Another Australian view on the foundation of our Music

• Another Australian view on the foundation of our Music

Q: There is no question about Jamaica being a 'Treasure Island' musically speaking, the amount of music released is vast.

A: Well, this was of course catering for probably... a little bit of history that people don't know, Christopher Blackwell. Chris was involved through his mother's friendship with Ian Flemming, Chris Blackwell was involved in 'Dr No', the movie when it was shot in Jamaica. And when it finished and he went to England, y'know, because he made some money on the film and everything (chuckles)... and Chris went over there, and in the meantime of course Island Records was basically a Jamaican company, making Jamaican records for the Jamaican market. When he went to England he found all the Island records that he produced, and he was at that time probably the foremost producer, there was some production going on with Smith Hi-Lite, Duke Reid, Coxson, but it hadn't really developed. But Chris Blackwell found all his records being pirated for the Jamaican emigrates to England in the mid-sixties, which was vast. And so Chris, being Chris Blackwell, said: "This can't go on, I'm making records and they're making five-six-seven-ten times more money pirating my records in England". So this is why we opened up Island Records in the UK. And Leslie Kong and I were partners in Island Records, and our job was to send material to Chris Blackwell, so there's one way to stop the pirating of course and that is to release it legally and officially (chuckles). So that's how the massive surge of Jamaican music went to England.

Q: But your own background, you were born and grew up in Australia basically.

A: Yes, I'm from Australia. I started in broadcasting, AM radio, the only thing going in those days.

Q: You used to install radio antennas... or was that in Jamaica, not in Australia?

A: That was in Jamaica. (Chuckles) Well, the antennae was only a part of it. When I left Australia for England to study television...
    Queen Elizabeth II visiting Australia, 1954.
    (Photo: National Museum of Australia)
    Q: When was that?

A: That was 1954. I was involved and did all the outside broadcast for the Royal visit, the Queen's visit to Victoria where I lived, the state, and at the end of that... because I got a nice letter from Buckingham Palace thanking me for all my work. And of course we didn't know, we thought well, I would go to England and get a Knighthood (laughs)! We didn't know that, of course, they produced these letters in the thousands. But I went over to study in television basically and to support myself while I was there. So with my musical background in Australia - 'cause we did a lot of remote musical broadcasts,..... y'know, in those days it was in America and Canada and Australia....., it was a lot of 'live' music broadcasting from remote. So with my music background I fitted into that, and apart from the fact that it was a hard job and the senior engineers didn't want to do it, so they gave it over to we younger people. And so I went to the UK and while I was there I had to support myself. I started working for a Universal Program Corporation, IBC which was in Portland Place, London just around the corner from the BBC. We were doing broadcasts for Radio Luxembourg basically, the shows were 'Shilling a Second', 'Strike it Rich' and 'People are Funny', these live shows for which we toured all over the UK. Of course, in those days commercial radio engineers were non-existent in England, so I lucked out, I fell right into the slot. Here was a person with experience, young, willing, a very good worker so I worked on that. But of course IBC support themselves as well as recording studios, and they were probably the largest and only independent recording studio in London at that time. So I worked there recording people like Petula Clark I remember, but at the same time I found out that Rediffusion had radio stations all over the world, and I went and applied as an engineer with Radio Jamaica. In those days it was Jamaica Broadcasting Company which later became Radio Jamaica Limited which later became RJR. But at that particular time the chief engineer wanted the signal out at their remote spots in Jamaica, in Montego Bay, Port Maria, Mandeville. So it was developed that we would put an FM link carrying the signal which originated in Kingston from the studios, we would FM it over the island doublehopping to these areas and I was, like I said, I was the studio man, audio man, loved music but of course the British put me on to these transmitters (chuckles)... and the antennae for this FM link. Which in truth - in fact it became the first commercial FM service in the British Commonwealth. It's purpose was to get the signal over to the other side of the island, but of course then people started getting FM radios.

Q: What did you know about Jamaica and the Caribbean in general and its music at that point?

A: I knew nothing. And in fact when I went out there in those days, the only thing with the music of Jamaica was basically mento, and it developed into a tourist attraction. Because in those days the tourist industry was just really cranking up, and so they had these - although they were called 'calypso bands' - they were basically mento bands playing for the tourists on the North Coast of Jamaica and the nightclubs in Kingston. And funny enough, there's only one person who had - well, there were several local bands but they were developed to produce like Jamaican mento music. But about that time a young man came on the scene, a young boy (chuckles), fresh out of school who played a sort of adequate bassline, and it was Byron Lee. And they started playing after football games, or soccer games, and they developed into Byron Lee & The Dragonaries.
    Byron Lee & The Dragonaires (1950s)Q: So they go back to as early as 1955 or something like that.

A: Yeah.

Q: When you arrived down there, how did you find the whole atmosphere, the culture, the people, and so on?

A: Well, in those days it was fascinating, and again... I mean, the people were great, inspiring, happy people, the living was easy as they say. I worked very, very hard. But there was a definite rift because we had these so called 'expatriate' or overseas engineers, and the local people. There was always a rift, 'why should they be getting more money?', 'why should they be paid more?', among the locals. And there's a little bit of undercurrent there, dissatisfaction by the local people. But however, because I was single and, again, a fun-loving sort of person, it's hard to say this... but I almost purposely went out of my way to become friendly to the people, to overcome this.

Q: It was a lot of that racial vibe in the air?

A: No. I think that's probably an international problem, what is happening these days. In those days it wasn't so much racial as class, to class divisions. And yeah, there were very, very wealthy black people who literally treated the working class rather abyssmally. You know, very wealthy Jamaicans of all colours and textures and racial origins. Because, remember, there were Lebanese, a Syrian influence, there were rich merchants, there's quite a bit of... a load of Jewish businessmen in later years who were very wealthy, and yet they were employing their gardeners for, in those days, probably thirty shillings which is, what, six dollars a week! These people were living in shacks in terrible circumstances. However, it never occurred to them to be violent about it, that was their lot and they were trying and endeavouring to lift themselves out of it. But I realised that my particular feeling was, the working class Jamaicans - because I was single and happy and fun-loving, I purposedly went out of my way to get a friendship with the Jamaican people as opposed to going to the upper people, as a lot of the expatriate engineers tended to do. You know, relished this class distinction.

Q: How did you crack the patois at the time?

A: Oh (laughs)! That was very easy. I realised that I was speaking - not only I had this Australian accent and never spoke any other language, a little bit of French, and I was at a party once and at that particular time I had several line-crews, stringing Rediffusion, which was a wired system 70 volts lines all around Kingston. Rediffusion put up a speaker-box with a volume control on it for which they charged like a dollar a month, which didn't seem much but when you (chuckles) figured you had like fifteen to twenty thousand of these things out there, it became quite a bit of money. But I had this crew and I couldn't get them to work for me so I saw one of my friends at a party, and he said, "It's because you don't speak like that, man". I said, "What do I do?" He said, "Oh, come back..." - this man was a Chinese-Jamaican, and he was a facilitator for import and export, and he said, "Come down the docks and I'll let you hear what you (chuckles) actually have to speak, get these people to listen to you when they work for you". So I went down the docks after I left Radio Jamaica at night, I got up early in the morning and went down the docks and listened to the wharf labourers, the long-shoreman if you like, how they spoke to one another, and I said, "Ahh, it's a different language altogether". And I picked it up very, very quickly and because of using, y'know, patois, like: "Listen, man, bring di ladder 'ere deh, man". That sort of thing.Q: (Chuckles)

A: And also they realised - because I adopted the patois, they said: "This guy is one of us". Whereas the expatriate engineers, y'know, they spoke with their British accents.

Q: Who was some of the personalities on the air at RJR at that time? I know about this guy who had a slogan like 'the cool fool with the live jive'.

A: Oh, Charlie Babcock.

Q: Ah, yes (laughs). He was at RJR?

A: Yeah, that was at RJR. They... oh, gee... um, there were several Jamaican... Again, the programming at that particular time tended to be influenced by what the British thought would be good programming. But round about - it must be 1955 they introduced a new program director, they brought him in from the... well, the managing director was Bill McClurg, who's Canadian, and he took the job on as managing director of Radio Jamaica and Rediffusion. But he realised that the programming was rather bland, y'know, and so he imported or employed this Canadian, Ron Morrier, who's a very charming man, and he came down and changed the programming format completely. And it was interesting that he was using the Canadian concept, which was Americanized but not fully American broadcasting, you understand what I mean? Not a hundred per cent, he had the Canadian influence. And the people loved it, because that was what Ron started brought in - he said, "Well, if I got to get this programming, then I've got to get dj's to influence", so he brought in Charlie Babcock - 'the cool fool with the live jive'. And Charlie brought this Americanized/Canadianized broadcasting format, and they started changing the music content, too.

