Sass di train nuh leff yet..dem still ave room fi stragglers

• Sass di train nuh leff yet..dem still ave room fi stragglers

But unnu cyan gwaan chew unnu cud bout FINSAC an odda 1990s Termite Follies while Babylon ah get ready fi buy out yaad inna Century 21

Big Results From Logistics Hub Project This Year – World Bank Rep
    By Alecia Smith-Edwards January 22, 2014

World Bank Representative to Jamaica, Giorgio Valentini (left), is in discussion with Director General of the Planning Institute of Jamaica, Collin Bullock (centre); and Deputy Director, Economics Department, Caribbean Development Bank, Ian Durant. Occasion was the Jamaica logistics hub symposium at the Jamaica Conference Centre, downtown Kingston on Tuesday, January 21.
    Photo by: JIS Photographer

World Bank Representative to Jamaica, Giorgio Valentini, says that Jamaica could begin to see some “big results” from the Global Logistics Hub Initiative this year.

He was addressing the opening day of the Jamaica logistics hub symposium at the Jamaica Conference Centre, downtown Kingston on January 21.

The World Bank has been a key player with the Government and the private sector in formulating the logistics hub project, which is aimed at driving investment and creating sustainable employment over the long-term.

Mr. Valentini said that having worked on the project over the past two years, “we are really at a turning point”, noting that “this year can be the year in which Jamaica can see some of those big results coming to fruition.”

He said however, that to fully realize the benefits “we also need to think very clearly about how you as a society can change, can stimulate, can transform yourself to be a more innovation-type society.”

While pledging the World Bank’s continued support for the initiative, he stated that “we or the other partner institutions will not be able to do anything, unless there is really a change in the culture, a change in terms of making it happen”.

The World Bank Representative stated though, that he has already observed a change in how persons view the initiative.

“To me, compared to what I saw last year….I think there is really a change in the way people behave, the way people think, the way people talk about the logistics hub initiative compared to last year. People see those economic activities, they see the international companies that are coming,” he noted.

Director General of the Planning Institute of Jamaica (PIOJ), Collin Bullock, also shared the view that there is a need for a cultural shift in Jamaica which, he argued is essential “in terms of enhancing our capacity to manage a logistics process”.

“As Jamaicans, we need to enhance our capacity for time management and our values and attitudes relative to doing things on time, doing things efficiently and accomplishing things as committed,” he said.

Mr. Bullock further pointed out that the logistics hub initiative is a game changing project, with strong linkages and benefits for the average Jamaican, small and large firms, and the country in general.

“It provides the opportunity for an emergence of a new sub industry and the expansion and modernization of existing industries and significant human capital development through the expansion of skills within the labour force,” he said.

The two-day logistic hub symposium is being organised by the JCC and the Ministry of Industry, Investment and Commerce, in collaboration with JAMPRO and the Jamaica Business Development Corporation (JBDC).
    Last edited by Don1; January 23, 2014, 05:03 PM.

we will see. When things start concrete.

Oh mi si... yuh ah wait pon concrete fi pour an solidify now...LOL
      Suh yuh... Gwaan Bartlett!!! Syndrome.... nuh apply yasso??

Dat di juss affi hold one press conference fi announce one plan (which usually nuh pan out) fi sen yuh inna rapture...woooiiiee

Mi nuh put nuh money inna Bartlett. Are talking about investing hard earned cash or just talking?????

How can you just wash away the fact that people lose their life earnings and some health.

Yes there is some optimism in the Logistic Hub deal so let us just hope everything goes well but it will not takeaway a generation of Jamaican capital.

Mi nuh put nuh money inna Bartlett. Are talking about investing hard earned cash or just talking?????

How can you just wash away the fact that people lose their life earnings and some health.

Yes there is some optimism in the Logistic Hub deal so let us just hope everything goes well.
          I was referring to your frequent emission of Gwaans to Bartlett on dubious grounds

thought your comment was not to make the train left me in reference to doing something.

Anyway sounds good for now.

thought your comment was not to make the train left me in reference to doing something.

Anyway sounds good for now.
              ok boss