Defence Makes Mince Meat of Prosecution Witness

• Defence Makes Mince Meat of Prosecution Witness

Q- A highlight of your cross examination by Mr. Rogers was when you said ‘when I said OFF, I meant to say it was ON’

A- My Lord, when I said off in my statement, I meant to say it was on. When I said it was on, I meant it was off

+++ note- ‘it’ above refers to a BB torch with IMEI 3682 – attributed to Kartel +++

Q- the date accessed was October 6, 2011 – do you agree the date presented to the jury that the card was accessed on that date
    A- Yes

Q- do you remember saying the phone and SD card were not accessed before the 14th of October 2011
    A- not accessed by me

Q- originally you said the 22nd
    A- yes

Q- you have admitted to the jury that at least 8 times you said you accessed the phone on the 22nd
    A- yes

Q- your much VAUNTED forensic report speaks to the 22nd of October
    A- yes

My note – word in capital means the speaker has raised his voice to high decibels.

Q- Listen to this question and think very carefully before you answer. Answer to the best of your ability- do you agree that the dates you presented have lead to uncertainty and that has undermined the veracity of your evidence
    A- I don’t agree

Q- your forensic image has provided evidence that is unreliable
    A- No Sir

Q- if you had followed the simple course of going to RIM – tell the judge what that is – you could have verified this beyond a reasonable doubt
    A- no one goes to RIM

Q- is it because you don’t know about it why you didn’t go
    A- RIM doesn’t give customer information for privacy reasons

Q- so if Joseph Simmonds (DIGICEL) told the court so, he would be lying
    A- I can’t say that

Q- RIM would have taken away the shadow from over your evidence
    A- is that a question

Q- you came and presented several pieces of evidence- video, text, BB messages
    A- yes

Q- but you agree the video evidence could have been IMPORTED from somewhere provided there was a similar device
    A- I only extracted data based on what was handed to me

Q- so you can’t speak to the origin
    A- no My Lord

Q- you can’t say whether the video was modified
    A- no Sir

Q- you can’t say whether the sound was imported
    A- no

Taylor (prosecution rises) – My Lord this sounds like a closing speech to the jury and not cross examination. My friend has started closing arguments without Crown closing his case

Finson continues his cross exam as if Taylor never spoke
    Q- suggesting your evidence has no evidential value
    A- I don’t agree. I extracted data from the phone in a forensically sound manner and presented findings explaining how they were extracted. I have not modified or introduced anything foreign into this case

Q- ok. Nothing foreign on the 14th October
    A- in all of my exam
    Finson – OK

Finson – despite all the protestation by my colleague (Taylor) the simple thing I am saying is, you can’t speak to the 6th or the 10th of October
    A- no

Q- I suggest your evidence is WORTHLESS
    A- My Lord, I extracted and presented the evidence

Now an awkward moment – a phone with a very loud ring goes on in the direction of the twelve member jury. Judge Campbell looks straight head and keeps his peace. It’s as if the silence was never disturbed. All heads straight.

Finson continues – when you come here as expert – trained HERE, THERE and EVERYWHERE (this is said in Finson’s best British affected accent with a laughter accompanying it – the court chuckles with Finson), you have done no investigation to say how in HELL the phone could have been used
    A- is this a question

Q- do you believe you owe the members of the JCF to launch an investigation and save yourself further embarrassment
    A – no sir

Q- you told the court you deleted you Facebook page
    Taylor blurts out – ‘DEACTIVATED’
    Finson continues – DEACTIVATED Facebook – you said there’s a possibility there were hackers
    A- I said Facebook was HACKABLE

Q- I apologize to you because you are a very active computer surfer, you like surfing
    A- I have no idea what you are talking about

Then this moment which caused the loudest collective court laughter
    Finson – ARE you OBSESSED with Mr. Palmer? Stand up Mr. Palmer! (Kartel rises in the dock with his hands clasped in front of him between his legs)

Finson repeats – ARE you OBSESSED with him!
    A- obsessed is a strong word

Most of the heads in courtroom are now down – stitches – funny moment
    Kartel sits

Q- do you know urbanplanet.com
    A- Urban planet?