Q: To...? More specifically?

A: To a more American type music, American pop music.

Q: Rock'n'roll, Pat Boone type stuff, and so on.

A: Yeah, the start of rock'n'roll.

Q: Was Dermott Hussey on the air even at that time? Well-known voice from Jamaican radio in any case.

A: He came in later, because then you developed a string of Jamaican dj's, like 'announcers' they used to call them, and they realised that the public accepted the American version more than - and remember, you could pick up a lot of American radio stations in Jamaica, any of these AM radio stations.Q: Right, stations from New Orleans and so on.

A: Right, and WINZ from Miami was a big one, that was a huge one. So these guys realised, well, we're going to establish a public following and I better (chuckles) emulate this to be successful, and that's what they did.

Q: OK. So you basically stayed at RJR for at least three years before you did anything in terms of recording the music, locally?

A: Well, I did three years initially which was my contract, and I went back to Australia and worked with television for six months, Channel 9 in Melbourne as senior audio.

Q: You're from Melbourne originally.

A: Yes, I was born in Melbourne. My first season I worked - I worked at two radio stations actually, 3UZee or 3UZed if you like first. And I was at the library pulling records, spinning records, wanted desperately to become an engineer, but you have to start at the bottom.

Q: Yep.

A: And funny enough, I was the operator for one of the first successful talk show people, a lady called Penelope who had a women's program in the morning. And then an engineering position came up with 3KZ, so I went there as junior engineer. But then, like I said, I started doing live music programs. But I went back to Australia in late '57. In '58 I worked with Channel 9 in Melbourne, but then Radio Jamaica called me back and said, "Look, we got to deal with these transmitters for JBC", Jamaican Broadcasting Corporation. And Radio Jamaica did a very smart move, they said: "OK, we build a transmitting station and you'll own them, but we will maintain them" (laughs). And we'll share towers, we'll diplex into one tower, so it was a win-win situation for everybody. But they needed people to come in and put in these new AM stations, so they called me back again. So I went out there to install these new - there were two 5 kW AM transmitters in each building, stand-by power, because power was abyssmal in Jamaica. We always had to have stand-by generators. And we'd diplex them into one antennae, we had them in Kingston, Montego Bay, Port Maria, Mandeville.
    Ken Khouri
    Ken KhouriQ: But what was initially your contact with the local music scene in those first three years? Did you check any of the sound systems at the time?

A: Of course I went into nightclubs. I think probably the main contact was - I became very friendly with Ken Khouri, Papa Khouri, to...

Q: Did he ever run a sound system back then?

A: No, Papa Khouri had a little furniture store, and he wanted to press records basically, press records in Jamaica. But of course, because of the local thing records were all imported, y'know, finished product was all imported, all they had was mento, which was the only thing going on. And Ken Khouri wanted to build a studio, and I remember he went and bought some equipment. He bought some equipment initially in the United States, he was waiting for his car to be delivered. He bought a disc cutter, a direct to disc in a pawn-shop (chuckles)...

Q: (Chuckles)

A: And I helped him to set that up. And in those days Stanley Motta was the only facility that actually made records. And they were ALL mento, everyone of them.

Q: How was the studio?

A: Oh, Mr Motta's studio, it was a direct to disc, one microphone hanging from the ceiling. And mind you, the one I built for Records Limited or Ken Khouri, it wasn't much better (chuckles), it was in a shack in the back of his furniture store... like that, y'know. Did a little bit of acoustics, not much, but then he went to the States and I told him, "Ken, you're never gonna get anywhere cutting direct to disc, it's not gonna work". So he bought a Magnecorder PT6 JAH tape recorder and a small mixer, and I set it up for him. And he started making records in the shack in the back, and this is probably round about 1957.

Q: Do you have any idea how records sold, the wax, 78's, at this point?

A: I think they were from what I remember about, probably, fifty cents a record.

Q: Affordable at least, not just for the upper class.

A: Yeah. Well, again, the locals didn't really wanna buy mento records to play at home. Remember, there wasn't much - because the poor people didn't have enough money to buy radios, they put in these wired systems... what they gonna play the records on? And so it was basically a tourist type thing. Then when I think back there was still the mento stuff going on, but probably about 1960 there was a ground swell, y'know, they wanted local music to develop.

Q: There wasn't much imported R&B records at this time?

A: Mainly the sound system operators imported those, and a few people had... I remember at home, I obviously had a record player and friends of mine had record players, and they used to buy a lot of American rock'n'roll, more rock'n'roll than R&B. Bill Haley & The Comets, that type of thing. And Elvis Presley of course, that type. Remember, these people all had radios, most of the time they'd listen to American radio stations at night.

Q: What about the sound system itself? It must've been quite an experience to witness, if you ever saw Coxsone Downbeat The Ruler against Duke Reid The Trojan or Tom The Great Sebastian or any of the happening sounds of the period.

A: Of course that came later on, my involvement with that came later on. That happened in '61 when I joined Federal Records permanently and built their first studio down at Foreshore Road.Q: I think Lloyd the Matador was your first experience recording down there, wasn't he?

A: It could be. Lloyd the Matador, could be. You know, it is so long ago I can't remember who the first ones were. But I remember I tried to develop a different style. You know, they wanted something a bit more than Federal had at that time. I revamped the mixer, added more inputs, I built an echo chamber. I tried to bring a little bit of shall we say - terrible phrase - 'state of the art', if you will, to the recording industry down there. And by this time Ken had also realised that time is always a factor in this business of music, and you had to have... there's a time concept. In those times - of course, there was a time when they cut it on a wax. They put it down on tape, basically. Stanley Motta of course would cut it on a acetate and he'd send the acetate away, usually to England and get it processed. But Ken actually put in an old Neumann AM131 fixed-pitch lathe, stamper plant, y'know, plating tank, so he could actually cut the records and manufacture them locally. Of course, he was the only one doing it, people would go there because time was the essence, and it was a lot cheaper of course. And if you got a demand on a record you didn't have to wait a terrible amount of time, x amount of weeks or months to get more product from out of England or America. So first the sound systems went - I've told this story several times: I could not understand why these people wanted the sound, so one night I took my wife out - by that time I was married to a Jamaican girl, a lovely girl, she's still there looking at me now as we speak - after forty-five years! But I said I had to go out and listen to these sound systems, what were they trying to achieve? And so I went out this night, I went with my wife and listened to the sound system on the spot. Then I realised, quite frankly, anybody can put something down on tape, you don't have to be (chuckles) a genius to put something on tape - it's how you reproduce it later on. You know, what is the process between the musicians and the studio, standing in front of microphones, putting it down on tape - that is the easy part. What you do from that process on to the people asking you to reproduce something, and that's when I realised these boys wanted the bass! They wanted the bass to drive hard, because what it will do is make people dance and what they do when they dance, they got hot and thirsty and bought more liquor.Q: (Chuckles)

A: (Laughs) And that's what it was all about, 'cause all these sound system operators were liquor distributors and they made the money on selling the liquor.

Q: Main income, almost.

A: Yeah. It was, shall we say, the essential - yeah, they charged admission but they didn't make the money on admission. Later on of course they started making money selling records, but initially it was to make people thirsty and spending more money. And it was amazing to me to hear this sound and of course, everything was in open air. You know, so you had the feeling and the humidity and the density of the air, it had such a tremendous effect on sound. I've had theories going for years and years that you could take a band and put it in ten different parts of the world and you get ten different responses to it because of the atmosphere when you listen, and of psychological reasons too. And all of these sound system dances were out in the open and so what carries in the open air, heavy bottom end (laughs). And these boys were using eighteen-inch Vitavox bass speakers, bass-drivers, and huge tube-amplifiers. It was my job to get them in the studio and translate it from in the studio to what it sounded like out in the open in this dance area, what was the process there, and I had to adjust it accordingly.

Q: So you found out from pretty early on that the Jamaican attitude to sound was, basically, 'in the red' so to speak, both sound systemwise and recording as well, to have the bass as deep as possible.

A: Yeah. There was an advantage of course, because these people hadn't been influenced by anywhere else. I was the king, y'know. If I told them I want to do it some way, there wasn't (chuckles) anybody there to argue with me! (Laughs) So it was my call, it was my shot.

Q: But this was basically 'against' your initial training, on a level where you don't have it 'in the red'.

