• Mi notice unnu miss Aubyn Hill this week so let me post it

Overselling Government to reluctant investors

Published: Friday | January 24, 2014

Richard Byles, co-chairman of the Economic Programme Oversight Committee. - File

Aubyn Hill, Financial Gleaner Columnist

J
    amaica has passed two of its quarterly IMF-directed tests agreed under the fund's Extended Fund Facility (EFF) with the Government.The co-chairman of the Economic Programme Oversight Committee (EPOC), Richard Byles of Sagicor, is quoted as saying that the "outlook of the EPOC is that of continued cautious optimism that we will meet all of the IMF targets."

He is assured to the point of certainty that Jamaica will meet the third-quarter targets given the NIR figure of US$1.05 billion and a primary surplus number which was three per cent above the target at December 2013.

The NIR target was US$836.5 million and while the December out-turn was US$211 million higher than the target, the NIR level was only about a half of what the current administration inherited when it came to office in December 2011.

If the EPOC co-chairman's expectations hold for the third-quarter IMF test, Jamaica will still face the formidable challenge of having to meet another 12 quarterly tests under the EFF.

It would appear that Mr Byles is the co-chairman who has either been designated or has made the personal choice to don the mantle of 'Optimist in Chief' to highlight good or changing-to-good economic news. Byles is earning the perception as the cheerleader for the Government's good economic changes - driven almost exclusively by the IMF - and clearly first among equals as encourager for an apparently reluctant lot of investors in the private sector.

To be fair, Richard Byles has a tough task. He is of the private sector but his declarations as head of EPOC will reflect GOJ performance - good or bad. As a major investor in the Jamaican economy as the CEO of Sagicor, it is in his interest for the Government to be seen to be doing well - parts of his financial empire are regulated by the same Government - and when one hears him speak it is clear that he believes what he says.

His co-chairman, the governor of the central bank, Brian Wynter, cannot play the spokesman role Byles has adopted since the governor is much more restricted and must be very circumspect, given his official position.

His experiences must also tell him that after 40 years of really bad government by many bad politicians of all stripes, and by many in this current administration, investors will want to see a lot more positive performance over a longer period of time from the Government, and more than two quarters of passing IMF targets, in order to put down serious new money in the Jamaican economy.

The balancing of roles between cheerleader and an oversight inspector at EPOC, the need to encourage investors to invest so early in the game - after JDX and NDX one and two - and the debilitating depreciation of the Jamaican dollar over the last year all form the horns of the dilemma faced by Richard Byles.

DON'T LET GOJ OFF THE HOOK

When the tax package and a raft of other IMF-deadline-meeting legislation were swept, almost literally, through Parliament late last year, there were piles of congratulations heaped on the Government for its 'historic' legislative achievements.

Never mind that many pieces of legislation were late, some avoided due parliamentary debate and, in any event, that is what our legislators are supposed to do.

Kudos must go to ministers Peter Phillips and Mark Golding and their teams of technicians, as well as the experts at the offices of the chief parliamentary counsel and attorney general. It is no doubt a sign of how low our standards have fallen that normal work is seen greeted as exceptional.

Much worse, I believe, is the erroneous view expressed by many that the Government has 'done its part', or 'done enough', and it is the private sector which must step up - immediately, if not before - to plunk down its money in yet unstudied projects, in an uncertain economic climate and without any evidence of how the new legislation will be implemented.

How many laws investors know are on our books that are not implemented or are capriciously or subjectively enforced? How many statutory regulations are enforced with similar patchiness, nepotism or with bias towards friends?
    The optimists and political supporters must remember that money is very timid and seeks evidence of welcome and security. After decades of difficulty to do business in Jamaica and the lack of security with NDX and sliding-dollar clarity, investors will take time to tiptoe back into this economy.

The encouragers need to factor time into their encouragement equation.

Having said that, those investors who go into the market early get a chance at the big rewards which, along with possible big losses, accompany the big risks which will be taken by intrepid first-movers.

I certainly have been plugging for the economy to grow and private investment money is needed for that to happen. But it is the Government that must continue to foster and nurture an enabling environment.

The Government is still too big, too costly and far too difficult to deal with. In too many instances, it is unfriendly and unserving in the extreme. Ease of doing business? We have a far way to go.

While the private sector is to be encouraged to invest, let us not get too euphoric about some worthwhile legislation being passed. We must not let the Government off the hook to get its house in order and, thereby, encourage investment and economic growth.

Dr Peter Phillips is optimistic, too, but he keeps repeating that the job to recovery is just started -- and he is right.

Those with a ruthless objectivity know that the Government is the single largest impediment to private investment and growth, and therefore potentially largest enabler of economic growth in the short and medium term.

Aubyn Hill is the CEO of Corporate Strategies Limited and was an international banker for more than 25 years.Email: writerhill@gmail.comTwitter: @HillAubynFacebook: facebook.com/Corporate.Strategies
    Last edited by Karl; January 24, 2014, 05:20 PM.

Critical Thinking is all that is needed.. his timing leads one to believe he is a Forum reader.... and a reader of critical thinker posts...

Nuff cheerleading ah gwaan and clear self-interest is at the root.. especially from people heavily invested !

This should not blind Critical Thinkers to the realities however..

The Scorpion and the Frog.. understand the message..

