Maudib? ...and Don1 please come out to play? Aubyn Hill...

• Maudib? ...and Don1 please come out to play? Aubyn Hill...

speaks?

--------

Brain Drain? ...or a silly argument on and about Brain Drain by the gentlemen and other former top brass - e.g. Eddie Seaga, Maudib and Don!?

Aubyn Hill challenges Portia

Transform economy to knowledge-driven one, consultant says

By GARFIELD MYERS Editor-at-Large myersg@jamaicaobserver.com

Monday, January 27, 2014

- "knowledge workers are the assets of the future", Hill appeared to suggest that the Jamaica Government should not be discouraged by the migration of the trained and educated to greener pastures.

"We must turn our education system into an education industry where we train actuaries, train nurses, train doctors, we train them for Jamaica, we train them for Saudi Arabia, we train them for the United States.

"We train ... them and send out like India did - when India was Socialist in the 1970s and by the time they come back in the '90s they are owners and investors of huge businesses ... send them out and train them well. It is an investment in Jamaicans, it is not a cost ... a cost you don't get back, an investment you get a return on," Hill said.

Source: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ortia_15886364

Wid dem ganja culture ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Just saying? ...who is 'on the money'?

Which policy aim is on the right path - a fear of what is called 'brain drain' or going along the path of 'tek weh wi money' i.e. seeking economic salvation in maximizing on markets - market for our human resources, our products and services - outside of Jamaica?

...a recognition of the running up between a rock - increasing levels of underemployment & unemployment...the rate of attrition from our workforce, our miniscule internal market and our production of...continuous production of graduates from our education institutions...and attendant societal pressures...

Guess now Aubyn Hill is on board...has come awake to the harsh reality...the argument immediately...then view...changes?

Karl please don't parrot specious arguments...or take sound arguments out of context to try to validate your beliefs

The current Jamaican environment exhibits gross underfunding of education AND in addition the education system is skewed towards producing skills that are largely irrelevant to the knowledge-based economy we need. This is an example of gross & persistent stupidity by stupid PNP & JLP politicians... the current PNP set in power provide a vivid example of this stupidity

In that environment where the domestic economy suffers from a lack of relevant workforce skills... it is myopic & ridiculous to focus on spending more on education specifically to export workers with the most valuable skills (low value-add workers.. yes export them)
        Even you may realize this when hub operations are forced to import skilled labor since it's in short supply domestically

It is reasonable to have exporting skilled labor as a policy when Jamaica has an excess it cannot absorb or incentivize .... but it's folly when the country suffers from a skills shortage which is projected to worsen. This will limit development prospects by making Jamaica less attractive for high value-add or Knowledge Age businesses to invest in

This is why the country's education must pivot from a 3Rs/Rote Learning classical model suitable to the 1960s... to a Knowledge Age focus on STEM in an applications & skill certification environment
        Last edited by Don1; January 27, 2014, 10:47 AM.

Karl please don't parrot specious arguments...or take sound arguments out of context to try to validate your beliefs
          you are talking about?

The current Jamaican environment exhibits gross underfunding of education AND in addition the education system is skewed towards producing skills that are largely irrelevant to the knowledge-based economy we need. This is an example of gross & persistent stupidity by stupid PNP & JLP politicians... the current PNP set in power provide a vivid example of this stupidity
          That is what Exporting excess says/hammers one over the head with ! - Produce that which is needed for local 'consumption'/local labour force requirement/demand and 'export the excess'.

What is stupid about that?

In that environment where the domestic economy suffers from a lack of relevant workforce skills... it is myopic & ridiculous to focus on spending more on education specifically to export workers with the most valuable skills (low value-add workers.. yes export them)
          Even you may realize this when hub operations are forced to import skilled labor since it's in short supply domestically
          Correct me if I am wrong or did I not hear you correctly - Aren't you one of those who have been preaching for a long time that the most valuable skills are 'knowledge based skills'?