A: Well, you gotta understand that being Australian there's a certain amount of rebellion in me anyway, most Australians are (chuckles) pioneers in the rebellion. When I was in England I was absolutely infuriated by the poor involvement of the recording studios, the poor involvement of broadcasting. You know, white coats and everything like that, that to me was an anathema, didn't make any sense (chuckles). And remember, y'know, I learned very early, early on, VERY early, early on, that you could not stay behind the glass window and put on this pretentious attitude to say 'I'm the recording engineer'. A recording engineer, a good recording engineer, is a part of the musical content, and he's gotta be. And when Tom Dowd years later, later on he told me that - I think I believed it all along - Tom Dowd, who is probably the greatest recording engineer of all time, I think personally, to me the greatness of a recording engineer is his achievement, what he's done, and Tom Dowd was the greatest. And Tom Dowd said that he always considered himself a musician and not an engineer. And you got a studio, you've got microphones, you've got monitors set up, it doesn't take you long - any band that walks in there, it takes you an amount of time to understand what they want, then get the hell out of the control room and go and sit down in the studio with them and become part of them. When you become part of them and not something separate distinct in a way, and that's the way I've always felt. And Federal Records, these boys were doing - everything was head work, y'know, there was no charts or anything, it was all done head. So they rehearsed the song and what did I have to do with it? You know, a fader could maybe be moved a couple of notches, a dB here, a dB there, it's not hard to do (chuckles). But get in the studio and try and find out what they're doing. And I remember several times I had a vocalist, Stranger Cole, Patsy, even Desmond Dekker, y'know, I had to teach them microphone techniques, you can't do that sitting in a control room. You gotta get in there and tell them exactly - one of the things I used to tell them, I remember Patsy, I said: "Well, remember that this thing is a microphone - you got a boyfriend, you got a man? Well, imagine he is in that microphone. You know, imagine him, just ignore the microphone, just imagine that that is your man in that microphone and sing to that man."And this simplistic stuff that they could understand, and that's the difference. And you noticed that in England in pop music, it only changed when the attitude to recording engineers changed. George Martin was the greatest. You never saw George Martin walk around with a white coat and screwdrivers in his pocket (laughs). He was right there, y'know, sitting down with the piano player playing a few chords with him.
    Dennis Sindrey (The Caribs)
    Dennis Sindrey (The Caribs)Q: If we go back to what we spoke about in the beginning, Island, how did you first bump into Chris Blackwell, was that at Federal?

A: No, no, no. I met him at a wedding reception, there was an Australian band there who you've probably heard of...

Q: The Caribs, yes.

A: Caribs, and Dennis Sindrey is my brother-in-law, and of course Australians tend to gather together living in a foreign country like that. So they were great friends of mine. Dennis, Lowell Morris, Peter Stoddart, Max Wildman, and myself.
    The CaribsQ: When did The Caribs arrive in Jamaica, was that after you came there?

A: That was about 1958, Dennis now lives in Florida and we speak regularly, we're best friends. But they came out there, they were imported by I think it was Abe Issa who brought them in to play at a nightclub, The Glass Bucket in Kingston. Because he wanted to establish a nightclub, so they came out there to play as professional musicians as his band. But of course then Chris Blackwell started recording and everything... well, more than that actually, before this Lowell Morris met a very, very lovely Jamaican lady called Faith Houchen, I'm still in touch with her, she lives in Australia now, a very, very lovely lady and she worked with my wife and my wife's sister at British West Indian Airwaves, BWIA, and Lowell met her, fell in love with her and when they decided to get married, well, we all went to the wedding. But one of Faith's friends, close friends, was Chris Blackwell, and so he was at the wedding. And it's a rather tedious story but he was sort of trying to date the girl I actually married (chuckles), and I didn't like that and I went up to him and was rather drunk, and he says something to me like, "Well, why don't you stop messing around, there's music to be made". And he had this thing - Chris' thing was that his family always tried to get him to earn a 'legal' living (chuckles), a hard working living so to say, justifiable living, and he tried several things. He tried renting scuba gear, he tried renting motor scooters, and then a friend of his, John Elliott, he had the Wurlitzer juke box concession in Jamaica, and so Chris talked him into leasing I think half a dozen juke boxes which he placed around in clubs. Chris was getting upset that he had to import all these records for juke boxes, that was more R&B stuff, y'know, that was in the local bars. And so he decided to make records and he met the Caribs of course and he met me and realised that - as Chris only can realise, he's got a great attitude for that - and he said, "I hear you know something about recording. Stop messing around and make some records". So that is how it all happened, and in fact I was making records in Radio Jamaica studios after hours.

Q: How did you find Blackwell?

A: Chris is a very charming man.

Q: And shrewd.

A: Very, very shrewd... oh, and he's from a very, very wealthy family of course. I'm upset in that he later developed this attitude of getting people and discarding them after you've found 'em useful, y'know, the people, and just discarding them. But that developed later on. But in those particular times he was charming, fun, and had a great attitude to life and we were all very, very friendly. But I think later on when his - probably I think his attitude changed with 'My Boy Lollipop'. And I think that all of a sudden he realised he could be the Howard Hughes that he always wanted to be.
    Chris BlackwellQ: (Laughter)

A: (Laughs)

Q: OK, that was simply the goal (chuckles).

A: Yeah. But that's not bad, I think that expressed it pretty well (laughs). And I've always said of Chris Blackwell that he'll be a Howard Hughes, he'll probably make ten fortunes and lose five (chuckles).

Q: He always take chances anyway, so...

A: He was a better gambler, yeah. Very much like that.

Q: That's obviously his strength, what he succeeded with.

A: And also he's got a very, very good ear for talent, and a very, very good eye for talent too.

Q: Yeah.

A: Don't take that away from him, I've always said that. And he could spot them a mile off. He was the one who spotted something in Millie Small that nobody else could see. And in fact, Leslie Kong and I had to get this sixteen-year old over to England, and of course 'My Boy Lollipop' was recorded in the UK, in Pye Studios.
    Graeme Goodall
    Graeme GoodallQ: Is that true about the Rod Stewart rumour that refuses to die, that he played harmonica on that session?

A: I'm not certain, I wasn't there. Probably Phil Chen who later on played for Rod Stewart. I guess you could find that out from him, I don't know. If Rod Stewart played on it, I guarantee that Chris Blackwell paid him little enough for it (laughs).

Q: (Laughs)

A: 'Cause he was gathering the musicians at that time. But I'm not certain, I wasn't there and I never really kind of... Chris let them later - 'cause his second attempt was a strange record, you might want to do some research on it, called 'You Don't Have To Be A Baby To Cry' by The Velvettes. There you are, there's a little anecdote for you (laughs).

Q: (Chuckles) Right. So back to the fifties again, he started a label called R&B or something like that, didn't he, Chris?

A: R&B was one, Island was the host company if you like, that's how he started everything. And R&B Records was the other one, and he was basically putting it in his juke boxes. But then that's how he market - no, he's hitting the middle class people in Jamaica. And this is music that could, with a lot of effort, a lot of push and a lot of force, could be heard on the radio stations eventually, y'know, they started to play it. The first person who started to play records - locally produced records on radio stations - was Duke Reid, he had 'Treasure Isle Time' on Saturday afternoon. And his theme song was 'My Mother's Eyes' which I later on covered in England, I made a record with that song.

Q: He bought like half an hour of airtime for this show.

A: Half an hour airtime on a Saturday afternoon.

Q: And Coxson started his some time after him?

A: Yeah, Coxson went on some time after him. He was buying his airplay, which incidentally was copied later on by pirate radio stations in England (laughs). You had to either buy the record or give Radio London... give them the B-side publishing.
    Duke Reid (middle) with Fats Domino (lower right).Q: What was Blackwell's relationship to people like Coxson or Duke in the fifties, early sixties?

A: I don't think they took any notice of him frankly, and I don't think he took any notice of them. He was more interested in the Owen Grays, the Laurel Aitkens, I think it was so distinct. I mean, I don't think Chris ever went to sound system dances frankly, he didn't see it that way. Then later on when Jamaican music became established in England he became more, so to say, closely interested in the ska music.

Q: The grass roots scene, right.

A: Yeah. I think Chris was more interested in promoting the more well-produced type of thing.

Q: The polished, uptown stuff.

Q: So who was among the first artists you recorded at this time, was it Laurel Aitken or Owen Gray, those two?

A: I think Laurel Aitken was the first and then Keith & Enid. Laurel Aitken, Owen Gray, I think it was Laurel who was the first one in there. Wilfred Edwards...

Q: Jackie, yeah.

A: Yeah, well he hadn't changed his name then, Chris changed the name to Jackie when he went to England, because it was more of a 'pop' connotation than Wilfred.

Q: Where would they be found, at talent contests or something like that? Like 'Opportunity Hour'?

