• Levi Roots' children claim he cut them off after becoming fa

Levi Roots' children claim he cut them off after becoming famous

Tuesday, January 21, 2014 | 1:45 PM

Levi Roots

KINGSTON, Jamaica -- Levi Roots, the dreadlocked Jamaican behind the Reggae Reggae Sauce, has declined to comment on claims by his children that he had cut them off.

The Daily Mail reported on Friday that two of his eight children by seven mothers "claimed he had never paid a penny in child support, at least four of his children are struggling on benefits, and one is effectively homeless after he refused to help her".

The entrepreneur, whose real name is Keith Valentine Graham, had appeared on Dragon’s Den to market the Reggae Reggae Sauce that would make him a multi-millionaire, the Daily Mail reported. Then, Levi Roots had billed it as the ultimate family collaboration.

He told the world that the sauce was made to his Jamaican grandmother’s authentic recipe and said that his children helped out in his business, Daily Mail reported.

However, his daughters Joanne Caesar, 33, and Sharlene Williams, 32, say otherwise.

The Daily Mail reported that Caesar, a law student, "said her father has cut her out of his life – and his £30million fortune – after she helped to develop the famous sauce and provided backing vocals on his advert."

While Williams "said her father ‘took advantage’ of her by making her work at his shop without paying her a wage and refusing to make her an employee," the Daily Mail reported, adding that both daughters agreed "he had not been a good father to them and their siblings, aged one to 36".

After appearing on Dragon's Den in 2007, Dragons Peter Jones and Richard Farleigh invested in his business and shortly after Sainsbury’s said it would stock the sauce, Daily Mail reported. Levi Roots has since expanded the range of the Reggae Reggae Sauce.

However his daughters allege that after Dragon's Den they stopped hearing from him.

Daily Mail reported that Caesar said that, "He cut all of his children off because he said that we were all after his money."

She also said she wanted "him to remember who he was before he became Mr Reggae Reggae Sauce man, because he was a nice man".

Daily Mail said that Levi Roots declined to comment.
    Last edited by Karl; January 21, 2014, 03:21 PM.

They are 30 + years old...who gives a rats ass

It seems like the roots dah way him roots. LOL

yuh wrong him? 8 pickney & 7 baby moddas

Typical fi Jamaican man fi have multiple youths fi multiple women and cut dem off.

Especially when them a entertainers.

not sure this is applicable...these ladies are married and have kids...levi mus support her and her husband & pickney...hell no...plus they sold their story to a tabloid so they really are not that credible...levi sound like a smart man to me...still living in his council flat...if him buy big house and car for his family yuh woulda here how him don't have no sense and soon bruck

You didn't read the part that he did not pay child support? If that is true then the system can still get him. The mothers or their estate or the state may have a case against him and the children may be able to get him for the consequences of not providing child support.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                  You didn't read the part that he did not pay child support? If that is true then the system can still get him. The mothers or their estate or the state may have a case against him and the children may be able to get him for the consequences of not providing child support.
                  So 20 years later they realize he wasn't paying child support? So at 30+ years old what is it exactly they are looking for? I haven't heard a word from anybody but two old grey back daughters wit husband and pickney...if you want to take that story as gospel then so be it...seems like a shakedown twenty years later if yuh aks me

Not sure the effect the bad publicity on the brand will have or how it will help to enact changes for a better relationship...
                    If you are rich then by extension your girlfriend will live a privileged life,family is permanent.
                    When your child is homeless then.....

Levi done sell out the brand to a conglomerate already...money dun mek

without condoning him for not paying child support, BT have a point. if they got on without it up until now, it does seem like a shakedown kinda thing for those 30+ y.o. to be embarking on this now ....

yuh think him nuh know dem?!!

But when would they shake him down, when him bruk like me and yuh? Ok, bruk like me?

I say wait till him win di lottery yes!

So 20 years later they realize he wasn't paying child support? So at 30+ years old what is it exactly they are looking for? I haven't heard a word from anybody but two old grey back daughters wit husband and pickney...if you want to take that story as gospel then so be it...seems like a shakedown twenty years later if yuh aks me
                            Shake down or not there is called something call back child support and it is collectable even if the offspring is an adult

http://www.moneycrashers.com/back-child-support/

I tend to agree. If him really neva pay nuh child support all those years then him should be paying up now.

Me nuh know if the recipient should be the mother, the children or even the state if the pickney dem was on the dole, but him owe somebody something.