• Senator Reid to Riders: Don't leave home without your Saddle

Restrict The Number Of Children Jamaicans Can Have, Says Opposition Senator

Published: Friday February 7, 2014 |

Ruel Reid – File
    Jovan Johnson, Gleaner Writer

KINGSTON, Jamaica:
    Opposition Senator Ruel Reid has renewed calls for Jamaica to pursue a mandatory policy restricting the number of children a man or woman can have.

He argues that approximately 50 per cent of the country’s children are depending on State benefits through the Programme of Advancement Through Health and Education (PATH).

He says this suggests that parents are having children they cannot afford to maintain.

PATH is the safety net programme that is funded by the Government and the World Bank which delivers benefits by way of cash grants to the most needy and vulnerable in the society.

Senator Reid says PATH is not the solution and Jamaica could pursue a policy similar to that being used by China to partly solve socio-economic problems.

Persons who benefit from PATH include, children from birth to completion of secondary school, some elderly, persons with disabilities, pregnant and lactating women, and poor adults.

Meanwhile, the Jamaica College principal says there is need for a cultural adjustment to address societal problems such as crime.

He has called for greater emphasis on values and attitudes programmes to help in addressing the dysfunctional aspects of the society.

According to Reid, behaviours will not change unless values change.

Man ah tek wi back tuh di 'dreaded' 80's !

At least provide some serious incentives and dis-incentives to encourage some sensible family planning.

I kinda remember in the 70s some campaign where we were taught that 2 is better than 2 many. That along with the eat what you grow, grow what you eat campaign - have we progressed any?!?

80's?!? I remember that as a 70s ting. Is Seaga yuh waan big up again?!?!

mi nuh owl like yuh...