Finson checks his notes and realizes it is Urban island and not planet and continues
    Q- you made comment on that urban island bout di man tu
    A- no sir

Finson laughs for a good five seconds then says
    Yu mek all post pon youtube bout di man
    A- what is that about

Finson – you tell me nuh u dweet
    Witness is silent

Q- I am going to say this to you seriously
    Finson now changed from laughter to a stern face
    Q- don’t you think a serious man like you should be more careful
    A- about what

Q- about the things you do on the computer at nights! Your actions on social media have cast a CLOUD over your other evidence
    Witness is silent

Finson – if you had followed the Commissioner’s directive people would take your evidence seriously
    A- no My Lord

Q- your failure to properly identity through Research – weh di place name – RIM – call up Mr Simmonds and find out about it – you don’t think you should do that
    A- No counsel

Q- you cannot say to this jury that you can guarantee the integrity of the information. You have fallen short of the mark!
    A- No My Lord

Finson – you drop the baton and you falter and the system is worse for it! Thank you my Lord

Q- u see Mr Simmonds name on statement
    A- yes – Joseph Derrick Graham Simmonds
    My note - Joseph Simmonds is the DIGICEL executive that gave evidence for the prosecution weeks ago

Q- 24th November 2011 statement
    A- Yes

Q-Surprising that your digital report is also dated 24th Nov 2011 – digital forensic report
    A- Merely coincidental

Q- No mek we sort it out before -( question repeated)
    A – I have to refresh my memory

Q- You can look at mine ( sends document up to witness) Is that your report.
    A- Yes

Q- Dated 24th Nov. It would be a remarkable coincidence that your report and Simmonds statement are on same date
    A- It would be

Q- Your report stated that you carried out exam of phone with a particular machine
    A- yes, I used a forensic device

My note – the name of the machine in the statement of Det Sgt Linton was told to the court, so too the device he then said he actually used. That name will not be printed here for security reasons

Q- I asked you if in the November 24 report you stated that you used a particular software
    A- Yes

Q- Was that what you used Mr. Linton
    A- I used …

Q- No man. What do you have in your report
    A – I used a a particular machine

Q- I am talking about your report – did you state that you connected using this machine..
    A- Yes

Q- Is that true
    A- I have subsequently corrected that to give the name of the one I sued

Q- Take it step by step – in your report you said a particular kit…are you saying you made a mistake
    A- Yes counsel

Q -The big forensic examiner …how many times in that report u wrote that mistake
    A- I would have to look at the report

Lorne asks for original report and Sends document up to Linton- asks if signature is there and if that’s the report prepared

Lorne to Linton – If you see babylon and certain things on it, I wasn’t referring to you….court chuckles.

My note – Michael Lorne is a rasta man and one who is big in the reparation and repatriation movement in Jamaica. He would have called Fyah bun pon. Babylon a whole heap a time

Q- Look and see how many times you made mistake
    A- At least 4 times

Q- Look again man. You go Syria go train police. Want to show we have high standards in Jamaica
    Witness looks

Q- About how much times
    A- I see about 6/7

Q- Now we going up nicely eeh, gone from 4 to 6/7…6/7 times you made mistake Mr. Linton …now. Mr. Linton look again, you not going to short change me today. This aspect is important. Machine you use is important if you use wrong machine you get wrong data. Look again Mr. Linton

Court waits
    A- About 9/10

Q-You see we going up Mr Linton. I had underlines in red to assist you. You didn’t see that

A- No

Q- At least 10 times you made a mistake in writing that you used that machine
    A- Yes counsel

Q- The machine you said you used is not a forensic device
    A- Not a law enforcement forensic device

Q- Is a device you can buy over the counter
    A- I Never bought one

Q- But you know about a forensics one that is different
    A- Yes ..that’s what I used

Q- So how comes you write the wrong one 10 times
    A- I meant to say the forensic device that I used

Q- Is it a more inferior device than the one you actually used
    A – It’s for corporate use

Q- The one you wrote ten times in your report is not read only
    A- No

Q- Because some of data you say you got could not be extracted with that device

A- I didn’t use the one I wrote in my report .. None of the data came from that device

Q- I didn’t say it come from that you know. You are the expert. The data you presented could you have presented them with that

Q- You have never used it but you made the mistake five plus five times equal TEN
    Judge – don’t make a statement Mr. Lorne

Q- suggesting that a lot of the information you say you got from the phone you made it up! You manufactured it and put it there, you and your colleagues
    A- No counsel

Q- All dis ting about going to Cuba and all these things, mek u mek it up!
    A- No

Q- Georgina make a Cuba -you don’t know the song. You must and you so fascinated with Palmer

