• Don1 and others - Pres. Obama's full speech on NSA

The remarks were distributed in advance and are "as prepared for delivery."

At the dawn of our Republic, a small, secret surveillance committee borne out of the “The Sons of Liberty” was established in Boston. The group’s members included Paul Revere, and at night they would patrol the streets, reporting back any signs that the British were preparing raids against America’s early Patriots.

Throughout American history, intelligence has helped secure our country and our freedoms. In the Civil War, Union balloon reconnaissance tracked the size of Confederate armies by counting the number of camp fires. In World War II, code-breaking gave us insight into Japanese war plans, and when Patton marched across Europe, intercepted communications helped save the lives of his troops. After the war, the rise of the Iron Curtain and nuclear weapons only increased the need for sustained intelligence-gathering. And so, in the early days of the Cold War, President Truman created the National Security Agency to give us insight into the Soviet bloc, and provide our leaders with information they needed to confront aggression and avert catastrophe.

http://www.denverpost.com/nationworl...ech-nsa-spying

=======

FULL SPEECH from YouTube:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4MKm2uFqVQ

damn that Obama ......

you realize that this has no effect on the NSA surveillance program right? you also realize that the only reason the claffy is now backtracking is because of snowden whistleblowing...but hey claffy is black so

i realise all a dat ......

how yuh expect to practice information gathering in this day and age? in the sunshine?

if government know your business and don't do anyhting because you are not a threat or d not represent a threat, should you care?

Yuh seit!

i realise all a dat ......

how yuh expect to practice information gathering in this day and age? in the sunshine?

if government know your business and don't do anyhting because you are not a threat or d not represent a threat, should you care?
            Yes you should...it invades the attorney client privilege among other things...info you may think is innocuous can be "repackaged" to send you to prison if you step out of line...disappointed in you for even posing that question

Bricktop: All you are suggesting is the 'status quo' only has the means to send you to prison.

Information in the hands of humans with the means to do good or bad...shall always have some using that info for good and some using it for bad.

It is the bad humans you are to be afraid of not the info!!! ...or info gathering!!! The info in and of itself is 'nothing'!!!

it is a legitimate question how, yuh mean?

on a different tip, how does it invade attorney client privilege? this is a legitimate question ....

oh, and you ignored a part of my post entirely. but that is ok.

you realize that all correspondence between kim dotcom and his lawyers is in the hands of the NSA right? and they obtained it by illegal surveillance...this was in a copyright case...not a terrorism case...

so i shouild give bad people all my info? the NSA has been caught red handed conducting ILLEGAL surveillance...

What are you talking about?
                      What illegality are you referencing? Please list it or them?

I watched the speech...

.. My observations:

1. Great speech. Very moving. Nice, pretty words

2. The reforms could be significant but the devil is in the details... i.e. how they are implemented. The intelligence directorate can easily frustrate the reforms by administrative actions or worse...manufacturing or overplaying a spectacular "terrorist plot" which gets people bummy. I've noticed over the years that Americans get Bummy inna Hurry once they see stuff on TV... real or imagined

3. The fact that Obama felt forced to reform the out-of-control intelligence machine proves the extreme value of Edward Snowden as a whistleblower of government corruption. Nothing would have happened without his intervention.

Hero Edward tuh di Whirllllllllllllllllllll
                        Last edited by Don1; January 17, 2014, 06:16 PM.

.. My observations:

1. Great speech. Very moving. Nice, pretty words

2. The reforms could be significant but the devil is in the details... i.e. how they are implemented. The intelligence directorate can easily frustrate the reforms by administrative actions or worse...manufacturing a spectacular "terrorist plot" which gets people bummy. I've noticed that Americans get Bummy inna Hurry

3. The fact that Obama felt forced to reform the out-of-control intelligence machine proves the extreme value of Edward Snowden as a whistleblower of government corruption. Nothing would have happened without his intervention.

Hero Edward tuh di Whirllllllllllllllllllll
                          What reforms?
                          How is pushing around units or adding persons or thinking on moving storage of the meta-data reforms?

Even words on curtailing or stopping gathering information of state leaders is in todays world more platitude than possible.

In my mind it is absolutely impossible to 'spy' on the scale the USA, GERMANY, ENGLAND, RUSSIA and others and eliminate any one individual from surveillance. Commonsense...logic says, IMPOSSIBLE!

Obama proposed significant changes to the PRISM programs, guidelines on surveillance at home & abroad and more independent oversight of the FISA court's secret decisions etc I expected much less from him

You may disagree but logical folks call those actions "reforms"

Hero Edward tuh di Whirlllllllllllllllllll

You need to get up to speed the come back and join the debate...