A: No... Yeah, Chris would go to Opportunity Hour and places like that, and Chris would bring them inside. And it's self-propagating, because once you got one of them in there and they had themselves a record then the other guys would come along and say 'Hey, I can sing, I can sing!', y'know. And so it became self-propagating, people would find Chris. I mean, he would determine if they are any good or not, and he was very good at it. His Keith & Enid, 'Worried Over You' was absolutely phenomenal in a small market, but I mean the percentage of sales, the interest in sales of a record was incredible.
    Owen Gray
    Laurel AitkenQ: So 'Boogie In My Bones' (Laurel Aitken) was basically the first release Blackwell put out?

A: I'm afraid I have to say my memory escapes me, it was such a long time ago (chuckles). It's a lot of records which went under the cutting needle.

Q: Of course. But this was basically R&B music we're talking, ska was not invented as yet.

A: Yeah, exactly.

Q: So how do you remember things taking shape musically, from the local R&B to a more distinct Jamaican music, genuinely JA? A lot of people credits the pianist, 'Easy Snappin'' for changing the beat to what it became.

A: Oh, Theo Beckford?

A: He was part of it. If there's one common denominator in the whole thing, not as far as the musical content but as far as the whole process, that was Ken Khouri, Papa Khouri. Because he was the one who had the foresight to develop the industry, y'know, build the studio, build the pressing plant. He was a very successful Lebanese businessman, but I mean he was the lynchpin of the whole thing. As far as changing the music, again I would think that probably... there was one, Smith Hi-Lite, who was very influential. I think there was just a building up. Theo Beckford definitely had a feel to it, Jah Jerry (Haynes) with his Fender, the backbeat off his guitar, I think he was influential. Drumbago (Arkland Parks) on drums with his rimshot. But there again, the rimshots - Duke Reid was the one that pushed me in accenting the rimshots. But again, I don't think there was one common person, it was just a group of them, y'know. Theo Beckford was one, Jah Jerry, Charlie Organaire on harmonica, they all just come together and remember, the musicians played on everybody's session. They were a session group of musicians, even though they didn't know it at the time. I think that, again, not to sell anybody short, Coxson was very, very instrumental, and Duke Reid too. You know, they were competitors, and they all worked for something different. It was for me to try to come to terms with what they wanted from me and how to bring this into practice. And of course, if they wanted something then somebody else would say 'I want the same thing that you got on Duke's thing', y'know. And of course 'Yeah OK, fine!' and let's do something else as well, and so it just sort of grew like that.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Q: Did that happen a lot at Federal, that you first had a session booked with Coxson and then directly after this you had something with Duke?

A: Oh yeah, the next day (laughs)!

Q: What was the vibes like when they bumped into each other at the studio, if that happened?

A: Um, controlled animosity (laughs).

Q: Well behaved.

A: In the studio, yeah. They try 'cause, y'know, they never really - they always had someone, Duke Reid had Cuttings...

Q: Right, Stranger Cole's brother.

A: Yeah. And Coxson had Alan, Bim-Bim, and you know (chuckles)... they had to come down first to make sure that the coast was clear (laughs)! It was a gamble to have two persons in at the same time, but if they did buck up against one another, there was never... it was more (laughs) this same, not the same but caution.
    Stranger Cole's brother, Cuttings.Q: I can imagine the tension there, yes.

A: They just stayed away from one another. I mean, I had trouble with musicians at the studio too, I remember... have you ever heard the story about 'Mr Goody's iron pipe'?

Q: Nope.

A: I had one - Ken brought me a Neumann microphone, U47, and that was my pride and joy, and it (chuckles) made a difference to the sound 'cause it's such a great microphone. And I think it was Buster, Prince Buster's time, and some musicians got into it. Both came wheeling out there, they broke a beer bottle, and this is the little tiny Federal studio. And I saw my microphone in the middle of it and I said 'I gotta get in here', and I was the skinny little white boy around all this. I grabbed everything (chuckles) I could find, a piece of half-inch electrical conduit, y'know, heavy pipe, we had been doing some (chuckles)... but I just grabbed that, it was the nearest thing, and I went rushing into the studio and stood under my microphone and started whistling around, and then in my best patois said, "If anybody comes near this microphone I lick yu in de head wid di pipe!", and just whistled around (laughs). And all of a sudden the studio went quiet, absolutely deadly quiet. I was standing out there, this skinny white boy, whistling this pipe around. And I forget who it was but somebody says, "Mr Goody got his pipe!" And they all cracked up laughing and the whole studio just fell apart in hysterics. (Chuckles) And it's me and in particular this microphone! And the next day I found out that they got this pipe and they got a bicycle hand-grip - you know the rubber hand-grip? And they put that on the end of the pipe and they taped it up and they painted this pipe, and presented it to me as 'Mr Goody's pipe'. And from that time on at Federal Records I never made a record without this pipe in there. I mean, they had this incredibly stupid white guy with a piece of pipe (laughs) who's gonna take on the lot of them, and they thought it was the most hilarious thing they had ever seen or heard.

Q: What do you miss the most from those the earliest of days in production? I mean, there's this innocense in the air doing the first local music... all of that era was a transition period going from imitating American music to originating JA music, basically.

A: I think that's what I miss the most of all, they were so prepared to take chances, to change things. I mean, the blank record label, who came up with that? I would like to find out, first thing: a 45 with no label on it!

A: And then charging an extraordinary amount of money for it. A limited edition, this is the 'limited edition' of 45 records, how did that happen? (Chuckles) It was magnificent.

A: You know (laughs)? Well, you know this all came about really when they used to bring 45's in to Jamaica, 'cause remember, they were not only just playing Jamaican records at dances, they were still playing American records too.Q: Mmm, scratched off the labels.

A: They scratched off the labels, and someone came up with the bright idea (chuckles) why not go with this whole thing by scraping off a label, it's just incredible - why have a label anyway (laughs)? And that's what they did.

Q: Strange, but it had its function.

A: Yeah, I think... But I think what is missing from those days up to the seventies, is the cameradery that you had in the studio with everybody; I mean the producers, the singers, the musicians, the engineers - whatever, y'know, the cameradery. I mean, even the guys who was working with printing, the pressers, the record pressers were part of this whole thing! You know, they'd go to a sound system dance and they'd come in for free, 'cause they was pressing the records. They didn't have any creative effect in the process, y'know, they weren't creative at all, they would just be literally standin' there schlepping. Hard work! I mean, the heat! These hot presses, they were pressing these 45's but they were part of it, let's not forget them. And Federal Records, they had a guy - I don't know (chuckles) what his real name was, he was called 'Printer'. He was Printer, a nice charming man and he printed all the labels. (Chuckles) You know? And he was Printer, but he was part of the whole scene too, and respected. But I guess that's what I miss; the cameradery, the whole culture thing. Incredible, y'know, from musicians, singers, down to the guy who actually printed the record, he was so much a part of it.

Q: I can imagine when such a thing as the initial music scene in Jamaica was so small and when people found out that hey, you can make a name here and you can gain fame or recognition or even a substantial amount of money, whatever you were looking for, people would flock to you if you had anything set up to deal with all this.

A: Oh yes.

Q: But Coxson and Duke had their slice 'intact' so to speak, of the local record business, it didn't allow for too many to enter this area, at least in its initial years? Except for people like Matador, perhaps.

A: Yeah, but again, Matador, he was part of the scene early 'cause he built the amplifiers. He was very, very good, excellent. And remember now, those sound system operators, they were distributors of different parts of the island and they tended to affiliate themselves with a producer, like Duke Reid or Coxson or Buster, someone like that. So Duke Reid would press the record, but he wouldn't want it to go to, y'know, somebody in Coxson's camp. Like (Harry) Mudie, who was in Spanish Town, he was like Coxson's man, and so Coxson would allow him to buy the record or such (chuckles) and not Duke Reid's associates in Spanish Town, or Duke's affiliates if you like, almost like franchise. But I used to record Monday through Thursday, and then Friday was dub-cutting day, when we used to cut them on soft wax. It was actually cut on acetate. And that was my day, when I used to cut records all day long.

Q: But these dub-cutting 'sessions' were not as it is known today, doing exclusive mixes on the spot for the acetate.

A: You know, I could put four songs on a ten-inch acetate...Q: It was basically the same as a 'pre-release', what you would get officially later on.

A: Yeah, we called it blank.

Q: It was until the seventies when they started to do a different mix to the same song.

A: Yeah, yeah. Well, that was because we could get it on multi-track, with multi-track you could change it. But not what we started out on, which was mono. It could only be done at the biggest studio, Federal, 'cause Federal - well, actually that was a lie, that was the studio with two tracks. But the first stereo record was 'Joyride' in stereo, and I did that at Federal's small studio. With the most amazing pool of material; I had one Ampex, 3-24 recorder, stereo recorder, which I found later on was invented by... but that's all right, we found that out later. But Byron Lee wanted to do 'Joyride' and I said "well, let's do it in stereo", and they couldn't believe it. So I did it in stereo and I did a mono mix at the same time, so the album was 'Joyride' in and the jacket had 'hi-fi' printed on it, but the stereo record had an over-sticker printed exactly the same and 'stereo', so you had either 'Joyride in hi-fi' or 'Joyride in stereo', same jacket with an overlabel on it. But in fact I got (chuckles) together with some people I knew in radio and we bought air time , we played 'Joyride' in stereo, we played with a stereo pick-up cartridge in Radio Jamaica, and we fed the left channel down to JBC by landline and they played the left channel and Radio Jamaica played the right channel (laughs)!