Gwaaan Byles!!!!

We are what we think. What we think is "self-fulfilling". Think negative...and the negative will manifest itself as if by magic ... fortunately the opposite is also true

We have to think about Jamaica as a business. Without optimism for the future based on a realistic analysis of the present.... our Jamaican Business will get nowhere

We can adopt a tone of realistic optimism (as risk-takers do) or we can continue in a national funk with endless yappin about Manley, Seaga, PJ, FINSAC and other real or imagined failures of the 20th Century. Yappers yap... Entrepreneurs act. Some don't wait for all to be clear before acting....others are timid or too busy yappin about historical artifacts

One thing I admire about the American approach to life is its endless ability for renewal and redemption.... based on an optimistic outlook and "can-do" attitude.
      For example....although he was an unmitigated disaster and the immediate past president you'll almost never hear people yappin about Jawge Bush... there's a BIG lesson in that. Learn it.
      It's all about today and tomorrow...not yesterday

I'm jumping in ah yaad wid an innovation focus.... safe in the knowledge that True Blues are in control and have good work burning in the fields of Jamaica

But unnu cyan gwaan ruminate endlessly and with a negative orientation about ghosts of the past dat still haunt unnu .... no worries
      Last edited by Don1; January 24, 2014, 07:34 PM.

Look who a talk????. You had a Saul to Damacus moment???

" We can adopt a tone of realistic optimism (as risk-takers do) or we can continue in a national funk with endless yappin about Manley, Seaga, PJ, FINSAC and other real or imagined failures of the 20th Century. Yappers yap... Entrepreneurs act. Some don't wait for all to be clear before acting....others are timid or too busy yappin about historical artifacts "

Everything economically is done with guarded optimism especially when it comes to Jamaica because government support too much folly. Nobody is not telling you not to be optimistic, some of us have guarded optimism. The fact is there are challenges and warning signs and we have to heed them. Next time you talk bout Daywalker, Retrobate and crew I will remind you. Don't just choose history when it suits you.

Of course when people bring up Vampiyas or Reprobates as people to respect or celebrate...Don1 agguh deh pon dem case wid reality.

Mi nuh deh yah fi cheer Vampiya...mi slay dem and dem backward philosophy of division by violence....and den move on wid di Century 21 Innovation Agenda for Progress... How about you??

mi a defend progress from 19 how long. I remember people cuss mi when them say Jamaica and America a move to "service industry"" only. Them cuss mi when them talk about the dot.com boom. Man nearly fight mi when mi talk bout Finsac and then Cash plus.

You have to know your history and don't just buy into fake gold, it will get you nowhere fast. Yes buy into true development, progress and real GDP growth.

mi a defend progress from 19 how long. I remember people cuss mi when them say Jamaica and America a move to "service industry"" only. Them cuss mi when them talk about the dot.com boom. Man nearly fight mi when mi talk bout Finsac and then Cash plus.

You have to know your history and don't just buy into fake gold, it will get you nowhere fast. Yes buy into true development, progress and real GDP growth.
              Gwaan Bartlett!!!!!!!

We are what we think. What we think is "self-fulfilling". Think negative...and the negative will manifest itself as if by magic ... fortunately the opposite is also true

We have to think about Jamaica as a business. Without optimism for the future based on a realistic analysis of the present.... our Jamaican Business will get nowhere

We can adopt a tone of realistic optimism (as risk-takers do) or we can continue in a national funk with endless yappin about Manley, Seaga, PJ, FINSAC and other real or imagined failures of the 20th Century. Yappers yap... Entrepreneurs act. Some don't wait for all to be clear before acting....others are timid or too busy yappin about historical artifacts

One thing I admire about the American approach to life is its endless ability for renewal and redemption.... based on an optimistic outlook and "can-do" attitude.
                For example....although he was an unmitigated disaster and the immediate past president you'll almost never hear people yappin about Jawge Bush... there's a BIG lesson in that. Learn it.
                It's all about today and tomorrow...not yesterday

I'm jumping in ah yaad wid an innovation focus.... safe in the knowledge that True Blues are in control and have good work burning in the fields of Jamaica

But unnu cyan gwaan ruminate endlessly and with a negative orientation about ghosts of the past dat still haunt unnu .... no worries
                bwaahahahahahaaahah!!!

Don...adjust your skirt...yuh slip is showing...

mi nuh know bout yuh but bad man nuh wear skirt...

if you disagree with something i posted you merely have to point it out so your view can be evaluated

PNP inherite the Logistics Hub plan and have inherited the IMF Bitter Pill.. they tried to go to Capital Market and failed so are forced to play ball.. for the time being..

Problem is we lost about 2 years due to Election reboot and PNP Management skills have been proven to be incompetent on a record setting level...

Not sure what all the cheer leading and 'confidence' is about..

Suggest yuh tek up yuh dissenting views wid yuh Hero Butch an im Newsletta, Daily Gleaner editorial staff, very senior members of the private sector, international financial analysts etc regarding these Belmont Rd talking points you spew

They seem to be preparing for and trumpeting a growth agenda at the moment ..... after projecting forward from recent developments under Spy Petah's watch

Yuh fi rejoice at yuh prospects..... unless yuh sell yuh land round ah Bushy Park too early and miss di Chiney upside...wooooiiee