How is it you are now claiming that producing such skilled workers in quantities where we can adequately supply our needs and provide for export is bad?

Do you really have conviction of your claims that 'knowledge based skills are most valuable'? Yuh nuh heasy tuh ratid!!!!

It is reasonable to have exporting skilled labor as a policy when Jamaica has an excess it cannot absorb or incentivize .... but it's folly when the country suffers from a skills shortage which is projected to worsen. This will limit development prospects by making Jamaica less attractive for high value-add or Knowledge Age businesses to invest in
          That question following on Aubyn's statements is a crazy one. ...or have you forgotten in the few seconds since you read the report on/of his statements what was said?

Hey? ...you have not been residing in Shady Pines for many, many years have you?

...however, let me remind you that Aubyn requested a working on producing enough graduates to satisfy JA's needs and also to export such. It is an aim! I did not see time constraints on his stated policy.

---

btw - Your question or thinking on JA being able to supply 100% skill needs
          of a HUB as it moves during earliest years of its creation will never happen. There has never been any project of comparable size where locals could fill all positions at inception.

...and frankly I have not...or cannot recall any project of comparable size of 'The HUB' even in later years having all positions filled by 'locals'. I stand ready to be given examples of such?

This is why the country's education must pivot from a 3Rs/Rote Learning classical model suitable to the 1960s... to a Knowledge Age focus on STEM in an applications & skill certification environment
          In the context of your previous - Yeeeeeeeeee God !!!
          Last edited by Karl; January 27, 2014, 12:23 PM.

lol !

That only works if they are sent out.. not if they run away.. they are running away for a reason...

2 Billion a year in remittance is a joke when you consider 80% brain drain going on 30 years.. (#1 in the world)

"Jamaica is a place not friendly to investment" - Paulwell

lol !

That only works if they are sent out.. not if they run away.. they are running away for a reason...

2 Billion a year in remittance is a joke when you consider 80% brain drain going on 30 years.. (#1 in the world)

"Jamaica is a place not friendly to investment" - Paulwell

Look FORWARD!

Karl I have too little patience to be yappin about Jamaica going to the moon when we cannot even maintain an airline

The country needs to get serious and organize itself to create a modern education system suitable for the 21st Century at the pre-primary, primary, secondary and tertiary levels.

Do that basic task and satisfy core domestic development needs... then i'll pay attention to entirely peripheral issues like producing skills for export as a policy goal

Mi like stay pon Earth wid practical innovation...mi nuh inna di pie inna di sky bizniz

Karl I have too little patience to be yappin about Jamaica going to the moon when we cannot even maintain an airline

The country needs to get serious and organize itself to create a modern education system suitable for the 21st Century at the pre-primary, primary, secondary and tertiary levels.

Do that basic task and satisfy core domestic development needs... then i'll pay attention to entirely peripheral issues like producing skills for export as a policy goal

Mi like stay pon Earth wid practical innovation...mi nuh inna di pie inna di sky bizniz
                  Trust mi - I understand where you are coming from...
                  FORWARD!

karl, slogan time pass and gone now and we have little to show for it, acta...non verba

Slogan time will always be current time. It is past record we must leave behind and it is write our new chapter, we must!

Re: Little to show for it
                      You are correct.

...and isn't it something that the 'big leaders' that got us here were all men?
                      Last edited by Karl; January 27, 2014, 02:39 PM.

that is why .... more focus on a catchy slogan than anything else. deeds and acheivements worth far more than any likkle catcy play on words slogan.

leave those things behind karl and enter a new era, otherwise yuh helping to perptuate faurght!

Until you can answer a critical question.. you are in denial... you do realize that one can look forward while on the road to perdition ? Right ?

Why does Jamaica have the worse economic growth record of all countries on the plant over the last 40 years ?

Remember when we were 'Poised for Takeoff' ?

Or 'Seizing the commanding heights of the Economy..' that's an oldie but goodie..

What happened ?