Q: OK (chuckles).

A: And I mean (chuckles) everybody talked about it, you know what it's like to be... a thing called 'Empty Chair' with Keith Lynn, Byron Lee, it was an enormous success and somebody said at the airport, I was meeting somebody, I think it was my wife, and while there one of the cab drivers said: "Mr Goody, you made 'Empty Chair'?" I said yeah, and all the cab drivers just all of a sudden came and grabbed me and lifted me up on their shoulders and took me around the airport, told them that this was the man who made 'Empty Chair'! And you gotta imagine what that feeling was like!

Q: Kingly vibe about it.

A: It was incredible that this rank of cab drivers, y'know, somebody found out that here's a guy who did this thing that they loved.

Q: A kind of spontaneous appreciation you get in Jamaica...

Q: At least at that time.

A: Or you did, yes.
    Owen Gray, Graeme Goodall, CoxsonQ: How did you get on with Duke and Coxson personally?

A: Loved them both.

Q: Yeah?

A: Yep. Both were great people.

Q: No trouble.

A: No, they became very, very good friends of mine, both of them. I was perhaps the common denominator . And of course not to mention Prince Buster. He is still a very dear friend, we had a nickname for one another... the story is that Prince Buster was kicked out of the studio. Ken Khouri just could not take it any longer.

Q: Because of...?

A: Oh! Not paying, and trying - as they call it in Jamaica, a 'samfie man' technique, like conman, and Ken Khouri wanted to kick him out of the studio. There is something that I liked about Prince Buster, he had talent, y'know, it's just something, and you knew he was a king in the making. And I went up and begged for his life to Ken Khouri, and Ken Khouri told me, Papa Khou said, "All right, so be it. He's yours, he's yours! Anything he do wrong you make up for it, you pay for it!" You know (chuckles)? "You're responsible!" So I got him back into the studio and we had a nickname we used to call one another, and when we did this thing up in Toronto a couple of years ago, I was in the elevator coming out of the fifth floor, sixth floor, something like that, and the elevator stopped like at the fourth floor, in comes this well-dressed black man with his New York Angels Yankees baseball cap on and behind shades, he walked in and as he turns around he says, "Good morning, good morning". And I was at the back of the elevator, and just said "Hey...", and just called him the nickname, y'know. I said "Hey, what yu doing 'ere?" And his knees buckled, we hadn't seen one another for thirty years!

Q: Ah!

A: And we still talk sometime. But there was not one of them I could ever say that I had feelings of animosity or worried that there threats. Mind you, I wasn't stupid (chuckles), the only way I had was to get that stuff down on tape.

Q: Both had their reputations, Duke and Coxson, but I guess that's just one side of it, and in some way they had to be on the rough side too. I guess you never saw anything of that?

A: Never! Never, never, never, never. They didn't have to be with me. Neither was Papa Khouri for that matter, nor was Papa Khou. I mean, they were all friends of Papa Khouri too. So they kept their territory war if you like, their territorial wars, to themselves.

Q: How did you experience the less than pleasant parts of being in the business, the early days of the rude boys and all that stuff?

A: Well that came in later on, y'know. There was only one time I ever saw anything happen at the time. One of the guys who worked at the Dynamic Sounds factory was stealing records, and Byron Lee got so upset about it (chuckles) that he roughed that guy up pretty badly! Just get the message out: 'don't steal from Byron Lee!' (laughs). But you know, I never got involved with anything. When I went to the sound system dances I was so protected as it were.

Q: You went to a lot of those dances?

A: No, no. I went mainly to hear if there's a particular sound that I want to listen to, y'know, that I changed something, but very rarely. I could tell if they came in and said the sound was good, then that's good enough for me.
    Roland Alphonso.Q: Of all the musicians you worked with at that time, I am pretty sure you have some fond and cherished memories and anecdotes of several key players who seldom gets the recognition or true credit they deserve.

A: I think probably that (Byron) Lee was, apart from 'Snappin', but Roland Alphonso was my favorite.

A: He was such a great musician. I met him from very, very early on in 1954 at Radio Jamaica, he was just a kid. And he was playing tenor saxophone on Colgate Palmolive Talent Parade on Radio Jamaica, which I literally helped them do. 'Cause they never had any idea of live music broadcasting, that was my idea, y'know. And I met Roland Alphonso there...

Q: I suppose you had Eric Deans Orchestra playing there a few times?

A: Yeah, I think so. But Roland is one of my favorites. I love Theo Beckford, Easy Snappin'. He was good but I mean, he was not a musician in the sense of Roland Alphonso. Rico Rodriguez on trombone. Lloyd Knibb on drums, great player. A very, very great player, but they're all friends. But I think probably as far as musicianship and such a nice guy, that's Roland Alphonso and probably my favorite.Q: What about Don Drummond? That's an obvious question but did you find him particularly difficult or is this pretty exaggerated that he was problem almost right through? A pretty moody character in any case.

A: (Chuckles) Short answer: yes!

Q: You never knew what to expect.

A: (Laughs) Very talented musician but... oh, terrible, terrible, terrible to deal with.

Q: In what way?

A: Oh, a good example: One time he was supposed to take a solo and, y'know, I couldn't get him to work to the microphone well and all I had to do was go and tell him 'play here, play there, do this, do that'. When I started pressing the 'record' button and it was time for the solo, he just went right over to the other side of the studio and started playing just to show me that he'd do what he wanted, and the whole session was messed up because of this. He was an incredible musician but very, very disturbed.

Q: Like arrogant, quiet, just introverted?

A: He was quiet but just 'not do this, not doing that'.

Q: That kinda attitude.

A: Yeah. It wasn't as much attitude as mental condition.

Q: Yeah. Well, we all know what happened later on, sad as it was.

Q: Maybe you weren't that surprised that it happened (Drummond stabbed his girlfriend to death in the mid sixties and was sent to a mental institution, Bellevue Hospital in Kingston, where he died a few years later, 1969)?

A: I was never surprised with anything Don Drummond did. Never. We saw how it could turn out, and it did.

Q: I think I recall a story from somewhere, not sure if it was you who told it, that it was something about Coxson taking Drummond's trombone and told him, "That's mine, give it to me! Give it back!"

A: Yeah. He wouldn't behave himself, y'know, so Coxson said 'it's mine'. You know, that often happened, the producers would own the instruments and (chuckles) if you didn't play he took the instrument back. But that's true, Coxson did cease the trombone from the man, he said: "Get out of here!", y'know, when he didn't listen to what I said. But when I was in England with Doctor Bird, I was talking about baritone saxes, and Coxson said: "How much for one of them?" I got one in England and brought it back to him, he introduced baritone saxophones to the recording scene then (yelling 'stop that!' to the dog in the background).Q: What about Drumbago, Arkland Parks the drummer? People tend to overlook him.

A: He was a great guy, Drumbago was great. Great old man, and very easy to work with, was very easy in that regard. But I wasn't as close to him for some odd reason as I got to a lot of the other musicians. One that was very difficult and very, very hard to get on with but later on came through and, y'know, I met him recently and he changed first was himself, Lester Sterling.

Q: Skatalites, yes.

A: Lester Sterling was not easy in the early days.

A: He just didn't have the... hadn't developed his talent.

Q: OK.

A: I gotta say this, too, later on when I built Federal's Studio 2 I got a guy I used to work with at Radio Jamaica, I brought him in, Byron Smith.

Q: The engineer at Treasure Isle.

A: Later he went and worked with Duke Reid. And I have to say this: Byron was my student and I'm glad to say that he was better in a lot of senses than I was. I think he got an incredible sound on all that Treasure Isle stuff, just incredible.

Q: What became of him?

A: I think he went to Canada, I'm not certain. I think Keith Scott (one of Khouri's associates at Federal in the sixties) is trying to find him, we're all trying to find him. But I mean, he did some great stuff and he came from nowhere. I mean, I worked with him and he won the job and I needed the guy and I thought well, why not, he had a good work ethic, and he became very, very good.

Q: There is your association with Beverley's that we should get into.

A: You know, if ever a man had a massive impact on the industry, it was Leslie.
    Bunny Rae & Leslie Kong.Q: There's so little known about the man, unfortunately. Partly because that catalog is locked down now.