Q- Packed soap sell a Cuba – you are big fan

A-Don’t know about that

Q- So you can see the BB messages generated on the Report
    A- No My lord

Q- You said up in statement- I think in answer to my friend you started working on the phone of the 14th of Oct
    A- Yes

Q- Is that true
    A- Yes

Q- Did you state anywhere that you started on 12th on 3682
    A- For a different phone not 3682

Q- Said in statement that the same day phone came in they were turned off battery taken out etc and then turned off and then on
    A- Can you show me that transcript

Q- Before we show you you have to understand first. Did you say that
    A -Have to refresh my mind

Q- I will help you. Crave your indulgence Your Lordship ‘ you didn’t take it out until you started working on it on the 12th’….answer was yes
    A- On which phone

3682 mr. Linton.

A- I started working on the 6427 on the 12th Oct 2011

Q- But Mr Linton in your further statement did you say this ‘I conducted further analysis on 4 mobile phones’
    A – Mean I would have started that day
    Dec 15,2011 stsmt handed to witness

Q- Did you say ‘I conducted digital forensics analysis on 4 mobile phones’
    A- No didn’t write that. Mean I started

Q- Paragraph was just shown to you. You want to see it again ‘ I conducted digital forensic analysis on 4 mobile phones
    A- Yes

Q-Any hing there about started my report
    A- No

Q- Suggesting 12 and 14 of October might have been insignificant but you keep shifting goalpost when questions are asked of you …evidence unreliable
    A- No My Lord

Q- One moment you told court you look in phones to verify certain numbers
    A- When you said look in phones what you mean

Q- Looked in back of phones
    A- Yes

Q- On previous occasion at that same spot on oath on King James Bible did you swear to speak truth when Rogers asked ‘so when you verify you don’t look at numbers in phone and you say no counsel I did not
    A- Can I see the transcript please counsel
    Lorne – Oh yes we are here to oblige …look at that Mr. Linton

Q- Seen it now
    A- Yes counsel

Q-So you agree – repeat ques
    A- It was when I verified in the book, that was the question

Q- Mr Linton it says here when you verify you don’t look at phone
    Taylor (prosecutor objects) – he’s speaking truth. Be fair to the witness

Lorne – You know what we agree showing you to show you are coming here to deceive. Yo u say to Rogers ‘ I verified entry…2 things written in phone …so when you verify you didn’t look at number in phone …no’

Taylor – that is not true

Pierre Rogers mumbles
    Judge – Mr. Rogers pls don’t disrupt the court
    Rogers – apologizes and stands
    Judge – statement are reaching the jury and I want it to stop now. Counsel has a duty if evidence is being misquoted he has a duty to correct it
    Pierre – and so do I My Lord
    Judge – not in a manner that disrupts proceeding
    Rogers – as it pleases Your Lordship

Lorne continues – Can the machine you now tell the court you used not cause you to bypass PWD and get data
    A- Yes

Q- Suggesting because you were using inferior technology by using the machine you listed in your report, that is why you couldn’t do that
    A- the forensic machine now has updated system to newer models to accommodate nearer technology

Q- Did you also say, ‘I didn’t see who turned on or off phone’
    A- Can I see transcripts pls

A- yes

Q- So can’t verify chain of custody
    A- Has nothing to do with chain of custody

Q- Chain of custody means you can say for certain keeping of item from one person to next
    A- Yes

Q- And you say your teach it
    A- Yes

Q- Wouldn’t you say at time when someone turned phone off that affects chain of custody
    A- That has nothing to do with chain of custody

Q- Tell me in this case, you said a lot about SD card right
    A- Right

Q- But when you were writing up list of things – no mention of SD card. Am I correct
    A- No counsel

Q- At no time did you record brand or model of SD card
    A- Yes counsel

Q- Don’t these things have a brand or model

A -Yes counsel

Q- And you made no mention
    A- No counsel

Q- Do they have serial numbers

A- External serial number comes too fine

Q- Oh…but you have come here with your magnifying glass
    A- Yes

Q- You must have used it when you were examining SD card

A- Not this one

Q- You have another you used at time
    A-Can’t recall

Q- Storage capacity of card recorded
    A- Not from my recollection

Q- Would they be important to make story look good
    A- No counsel

Q- You were asked ‘ with BB message and so on you could verify data with makers of BB, RIM- Research in motion in Canada
    A- Don’t know about that

