• World Class Jamaican "Journalism"

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business1.html

then

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/77...y-is-down.html

and they actually put it in the business section

At one end of the scale is mania which can involve disinhibition, overindulgence in pleasurable activities, excessive spending, exaggerated sex drive, a lack of need for sleep and sometimes grandiose delusions, when people think they have special powers."
    The manic phase can last weeks, or even months, and is often followed by an incapacitating low, with suicidal feelings.
    Well we will just have to try and catch him when him inna the manic phase. Folly could do with an injection of capital.

But Why the Innuendo?

and they actually put it in the business section
      [FONT="Verdana"]I’m not sure of the reason for the innuendo, as seen in your heading, “World Class Jamaican ‘Journalism’.”

The Gleaner writer simply wrote and turned in an interview story. In fact, the lead to this short news feature includes the word “reportedly (fell in love with),” and also other -- what I will call “cautionary” -- inclusions such as “a self-acclaimed adventurer.” And I could say more even after just a cursory look at this story.

Overall, I’m not sure of the reason for the sarcasm you aimed at the writer.

Where I fully agree with you is the questionable decision of the relevant Gleaner editor to include this story in the “Business” section of the newspaper. That decision was downright ridiculous!

Finally, if this European (Downes) wants to show himself as a fool, it’s his right. However, there is nothing seriously wrong with this story, except for the section in which it was placed. Of course, a follow-up story will be absolutely necessary after the true psychological state of this would-be investor becomes known to the Daily Gleaner.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        However, there is nothing seriously wrong with this story, except for the section in which it was placed. Of course, a follow-up story will be absolutely necessary after the true psychological state of this would-be investor becomes known to the Daily Gleaner.
        [/SIZE]

No background research on the fellow before posting such a ridiculous story? A simple google search of his name would have shown that he is a looney toon...poor journalism...

Well before I read the Bipolar story, I figured this guy had to be at best eccentric... "Somerset Falls one of the "most amazing" in the world" ??? with all due respect.... I'd really like to know how he arrived at that conclusion.

I would be wary of people who want to build pyramids... JA has had enough of pyramid schemes thank you!

Well before I read the Bipolar story, I figured this guy had to be at best eccentric... "Somerset Falls one of the "most amazing" in the world" ??? with all due respect.... I'd really like to know how he arrived at that conclusion.

I would be wary of people who want to build pyramids... JA has had enough of pyramid schemes thank you!
            Peter, yuh good!
            If a laf, a dead!

"Marble is not only the most beautiful rock in the world, but it shall stand for all eternity."

Really?!

Marble is hardly durable and stains easily. If you building for eternity, don't mek it wid marble. Marble nuh mek it.