A: He's my son's godfather.

Q: Yeah?

A: Yeah (chuckles). In fact, I was his best man at his wedding in London when he married, I introduced him to his wife. She's living in Canada.

Q: OK. Tell me more about Leslie.

A: Well, Leslie was one of at least four brothers, but there was three working together: Cecil, Lloyd and Leslie. The fourth was priest, a Catholic priest, Ken. But Cecil ran a real estate agency and Lloyd (chuckles) was well-known as 'Fats', they ran an ice-cream parlour and sort of soft drinks/lunch counter, and next up they decided, or Leslie decided, to open a record shop, Beverley's Records. Where the name Beverley's came from, I don't know. But when they started producing records locally, I think Leslie decided that he would check out talent, and he had a very good ear for talent. You know, he found like The Maytals and Desmond Dekker and others. But he came to the studios to record and we developed a very, very strong friendship, he eventually became or agreed to be my son's godfather and like I said, I introduced him to his wfe, I was the best man at the wedding. But the good thing was that I could interpret every act that he did, he was a very quiet person. And if he twitched his collar or something like that, I could say, well, he want more bass, he want more guitar, he want more voice. And we had this wonderful relationship, this sympathetic relationship, that we could literally turn a hit record out of nothing (chuckles), because this was the interaction between the two of us.

Q: Where did you work with him mostly, this was at West Indies (WIRL) studios, or Federal?

A: No, I did quite a bit at Federal. The major hit session that we did, 'OO7', and of about twelve cuts I think we had ten number ones (chuckles). That was at Federal Records 2, the big studio. And then we did a lot of stuff at Dynamic. We never did anything at West Indies Records per se, West Indies Records... well, that's a lie, we did some things at West Indies Records. But the studio that was built, or I built at West Indies Records, became Dynamic. There was a financial problem and the factory closed, but the studio of course was still there, Byron Lee bought it.

Q: I think there was a fire there at WIRL, wasn't it?

A: Yes, there was a fire in the factory and so the pressing activity at West Indies Records ceased at that time. But when Byron Lee bought it he reactivated both the pressers and lots of other things, a lot of franchise for American labels. So he made a very good success with that, very strong success with Dynamic Sounds, and he re-equipped the studio.
    WIRL
    WIRLQ: Who had WIRL at that time, it was (Edward) Seaga with a few others?

A: No, it started off with Seaga and he was the only one initially, but it was later also George Benson and Clifford 'Bunny' Ray. George Benson was I believe Trinidadian or from Guyana, and Bunny Rae was Jamaican.

Q: Local businessmen.

A: Yes, Bunny Rae had an electronics company, I think George Benson worked for a record company in Trinidad or something like that, and then he formed a partnership. I think Eddie Seaga still had an interest in West Indies Records but control of the company was those two.

Q: Who produced most of the WIRL releases? Was it Seaga himself who took care of this, or he had like an in-house producer?

A: Well, the original WIRL stuff, as I remember Eddie Seaga did a lot of the stuff, and he really no more produced than Ken Khouri, if you know what I mean.

Q: Right.

A: He didn't go out to look for talents, they was usually brought to them, and they were more on the marketing side than the actual sitting in the studio, producing.Q: That goes for most of the studios, the actual producer was the engineer together with the musicians and the artist.

A: Yeah. Well, except for people like Coxson, Duke Reid, Mudies, Smith, Sonia Pottinger - they actually produced, and Leslie Kong of course, they actually sat in there.

Q: Some would say that people like Duke and Coxson hardly participated at all though.

A: No, that is wrong, he was there. If he wasn't there he had his man Alan, a man called Bim-Bim, he was always there. And he was - he may have arrived a little late on the scene, y'know, he may have arrived an hour late, but I cannot remember a Coxson session when Coxson Dodd wasn't there. You know, he definitely came and checked it out, and he also auditioned the artists. So, this is not true. The musicians may not have seen him... particularly when it was time to get paid maybe he wasn't there.

Q: Obviously.

A: (Chuckles) Yeah, 'cause he definitely was the strong man when it came to production.

Q: Maybe he took a lower profile in later days but in the sixties I guess he was very much upfront and...

A: Very active, just like Duke Reid. But Duke Reid moved to build Treasure Isle studios down on Bond Street, he was in the basement down below - well, actually it wasn't the basement, it was on the ground floor. And Smithy, Byron Smith, he was upstairs. But he had Smithy run a speaker downstairs (chuckles) so that he could listen to it and if something wasn't going right, then he'd just go upstairs to the studio and say, "This is not right!" So it changed a little bit. But Leslie Kong was always there, I mean the session didn't start without him.
    Treasure Isle Liquor Store & Recording Studio.Q: Why do you think people hold the Beverley's stuff in such high regard now, what would you point to as being his trademark or what in particular makes it stand out the way it does? Just like Duke Reid, it has such an high quality.

A: Yeah. Well, Leslie did not go for the full sound system type of sound, y'know, with an over-emphasis of the bottom-end, Leslie was more... yes, he wanted it to get to the people and he wanted it to be played on the sound systems, but he wanted a little bit more refinement. I think Duke Reid and Leslie in particular got into this more because of radio play. And if you do it for a sound system it doesn't sound good on radio (chuckles), there's too much of the bottom-end. And I think, this is not just a matter of personal view and response or anything like that, but I think Leslie in particular, and I think there were a couple of others, I think he had, like Lloyd Daley, Matador, who tended to be a sort of classier type of producer.

Q: Yeah, cleaner, refined.

A: Yeah, cleaner type of production. And Leslie also was more particular about getting the good final cut, where Coxson and even Duke Reid and those type of people, they would do it three times, that was it. No matter how good or bad it sounded you're not gonna get another shot at it, but Leslie would take it up for maybe four or five, six cuts, until he got one that he knew was right.

Q: How was Leslie, personalitywise? A quiet person, introverted you said.

A: Incredible person. Very kind, like I said, very, very quiet, very inward looking type of person. I think he held a lot of feelings inside and rarely expressed himself. It was probably one of the reasons why he died of a heart attack, that he held back his feelings so much.

Q: They said he didn't have any physical problems before this, there was no history among the Kongs that they had heart problem or anything.

A: No, and like I said he was very, very quiet and not saying much at all, in fact I think eventually Colleen, his wife, realised that he was a very deep, a deep sort of person. But always glad to be around. You never really heard him get angry, not like that.

Q: How did you react to this story about Bunny Wailer predicting Leslie's death when he put out that 'Best of the Wailers' LP on Beverley's? A famous myth by now.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Q:How did you react to this story about Bunny Wailer predicting Leslie's death when he put out that 'Best of the Wailers' LP on Beverley's? A famous myth by now.

A:
      Ah, Leslie didn't worry about it, he probably had a laugh. Certainly he didn't pay any (chuckles) attention to anything like that, he did what he wanted to do. I mean, he never got angry about anything (chuckles). One of the things about Leslie, he understood or could speak Chinese, his father never sort of taught them to speak Chinese, but he never told anybody that he understood Chinese and of course what they spoke is 'hakar'. And he never told anybody that he could understand it. And one time we were at my house and a friend of ours was there, he was Chinese, he started going on about something with Leslie - in Chinese, and Leslie said, "No, no, no, no!" I said, "Hey Les, what you say?" He said what it was and I said, "You understood him?" And he said, "Yes man, I understan'". I said, "Why don't you tell people you speak Chinese?" He said, "No man, I find out a lot of things if they don't know that I speak the language". And that was just Leslie (chuckles) and in fact, later on we were in London at a Chinese restaurant, and it was my wife and I, she's Chinese-Jamaican, and Leslie and Colleen inside this Chinese restaurant, we ordered, and this waiter said something to the other waiter and Leslie said, "No, c'mon, let's go". I said, "Huh?" He said, "C'mon, let's go! Let's pack up". Of course we looked at one another and asked, "What for?" He says, "Oh, they were saying bad things about the white woman and the Chinese man, and the Chinese woman and the white man, why do they get mixed up like that". He said, "I wasn't gonna take that" (chuckles). So we walked out. But that's the sort of guy he was.Q: What happened to the Beverley's material, the whole catalog itself after he passed away suddenly in 1971?

A: Cecil took it over.

Q: Did he continue to produce for the label?

A: No, they didn't produce as such, just used the back stuff, they made some reissues on albums. But from what I understand and it's a personal view, and I was never involved in it, but I believe Cecil undertook it to look after Colleen and the two children and all the other interests Leslie had. I don't think Colleen and Cecil reissued a lot of stuff either. Colleen now lives in Canada.

Q: Remarried.

A: No, not at all.

Q: Are his children involved in music at all?

A: Quentin... I think Quentin went into the police force.

Q: In Jamaica?

A: In Toronto.

