• 'Hero' Marley would have prevented Pinnacle stand-off

'Hero' Marley would have prevented Pinnacle stand-off

Basil Walters*
    Monday, February 03, 2014

THE current stand-off between members of the Rastafarian faith and private developers over Pinnacle in St Catherine would not exist had reggae legend Bob Marley been declared a national hero.

That view was put forward last Thursday by motivational speaker Kevin Wallen as he addressed a sensitisation rally at Mandela Park in Half-Way-Tree to heighten public awareness about Pinnacle, said to be the first home of Rastafari.

More: http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...d-off_15937588

What were the reasons over the years why some of us didn't want Bob to be our 8th national hero?

Some, like my dear mother, thought his womanizing was a bad example for youngsters. Others felt di dutty dreadlocks bwoy should not appear any where close to the likes of Norman Manley and Bustamante. And of course, many thought his use of ganja was wrong and illegal.

Well, Bob can never "correct"the gyallis claims and he will always be the dutty Rasta bwoy, at least for the foreseeable future. The weed-smoking thing will no longer be relevant soon.

Mi tiyad fi bawl fi it - hero status for Bob Marley!

If Peter Phillips can be declared a national hero...what? Peter is not really a national hero?! Since when?

All ridiculous reasons not to ,some of the founding fathers of this great nation smoked and harvested ganja ,while owning slaves.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The womanizing and the ganja are just convenient screens to hide behind the real reason(s).

It will happen in time though. There was a time when the thought of Marcus Garvey being recognized as a great Jamaican hero would have been ridiculed.

It is with profound regret that we view the arrival of Marcus Garvey back in Jamaica. He is a man for whom the island as a whole, or the more intelligent section of it, has no use.
          - Jamaica Gleaner Editorial, 1927

Thanks for this, Islandman!

I can bet that the more intelligent section of the island kinda looked like Winfried Shafer.

Maybe Howell should also be given status. Don't get me started!

But muss, which dark skin man coulda have nuh sense?

You remember this NW Manley-Garvey exchange at the KSAC? This is a classic piece of Jamaican history.

If a man like Manley, who was one of the more progressive thinkers in his class of society, had this kind of contempt for Garvey, imagine what the others thought of him?

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2.../letters3.html

Manley: Mr Chairman, I attended here at your request because of the difficulties the Corporation has been in, but I am not going to remain here to listen to Councillor Garvey making his offensive remarks. He knows nothing about law.

Garvey: I know as much as you about this matter.

Manley: I have not been invited here to listen to any impertinence from Mr Garvey

Garvey: Neither from you, too.

Manley: I have given my opinion and he has not the decency and intelligence ... .

Garvey: You are most irresponsible.

Manley: And you are a positive disgrace.

Garvey: Look here, Manley, I don't care about you. You fellows seem to assume some right that is not justifiable.

When the chairman intervened, Garvey continued heatedly:

... How dare him call me impertinent, Sir, when I have only exercised my right to say what I understand about the matter. You must be one of the socially drunk people who think that.

Manley: Look here, you are a loud-voiced person and I am not going to answer you in any way. If you insist on being rude and impertinent ... .

Garvey: You are not physically well enough to be loud-voiced.

Manley, visibly upset: Do you really think so? Then step outside.

Garvey: I would be sorry for what would happen to you.

Look like a true wha Assasin (the DJ) did say:

We a bad from, way before Kendal crash,
                Before di train station lock
                We a bad from, before dem build Halfway tree clock,
                From Hero Circle was racetrack

This colonial schizophrenia ,has to be examined and taught as per its psychological impact on our society.I am convinced its why we cant do progressive and common sense projects,why we have this beg and borrow mentality,why we choose to criminalise-garrisonise via ganja politics in our parochial sense,and then sleep well at nights that we arent doing the masters bidding but our own in civility.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Garvey a bad man. WHAT?!

That exchange is part for the course up to this day. Some people from that intelligent section just could not deal with black people speaking toe to toe with them. Garvey dud not see himself as anybody's bwoy, to be dressed down by the erudite barrister.

I can only imagine how Garvey woulda did done him, had they stepped outside.

I wonder if unnu see how mi get mi name?

Mosiah

But remember NW Manley was a former soldier and athlete (including boxing) while Garvey look to me like him was more of a short, big belly man , so maybe Garvey was showing some advanced intelligence when he decided not to step outside! Better him defend himself intellectually where he was at least his equal! LOL!

I posit that we examine and teach Critical Thinking..

We have had our fill of quixotic 'rebels'... wi nuh short ah dat..

Manley was intellectually brilliant...but Garvey was at least his equal in intellect but far superior in his global vision

No contest really... Marcus inna strait knockout...bout round Chree

But remember NW Manley was a former soldier and athlete (including boxing) while Garvey look to me like him was more of a short, big belly man...
                            Hey, hey, HEY, Iman! Watch your mouth, young man! Why di personal attack!? Mind mi haffi leggo mi Gaza yute dem pon yuh. Long time wi nuh mince up sumpten eno!

yep wi affi limit di Quixotic Rebels fi choo...dem an di International Criminal Garrison Builders & Nurturers

LKY nuh rate none ah dem mi ear