Did you know that Rita Marley is Cuban-Jamaican?

• Did you know that Rita Marley is Cuban-Jamaican?

Rita, according to Wikipedia, was born in Cuba.

Alpharita Constantia "Rita" Marley*(née*Anderson; born 25 July 1946), is a Cuban-Jamaican singer and the widow of*Bob Marley.
    Not correct to describe her as Cuban-Jamaican in my view.

I understand she is not in the best of health. Does anyone have the facts?

I thought you knew that, cho man..Where is x?

You mean she's Cuban?

heard she was born in cuba

I didn't.

yep a lot of Cubans came to Jamaica in that era.

Thought it was the other way around?!?!

Only ninety miles away, probably many people here have some Cuban connection and have no clue. Alberto Juantareno (not sure bout that spelling) the most famous Cuban track man had two Jamaican grandparents.

https://www.canninghouse.org/media-c...-latin-america

That's my understanding too.

My great grandfather used to go to Cuba to work on the sugar cane plantations quite a few times. Given his record in Jamaica of more than a dozen children ( only about half with his wife) I am certain he left his mark in Cuba as well.

I have family who were born in Cuba to migrant workers from Jam. In fact a few years ago, my cousin travelled to Cuba and discovered that we still have some relatives, who were born and still reside there.

Mix-up bad. Not to menton Panama.........

I have some family members(not immediate) who came from Cuba. As a kid I can remember one of the older ladies who didn't speak much English. The kids about don't have a lot of knowledge about Cuba but some where born there but grew up in Ja.

One or two instances of this happening...yuh know what, I'm jumping off this train while I can.

It is not just one family that I know but a few others as sometimes people with the same heritage may meet and talk to each other about their families.

You mean she's Cuban?
                              Yep. She was born in Santiago de Cuba. Bob Marley's mother is actually from Haiti(so said my reliable source)