Q: OK.

A: But the music stopped there.

Q: To a couple of years after he passed. But they sold the catalog, what I've heard is that Blackwell bought it. He purchased it for Island when Boney M got the hit with 'Rivers of Babylon' and he decided to milk something out of the original by the Melodians, and bought up the whole Beverley's catalog from what I understand...
      The Melodians.
      Lee Gopthal.A: You got to understand that the Jamaican music industry got out of hand during that time, even when Duke Reid was around. Now Duke is dead, Coxson is dead, Leslie Kong is dead, and I have heard that songs I have produced for myself, when I had Doctor Bird in England, the Doctor Bird group where I had Pyramid, some that I did has been released all over the world, in France, I'm sure they've been released all over Europe. These people had absolutely no right to make claim of it. But is it worthwhile chasing them down? No, most of them don't have anything to show if you go after them. And if you go after them you put a legal injunction against them, a small fine, and then they go around the corner and next week they open up at a different place. There's a lot of piracy. And in fact, frankly one of the people in the Beat & Commercial group, y'know, the later Trojan group, they were the worst! They were pirates in the extreme.

Q: The late Lee Gophtal.

A: Yeah, Lee Gophtal.

Q: Their business approach could've been nicer.

A: But this is typical of the music business, not just the West Indian music but also in Europe and the States, it's pretty easy to lose. You know, I know a lot apart from myself who has been pirated. And also, a lot of these records fetch an incredibly high price on the collectors' market now. I wish to God (chuckles) I had some of those records that I destroyed, I threw them in the trash can. Because in those days it wasn't of any value afterwards in England. But now it's changed. I wish I had them now. But there's a lot of piracy going on and not only Jamaica, in Japan, Florida, y'know, anywhere they sell reggae music there's someone get a kick off. And in fact, one of my friends are telling me now that the latest thing is mento, that is the new kind of thing. A lot of those stuff is produced by Stanley Motta, they're not around anymore, y'know (chuckles). And probably their descendants don't know anything about it. If they know that he was so big in mento production - and Ken Khouri, you know, maybe Richard knows. But there's a lot of stuff that came on Federal, y'know, Starline, and I bet they're being pirated also.Q: I don't know the source for them, but a few years ago you had a bunch of vintage 45's that came out on such labels as Ska Beat, Island, R&B, and even Doctor Bird I think. Pirates.

A: Oh yeah.

Q: And I think Blue Cat as well.

A: (Laughs)

Q: All done on the original labels, reproduced, clean pressings and all. 'Moon Invader' by Tommy McCook on Doctor Bird is one I know of.

A: Yeah, well...

Q: Maybe out of Italy or France or Japan, wherever.

A: Who knows, who knows.

Q: Why doesn't Buster put out his back catalog, why doesn't he let someone dig deep into it and unearth all the goods he has there, stuff that has never appeared since the sixties and early seventies? He occasionally does some repressings, but it's not enough. There are some 45's out of Japan, but who can get those apart from the few who know about it. Seems like he doesn't care anymore.

A: I'm sure we all, y'know, care about it, but what is the direction to take to get this corrected. And like I said, if you do correct one another one will pop up and do the same thing under a new name, or it turns out to be the same person. So I think that more than anything, probably all of us - Prince Buster included, just want the recognition of what we did.

Q: Right. And not reissue too much, it will be pirated in any case.

A: Exactly. It's the same with movies or whatever (chuckles), always enemies to speak about who will steal behind ones back.

Q: Definitely. How did you take the widespread culture of smoking within music circles, the sweet smell of herb among the players, the Skatalites, being new to all this in the fifties especially? Prevalent then and I suppose it increased when Rasta grew in stature.

A: (Chuckles) I just adjusted to it, it was part of the whole scene.Q: Must have been a mild shock for you to see the amount used of it back then?

A: No, not really. I mean, you gotta understand the way of life (chuckles) among those men. They had a thing called 'roots', it was just ganja buds, seaweed, white rum, and everything mixed in there. The Rastafarian thing became fashionable but the other line, y'know, drinking some roots, that was undercurrent all the time. But it didn't worry me at all. One thing I realised from very, very early on was that someone, in some way, has got to stay straight.

Q: (Laughs) And that's gotta be you, naturally!

A: Someone gotta stay straight. And I never saw Coxson smoke a joint, I never saw Duke Reid smoke a joint, Leslie certainly never did - we had no need for it. (Chuckles) It was just something that didn't came about, why would we smoke a joint. It was absolutely no requierment for it. A lot of the people, Bells, Mudie, they never, never smoked. These people like Duke Reid, they used to make money off the liquor sales. But I know a couple of other people, Skatalites, Count Ossie, the Nyahbingi drums, it was an interesting concept to record them. And I mean, at one time - yes, the musicians used to smoke a lot...

A: At Federal Records they used to go out in the back, y'know, sit out there and pass the joint around. But I would never allow any smoking in the studio, never! Never, never, never.

Q: No protests?

A: No, no. I was Mr Goody - 'do what Mr Goody says'. They used to smoke outside but I was not going to run any risk, because it was illegal. It was illegal and still is illegal. And I wasn't gonna run the risk of having any smoking in the studio, neither did Duke. Ken Khouri would have had a pit. Like I said, I had to stay straight, otherwise I wouldn't push the right button.

Q: (Laughs) It got more common as time went by in any case.

A: That wasn't the actual problem. If they relaxed and put it down well it didn't matter whether they were drunk, high or sober. It didn't matter if they were getting a good sound out of it, I would edit it down and I could eventually put it down on a disc. That was all that mattered. People like Leslie Kong, of course he cared how it sounded but as long as he had a hit record, he didn't care less how it got that way.

Q: Yeah, the result is what counts.

A: People who came through the studio, I showed them, like, you cannot get high like this, because, y'know, I said: "When you're high and you come in here, you try and cut a master and I play it back for you and you'd say, 'Where the hell does that come from?!'" You gotta think straight.Q: You haven't told me the story of how Doctor Bird was set up, you went over to London in about '66 I guess. It was like a subsidiary to WIRL at the time, or a link to some other company to begin with?

A: '62. I was part-owner of Island Records and Chris was doing his own thing, he had people like David Betteridge to join in the company. I felt I was pushed to one side and I said, well, why don't I get my own... Then George Benson and Bunny Rae came in and said, "Let us have a label". And I said, "OK, that's fine". So they had the control and I had forty-nine percent, and we started exchanging ideas with what name we would use, and I said, "Well, Doctor Bird is the national bird, so let's make it 'Doctor Bird'". And that's how it came about. And the label we created of course it's gotta be yellow, green and black, which is Jamaica's national colours. Island Records was red and white so we felt, no, why don't make it yellow, green and black. I think one of the classic things - I did love it though, strange marketing for some but they all seemed to work, very few failed (chuckles), but it was the leopard skin record jacket. Which I thought was a classic and to this day I'm sure it will go down to the classics of the record industry. But anyway, Clifford 'Bunny' Ray and George Benson and I, we sat down and we worked it all out; they started feeding material to me and in fact, I used to go down and visit their sessions at West Indies Records studios. I built that studio for them at the time. But when they ran into financial difficulties, the factory caught fire and they decided to close down the record pressing plant, I just bought out Bunny Rae and George Benson off the chairs and had control, a hundred percent control. But then I started figuring out, well, Doctor Bird was one thing, but then I said, "There's a lot of pride in the labour union, why shouldn't we, y'know, could have Duke Reid material, Treasure Isle". When Leslie Kong said well, he wanted it, I said: "OK, well, make it fifty-fifty" - fifty percent Doctor Bird, fifty percent on a new label, which was Pyramid. And Leslie and I created the incredible light-yellow colour, and that was from a jazz quartet - no, a jazz quintet album, called 'Pyramid'. And we were just listening to it one day and I looked at the album, the cover, the jacket, and the name, and I said: "Man, what are we looking any further for, let's just go for 'Pyramid'". Pyramid was the name of the album, but they came up with this beautiful light-yellow colour and grey printed on it, and it was just outstanding and so cool. I said, "Let's do it", and Leslie said, "Yeah man, yeah man, cool, cool, yeah man". (Chuckles) This was how Pyramid was created. And then I did a few other things on my own, Attack, some stuff of my own productions. And I had another one called The Master's Time which was a gospel label, y'know, it was a total failure...

