• Obama fund-raiser at ganja forum

Obama fund-raiser at ganja forum

Historic first marijuana growers association to protect small farmers

BY DESMOND ALLEN Executive Editor - Special Assignment allend@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, January 20, 2014

JAMES... the brand has been coming out of Jamaica for a very long time

ONE of United States President Barack Obama's top fund-raisers was among overseas marijuana advocates who supported a bid, Saturday, to launch Jamaica's first ganja growers and producers association.

Wanda James who is one of the most well known of the activists behind the legalisation of ganja in Colorado, the first US state to do so, told the Cannabis Stakeholders Forum that her group, the Cannabis Global Initiative, wanted to ensure that Jamaica got what it deserves — "which is a lot" — from a ganja industry.

"The brand is Rastafarian's. The brand has been coming out of Jamaica for a very long time," said James who is married to Jamaican and fellow Colorado ganja activist, Scott Durah.

Organisers of the Forum described James as one of Obama's most powerful fundraisers, who was no doubt pivotal in helping the Democrats to carry the state of Colorado in the 2012 presidential elections.

The Forum which was addressed by Industry, Investment and Commerce Minister Anthony Hylton and Justice Minister Mark Golding, was chaired by the principal of the Mona Campus of the University of the West Indies, Professor Archie McDonald. It pulled together ganja advocates spanning a wide cross section of Jamaican society, from politicians to professionals and potential investors from the US and Canada.

Justice Minister Mark Golding, who could not be physically present due to illness, gave well wishes by telephone amplified by microphone and spoke about the legislative procedure in Jamaica vis-à-vis international conventions on marijuana, ,in a session chaired by Kingston Mayor Angela Brown Burke.

Following almost seven hours of spirited discussions of the issues touching on legalisation of ganja in Jamaica on Saturday, the packed multi-functional room of the UWI main library agreed, without dissent, to move ahead with forming the Ganja Future Growers and Producers Association to lead in the development of a local ganja industry.

They immediately sent a signal that the association would move to protect the many small ganja growers across the length and breadth of Jamaica, referred to as "traditional cultivators", by recommending that "only small and medium-sized Jamaican farmers be licensed to grow cannabis in the first five years".

According to a resolution presented by one of the chief organisers, Paul Burke, smoking of ganja should be banned in public spaces, similar to the ban on tobacco smoking, and that heavier sanctions be imposed on all illegal exporters of the weed.

Burke, Delano Seiveright and Paul Chang have been leading the campaign to decriminalise or legalise ganja at the head of the Cannabis Commercial and Medicinal Task Force, the Ganja Law Reform Coalition, and the National Alliance for the Legalisation of Ganja which put on the Forum.

In attendance were politicians, academics, entertainers, potential investors, researchers, Rastafarians, media personalities and students. They included Raymond Pryce, the People's National Party member of parliament for North-east St Elizabeth; Mike Henry, the Jamaica Labour Party MP for Central Clarendon; Floyd Green, head of JLP affiliate G2K; Professor Rupert Lewis; Dr Fred Hickling; Dr Colin Gyles of UTech; Professor Clinton Hutton of UWI; Marcia Griffiths of Bob Marley's I-Threes; Collette Campbell, general manager of the Small Business Association; Dickie Crawford; and Dr Ken Emmanuel.
    Last edited by Karl; January 20, 2014, 09:50 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Where is the JFJ ?

In attendance were politicians, academics, entertainers, potential investors, researchers, Rastafarians, media personalities and students. They included Raymond Pryce, the People's National Party member of parliament for North-east St Elizabeth; Mike Henry, the Jamaica Labour Party MP for Central Clarendon; Floyd Green, head of JLP affiliate G2K; Professor Rupert Lewis; Dr Fred Hickling; Dr Colin Gyles of UTech; Professor Clinton Hutton of UWI; Marcia Griffiths of Bob Marley's I-Threes; Collette Campbell, general manager of the Small Business Association; Dickie Crawford; and Dr Ken Emmanuel.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I expect the JFJ to play a role because of the dynamics of being a human rights group.Crucial to fight is challenging the status ..hence it is not about conformity and the preservation of a fallacious image.
      I often wonder why during my daily readings of Jakan newspapers I never come across a tourist dragged before the courts for smoking a joint.Could it be there are to different policies being applied?
      Just maybe the first time I consumed alcohol with the explicit consent of all the adults in an enclosed area was in church,communion.
      Weed is integral to Rasta,they determined that from the get go yet....
      This proposal of having designated farmers stems from the very ill advised approach to weed,the stigma of it.
      Parliament missed the boat but it isn't too late...
      Last edited by Rockman; January 20, 2014, 09:57 AM.

JFJ ??

ah wheh di ?!

Dem busy fighting fi people like Janice Allen moddah...

Tink dem have time fi dis ? There is real injustice going on daily dat unnuh nuh interested in.. till it reach yuh.. oh wait... mi figghet ah merica unnuh deh..

Why yuh nuh guh tell NAACP or dat Al Sharpton breddah wheh dem fi duh.. ?

I am sure the JFJ is very interested in limiting unnecessary contacts between the agents of the state and the citizens.
          There are even more reasons why the JFJ involvement is being demanded.