Lorne – mek wi leave Jamaica, Syria now gone to Canada

Q- You don’t know of people who when they want to verify they go to the original source. You as originator of cybercrime unit don’t know you can go to RIM to get verification
    A- RIM doesn’t give info about BB convo for privacy reasons

Q- Privacy right. But as a law enforcement person couldn’t you have gotten a court order or warrant to go to RIM
    A- I cannot speak to that

Q- Never consulted senior persons in JCF about that
    A- Can’t speak to that

Q- Never read RIM privacy policy on internet
    A- No counsel

Q- I am Suggesting they provide information for law enforcement purposes
    A- Don’t know about that

Q- You didn’t do it as you know information you said was on the card was not there
    A – My Lord – All info I provided was info I extracted from device and presented

Judge – u specifically put to witness that messages re. Cuba are made up. Were there any messages from your client in that regard
    Lorne – not specifically My Lord
    Judge who are the messages about or from

Lorne – allegedly Mr. Palmer
    Judge – suggestion re all of these things relating to Mr. Palmer do you know what Mr. Finson suggestion to witness was in relation to these matters
    Lorne – that none of those things existed and were made up against his client. In fact Your Lordship Finson suggested some of these came to counter bail application he was making and prior to that! none of these things arose
    Judge – any messages attributed to your client
    Lorne – yes Your Lordship…Voice Notes and thanks for guidance Your Lordship…Voice Notes
    Judge – any attributed to your client
    Lorne – not attributed to but mentions my client. My client’s name is called. None of the BB messages referred to Shawn Campbell at all or come from him

Lorne continues to Linton – Therefore Mr. Linton, this message here and even in those Voice Note where Shawn is mentioned, that is made up and submitted to this court
    A- No ML

Q- You want to pull Shawn Campbell in mix up your are propagating
    A- No ML.

Q- the device you mention in your report you can out things back and forth on phone
    A– Purpose is to copy from one phone to another.

Q- Suggesting you know quite well. One is corporate and one is law enforcement

Q- Phones – did u ask how they came to be in police custody
    A- I was given advise by Corporal Pit and carried out instructions

Q- did they have a Search warrant
    A- Didn’t ask

Q- Did you try to see if you were on right Track before you carried out exam
    A- Carried out exam based on request from police

Q- And Mr. Linton in this 24th Nov 2011 forensic report, please tell the jury whether Shawn Campbell’s name or telephone number attributed to him appears in this digital forensic report that you prepared
    A- No My Lord

Lorne – That may it so please you madam foreman and members of the jury is the end of my cross.

Verbatim notes – cross examination of Detective Sergeant Linton (formerly of the Cybercrimes Unit of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, JCF. Sgt Linton is now at MOCA) by Pierre Rogers, Attorney at law for Kahira Jones.

Q- The voice notes, they were part of conversation

A- They were recovered from a voice notes folder My Lord

Q- Not part of a conversation

A- Persons were speaking My Lord

Q- so was it part of a conversation

A- Persons were speaking on the voice notes My Lord

Q- go to your forensic image. Is it still sealed?

A- No

My note – forensic images are contained on a DVD that had been seal. The seal was broken leading Pierre Rogers ask questions about who broke the seal

Q- Who broke the seal

A- I did (says the Registrar of the court) – Judge made an Order the previous day for the prosecution to view the contents of what was on the DVD and that the Registrar should facilitate the viewing. The matter of who broke the seal and whether the integrity of the contents remain in tact became subject of legal submissions for more than 10mins.

Matter was resolved with this:

Judge – There are things done in court on the presumption that persons are ministers of justice. Not everything done should be called into question without more.

Pierre Rogers – truth is My Lord, I will move on

Judge- thank you counsel.

Q- open the document please Sir. Find R v Adija Palmer/C/Blackberry/Media/Font/480×480

A- Give me the file name, you gave me path name

Q- (File name given)- Can I get the footprint that is time created, accessed and viewed

A – yes Sir

Q- This is a forensic image of the SD card

A- Please be specific

Q- I am asking about the CD u are viewing

A- Its the image from the SD card handed to me by the Registrar

Q- This is a bit by bit production of what was on the SD card

A- It is a bit by bit copy of the original SD card

Q- would it show the time it was accessed

A- yes

Q- You remember you said before you had nothing to do with the SD card between the 1st and 13th of October 2011

A- yes

Q- Look at that for me. Do you agree file was accessed on the 6th of October

A-yes

Q- You said you had nothing to do with it then

A- Yes

Q- Yday you said if unauthorized persons had use of phone, the evidence would be virtually worthless

A- What evidence? in what context

Q- Question above repeated

A- Yes

Q- Did you authorise anyone to use the document on the 6th of Oct

A- No

Q- Here it is that the data on the SD card is being accessed. Not the phone but the data on the SD card (Rogers takes his voice up a notch for emphasis)

A- Yes

Q- other files on the SD card accessible as well!

