in scaling output and compressing production costs... so success is not automatic because Jamaica is "special" to the potheads

The real winners will be those who can apply science to create innovative new products from herb that people find attractive...and can protect their inventions in the legal marketplace. Then those value-added products would need to be produced efficiently and in economic quantities with assurance of supply to the distribution chain.
                            Along with that will be the marketing heft required to create, grow and sustain premium product branding in what will quickly become a competitive market....

It will be very few out of Jamaica who can do this... and if Jamaican labs (not fields ) can't produce high potency "designer" varieties of weed with high productivity output at relatively low prices... it may well have to be imported for it to be economically viable at all

It is the illegality which creates both high risk and high prices.... take away the illegality and it's just another commodity subject to market forces.... like sugar for example.

When last mi check...ah some man outa Shanghai control dat
                            Last edited by Don1; February 10, 2014, 10:24 PM.

Don the low prices in the article was addressed by increase taxes on production or ganja to keep up value,increases in tax would pass that value onto consumers ,agreed where the value will come from ,industrialisation!

Hard pressed seeing us import ganja,that would be saying we import sugar cane even though our industry has been wanting for years.

The greatest benefit in my eyes is decriminalisation,everything else is secondary.

Kudos to those who will be millionares out of it , same to those who have freedom.