I find it troubling that a human rights organization that claims to be an advocate against police brutality doesn't present the link of state abuse i.e the police and other institutions against Jamaican citizens in the use of the weed.

This issue would go far to emancipate poor Jamaicans that they are targets of the state because of their cultural beliefs and foster a generation to believe and guard for those basic human rights of dignity and privacy.

Shocking!

Herb is the healing of a nation, alcohol is the destruction.”
            ― Bob Marley

Bob Marley
            “When you smoke the herb, it reveals you to yourself.”
            ― Bob Marley

Peter Tosh - Nah Goah Jail

Print this lyric, text only, here.
            Correct this lyric, here.

Said me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail.

I said me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail.

Me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail.

This here smoke that you,
            See me with sir,
            I just got it from an officer, sir.
            And this little bit of green sensimilla,
            I just got it from an inspector,
            He's my friend.

I me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail, no, no.

I said me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail.

When you see me, walking down the streets,
            It is time that you respect me, respect me.
            'Cause from I ever know myself,
            I don't know why you always harass, harass, yeah!

I me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            Rastaman nah go a jail.

Said me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail.

(..)

I hear one leader say,
            If it wasn't for the little sensi,
            Him no know what happen to the economy, economy.
            I see another leader, g in a Half Way Tree,
            And he set the ganja prisoners free,
            He set them free.

Said me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail.
            Coulda cry blood!

Said me nah go a jail, Fi ganja no more, I'm a nah go a jail.
            This yah spliff that you see me with, sir, I,
            I just got it from a priest, sir.
            And this a little bit of brown sensimilla,
            I just got it from a minister, my, my, my, my, my friend.

Me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            Rastaman a nah go a jail.
            I been there too many times!

I said me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail.
            Too many work to do!

I said me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            I'm a nah go a jail.
            It's ??

I said me nah go a jail,
            Fi ganja no more,
            Me nah go a jail.
            I'm warning, telling you!

Legalize It Lyrics

"Legalize It" was written by Tosh, Peter.

 Edit

"Legalize It" was written by Tosh, Peter.

Legalize It Submit Correct Lyrics

Legalize it, don't criticize it
            Legalize it, yeah, yeah, and I will advertise it

Some call it tampee, tampee
            Some call it the weed
            Some call it marijuana, marijuana
            Some of them call it ganja, ganja

Every man got to legalize it, and don't criticize it
            Legalize it yeah, yeah, and I will advertise it

Singers smoke it
            And players of instrument too
            Legalize it, yeah, yeah
            That's the best thing you can do

Doctors smoke it, nurses smoke it
            Judges smoke it, even the lawyer too

So you've got to legalize it, and don't criticize it

It's good for the flu, a good for asthma
            Good for tuberculosis, even umara composis

Got to legalize it, don't criticize it
            Legalize it, yeah, yeah, I will advertise it

Birds eat it, ants love it
            Fowls eat it, goats love to play with it

So you've got to legalize it, don't criticize it

Keep on telling you, legalize it

Read more: Peter Tosh - Legalize It Lyrics | MetroLyrics
            Last edited by Sir X; January 20, 2014, 10:10 AM.

@ Ben

300 people in front of a judge in halfway tree weekly isn't pressing? can you imagine the numbers islandwide ?

Serious disconnect here !

Oh by the way the last time I drank alcohol waswhen I was 18 abd in college.Got stupid drunk at Devon House(a drink called Devon Duppy-a mixture of gin wiskey and white rum)nearly dead to neckback.Never drank again from that day.
                Two car load of classmates(males and females) left campus to celebrate..and I foolishly got caught upin some dare crap.

Maybe it is a resource issue ?

Do you wish to contribute ?

I hear they are looking for a new Executive Director !

I am sure it is a resource issue..

Do you want bank instructions so you can donate ?

With the advent of pharmaceutical toxic drugs perfectly legal(must be some reason why there is an illicit trade of those pills..),I can't see why weed isn't a viable alternative.
                      We have seen a dramatic increase in school shootings,a lesser known fact is all the perpetrators were under prescribed medications.Psychiatrists so called fix is to drug the patients so they are so spaced out there is no sign of anything,the cure to what they are being treated for.

I'll pay for X if you will cover Rockman's membership dues. It's a little onerous for me to come up with the entire 400 JMD.

I could even write each of them a recommendation for their application for the executive director position.

At best it is a question of priority.

The link between one of Jamaicas most wanted man and his attack on the state was ganja.He was disrespected ,brutalised for being a ganja man,he took it until they abused his woman,causing him to attack a police station.

Sandokhan.

Resources better be found ,or prioritised.We stand to gain more in terms of human rights,respect for self ,others and privacy.

How much does it take to be presnt at such a crucial occasion ?

Wi nuh get it,suh wi will feel it.

Is like having a problem with a girlfriend and she(with no sincerity to what she is suggesting)says maybe we should just end the relationship,why she foesn't consider changing?
                              The issue of human rights isnot a spectator sport,we have an obligation to helping the JFJ by makibg suggestions,it is healthy to the organization.