A- My Lord, when thumbnail created, it creates a key as a reference

Q- (Rogers presses Linton on a previous question regarding worthlessness of evidence if there was unauthorized access of phone and SD card. Linton says he can’t recall saying that prompting Rogers to ask the Judge what his record of the notes says. Judge has difficulty finding the exact note so Rogers ask the question again)

Q- if unauthorzed persons had use of the phone it would be virtually worthless

Taylor for prosecution objects – argumentaive question and one that is to be left to the jury.

Rogers – when I asked the question last week, there was no objection

Taylor- I am objecting now!

Q – repeated

A- No don’t agree

Q- If someone have up di phone di information on it would be good

A- If they had the phone so that data was modified that is relevant to the case then data would be worthless.

Q- can you speak to any other reason other than manipulation why anyone would have up di phone’

A- I don’t know

Q- On the 9th of Oct when phone was in custody of police, calls were being made from the phone

A- I don’t know of that

Q- Text was sent

A- I don’t know of that

Q- YOu ARE A LIAR

A- No. I’m not

Q- If texts were sent, they would be captured by your machine

A- Which machine

Q- di same one weh u a look pon. Are you saying no texts were sent

A- be more specific

Q- repeated as above

A- What I recall is a request was sent from that phone prior to it coming to the forensic lab requiring identity information on that phone

Q- is that a text

A- Yes

Q- Sent by the police when the phone was kept under sterile conditions

Taylor (prosecution) – be fair and specific. Specify a date

Rogers continues – wasn’t it sending messages

A- Messages? I can’t recall messages

Judge – it sent message about identity

A- Yes My Lord

Q- it received messages at 9:37PM on the 30th September, 2011

Judge – what date was the phone taken by the police

Rogers – 5:30PM on the 30th day of September, 2011

Q- This phone was being used by the police

A- be more specific

Q- Persons used the phone when it was in the custody of the polcie

A- What do you mean by ‘used’

Q- You think this a JOKE?

A- Be more specific. The phone was used before it came to the forensic unit to send an SMS requiring identity of the phone

Q- Phone was on at that time

A- Yes

Q- It was used by police at forensic unit

A- Can’t speak to that

Q- Hol’ on, hol’ on. It wasn’t used on the 9th

A- I can’t speak to that. My report shows outgoing calls

Q- So it wasn’t being used

A- I can’t speak to that

Rogers – Yuh know wah, I have no further questions for the witness!

End of cross examination by Pierre Rogers of Detective Sergeant Linton.

Jamaica soon need its own court tv channel!

At the risk of upsetting Mosiah, I would love to watch Tavares-Finson at work. I had heard from a lawyer bredren of mine that he was very dramatic and it is obvious in the court notes.

Apart from all our other problems with law enforcement, the quality of our prosecution witnesses must make getting convictions even more difficult.

You know I kept hearing Kartel claim police were trying to frame him and I laughed it off...but after following the transcripts of the trial it is clear that the frame up is real...not saying Kartel and them didn't murder the yute...but the police are manufacturing evidence...how could a forensic expert list in his report a commercially available piece of software that can import information unto the phone and try and pass it off as law enforcement software that is read only...i wonder if Mosiah realise now why we need people like Finson?

You think my opinion on TTF was formed on account of this trial?!?!?

At the risk of upsetting Mosiah, I would love to watch Tavares-Finson at work. I had heard from a lawyer bredren of mine that he was very dramatic and it is obvious in the court notes.
              Me more than you! Jamaica needs to see TTF at work, the desperate tactics would open many eyes.

And we also need to see the overall decrepit conditions of our courts and its players, from some of the judges and other lawyers.

So what is the aim of your biased reporting on this Forum?

posting the transcripts from court is being biased? what yuh saying...that I made up what I posted?

And then eediotorialising along the way?!?

Sorry, I meant to say editorializing.

show me where i editorialized anything...i am going to make YOU apologize to ME on this forum today...Tom would be proud of me

And then eediotorialising along the way?!?

mi clavicle!!