A: But the leopard skin jacket... I would walk down Brixton or Portobello Road on a Saturday, and they used to sell the records, they buy three or four 45's and they'd put a piece of string to the center and tie a bow at it at the record store, and they'd walk along with this. And I had seen people walking around with it and I thought to myself: 'Wow, why can't I do something about this? How many of my records have been carried in that piece of white skin or that piece of string?' I went into the record store and there's always white in front of me. But you know what? Decca had blue, HMV I think had red or Polydor had red, Pye had sort of a light blue, and they all had colour jackets. But all those West Indies records were white. And I said, "I gotta do something about this". So I went to an artist friend of mine and I said that I'm poor, I can't afford much, remember that this is, y'know, I don't want you to increase the price for manufacture. So he said, "Oh, oh, that's easy. We get yellow paper and we'd print brown over it, and we'd make it leopard skin". So we'd make it so that each edge as it were would be the same no matter which way you'd turn it, so when you'd put it up on a record store it'd be yellow or brown the whole line, and I said, "Yes, that sounds good". And they became so much of a classic and a cult thing (chuckles), and then I'd go down Portobello Road and see people walking around with these yellow and brown jackets, and I said, "Yes man, I got 'em, I got 'em!"Q: (Laughs) OK, inventive. So what was among the first releases on Doctor Bird, could that be 'Every Night' by Joe White for example?

A: I think that could've been one of them, yes. I can't remember, it was so long ago (chuckles).

Q: Right.

A: But then again, I was determined to come out with a hit, y'know, hit them strong, hit them strong with my records.

Q: How did you find the task to distribute all this around the UK?

A: Well, remember I was hangin' around with Island (chuckles), so...

Q: So you had all the connections set.

A: Exactly, yeah (chuckles). That was one good thing that came out of Island Records. As far as I was concerned, I didn't have to go around and find out which record store was selling. In fact, Bob Lynn worked for Island Records, he came with me to sell.

Q: Driving all over the place in a van, distributing to all the record joints.

A: Oh yeah, I used to do that every Saturday morning and in fact, I used to drive up to Birmingham on a Thursday night or a Friday night, actually the records were packed five o' clock on a Friday and stuff them in my little mini-van, scream up to Birmingham and drop off five thousand records around Birmingham on a Saturday morning, early, y'know, sleep in the van. Got all this sorted on a Saturday morning and then come back to London on Saturday and then get another load and take them out there and make sure that the records were selling. Because remember, all the charts and everything were based on weekend sales, on Saturday sales. And if you could get one higher in the charts that increased the sales for the label for next week, also the television of that day, y'know, 'Top of the Pops', they based their program on the charts. But yeah, we would go out. I mean, I had a mini-van and fitted it out, I'd go out with five thousand 45's and wouldn't stop, wouldn't stop for anything. If I hadn't the tyre/tires break or something. But yeah, I used to do all that, get out on a Saturday morning, all out. Make the circuit, 'what is it you sought, what do you want, what do you need, what's not selling? In fact, take some more of this'. Bob and I, he wouldn't go out on a Saturday, usually, but I went out on Saturdays to do all this stuff.

Who could have guessed the level of recognition ska, rock steady, the early reggae and, to a certain extent, even mento would get when Graeme started out in the 1950's. The music of this tiny little island reached far beyond its borders and, in some way, quickly paid back its debt to American R&B, jazz, country and gospel in innovation, inspiration and sheer joy. It's all about sound, and Graeme personifies what it's all about. I can imagine him standing beside it all after moving away from Jamaica and enjoying at a distance the attention Jamaican music now is getting. That the earliest music is still requested among young fans today just proves the timelessness of the music they put on tape back in those days, and, arguably, that's the best form of musicianship when you've reached that level where it doesn't fear time. Just give that some thought next time you put on some of the local R&B recordings, ska, or rock steady. As a pioneer it is a sad fact that Goodall hasn't been the subject of some sort of tribute for his Doctor Bird efforts. The only label I could see taking on such a project would be Trojan Records. It would be good to know that his name and skills are being recognised and put together on one album at last.

7" single information courtesy Roots Knotty Roots.
      http://www.reggae-vibes.com/concert/...l/goodall4.htm

All that race,class,misogyny and ethnocentrisim,spoken in refreshing colonial truth.

Perspective...Skatalittes associated with ganja, Drummond trouble.....Byron Lee we can work with him.

Ahemm.

Mr Goody and Byron Lee Empty Chair .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ROv3hucXJ5A

The australian influence.

Chris Whitewell stuck in the 50s after all these years ?

Is it true that Rastafarians once saved your life after you were stranded on a mangrove island?
            Yes. In 1958, I was stranded in a mangrove very far from anywhere. I walked for miles and miles to find someone. I was literally dying of thirst. I came across a little clearing and in the clearing was a little hut. I called out and this Rasta man poked his head through the window. At the time Rastafarians were really ostracized in Jamaica. They were totally outside the system and considered very dangerous. I recently read about how seriously badly people treated them, how they had no rights. Anyway, I remember at the time I was terrified of the man. But I was dying of thirst so I asked him for water. He gave me some water in a gourd and he was as sweet and gentle as any man could be. I laid down and fell asleep. After several hours I woke up and there were several of them surrounding me and I got terrified all over again. But that was just for a minute. Eventually, one of them took me back. It had a profound impact on me, and changed how I saw Rastafarians.

Read more: http://www.rollingstone.com/music/ne...#ixzz2sJK16SKJ
            Follow us: @rollingstone on Twitter | RollingStone on Facebook

Keep them coming X, this is great stuff.

I hope Assasin nuh bodda read dis.

The Glass Bucket ..If Yuh white yuh brite , if yuh brown stick around,if yuh black- stay back ...I will call yuh

http://skabook.com/foundationska/tag/glass-bucket-club/

http://www.jamaicanfamilysearch.com/...2/photos95.htm

http://www.cardcow.com/372045/glass-...gston-jamaica/

Chocomo Lawn: The politricks of music,class and culture.

http://books.google.com/books?id=LcT...amaica&f=false

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...tical-success-

Any historain who tells me that rasta had little to do with Jamaicas musical development is deluded, or that our music couldnt aspire to such heights without the Genius of Chris Whitewell,need to put it in context , how much of his genius was down to colonial privilege ? or to put it bluntly exploitation be it direct or indirect by how the system was set up.

In all of this we see who controlled the musical power in the sense of trade routes to the U.K or world - studios and production, how Reid and Coxsone used their ingenuity to build there own, others did too but you can argue that based on color and class the chinese and others (syrians) had an easier route.

All that musical genius was bubbling from the underclass and the proof is Black -Rasta- ska musicians have out shone the higher hues,years after.

Now that is some historical documented context.
                  Last edited by Sir X; February 4, 2014, 09:09 AM.

Of course, this is what stayed with me:

But there was a definite rift because we had these so called 'expatriate' or overseas engineers, and the local people. There was always a rift, 'why should they be getting more money?', 'why should they be paid more?', among the locals. And there's a little bit of undercurrent there, dissatisfaction by the local people. But however, because I was single and, again, a fun-loving sort of person, it's hard to say this... but I almost purposely went out of my way to become friendly to the people, to overcome this.*

Q:*It was a lot of that racial vibe in the air?*

A:*No. I think that's probably an international problem, what is happening these days. In those days it wasn't so much racial as class, to class divisions. And yeah, there were very, very wealthy black people who literally treated the working class rather abyssmally. You know, very wealthy Jamaicans of all colours and textures and racial origins. Because, remember, there were Lebanese, a Syrian influence, there were rich merchants, there's quite a bit of... a load of Jewish businessmen in later years who were very wealthy, and yet they were employing their gardeners for, in those days, probably thirty shillings which is, what, six dollars a week! These people were living in shacks in terrible circumstances. However, it never occurred to them to be violent about it, that was their lot and they were trying and endeavouring to lift themselves out of it. But I realised that my particular feeling was, the working class Jamaicans - because I was single and happy and fun-loving, I purposedly went out of my way to get a friendship with the Jamaican people as opposed to going to the upper people, as a lot of the expatriate engineers tended to do. You know, relished this class distinction.
                    This "situation" did not start the other day with Burrell and the nice German man. Sadly, it is a feature of Jamaican life since Wappy kill Phillop. Makes me wonder sometimes if even that killing had to do with some class issues.
                    Last edited by Mosiah; February 4, 2014, 09:32 AM.

Boss yuh a guh mek mi ,hijack mi post...deal wid di ganja issue, yuh tackle di class, brutality and economic situation, its all linked.Like a man say trinity, we have no understanding of respect for a mans privacy or property and its linked to certain laws.

One thing about these post and it must be a Ska thing, everyone thought it was a good time...lol.

Excellent posts X.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Would love to get Historian's perspective on these.

Of course, this is what stayed with me:

This "situation" did not start the other day with Burrell and the nice German man. Sadly, it is a feature of Jamaican life since Wappy kill Phillop. Makes me wonder sometimes if even that killing had to do with some class issues.
                            You are a credit to your race... juss lika Sass an' Ben

Woooiiieee mi melanin!

Ok...this is a compliment, right?