Jamaica Backward nuh claaatttt...Dem nuh get it ?

• Jamaica Backward nuh claaatttt...Dem nuh get it ?

Licence To Revoke
    Published: Saturday | January 11, 2014 0 Comments
    Guy
    Guy
    Traffic Authority to get power to suspend drivers' permits

THE ISLAND Traffic Authority (ITA) which administers the provisions of the Road Traffic Act is expected to be given increased powers to revoke the driver's licences of persons who accumulate a significant number of demerit points.

Minister without portfolio in the Ministry of Transport, Works and Housing Dr Morais Guy said under the current Road Traffic Act, only a judge has the power to revoke someone's driver's licence.

However, he said the new legislation would give the ITA the requisite teeth to revoke driver's licences.

The new proposed law also speaks to the three-phase granting of motor vehicle licences.

Under the new legislation, a person who applies for a driver's licence would be first granted a learner's permit. To obtain this permit, the applicant would have to complete a prescribed road code test, pass a prescribed vision test, and pay a stipulated fee.

That learner's permit is expected to remain in force for 12 months.

The licensing authority will grant a provisional driver's licence only to the holder of a valid learner's permit who has received a certificate of completion from a licensed driving school. The provisional driver's licence will be valid for a specific period.

The holder of a provisional licence will subsequently be required to pass a driving test administered by the ITA after which a certificate of competence is granted.

Dr Guy pointed out that the proposed new procedures would reduce the chances of persons buying licences.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Seriously ,its 2014 and we are now doing this ? This is how you rake in money,quality of life 101...aah cant believe it...NOW ! ....they are now thinking of implementing a points system.I hope the system of suspension or revocation is based on points and not a sole individual passing judgement.

Jamaica is loosing billions in quality of life issues.Same thing with downtown kingston realestate.Simple ticketing for hazardous buildings,houses ,side walks,mandating that certain areas have a coat of white paint ,to beautify a neighbourhood.

You tax quality of life ,to improve and maintain it.I dread this decriminalization or legalisation of ganja for that principle.

It has to be done with quality of life in mind.How can we complain of being broke ,increasing taxes when we havent even mastered this basic concept of revenue.

Quality of life ,will rake in billions.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

By zoning and mandating certain areas to have specific constrution designs ,allure,refinement,artistry you rake in money,you use the police force to reinforce it by ticketing.e.g all buildings in downtown kingston must have a fresh coat of paint every 3 years....all sidewalks where there is a house or business have to meet a criteria of safety.......money in the construction industry for paint and fixing up (labour) people at work.....$$$...certain bars must be zoned for outdoor seating capacity,yes chairs ,tables and awwning..... or tickets in the government coffers,if not compliant....all haradous buildings ,which go through the ticketing process ,are put up for public auction .Gentrification starts automatically .Investors will buy who can mainatin the quality of life codes.

Wi backward nuh *****..all they do is tax ,and talk faawt about IMF and LKW,the solution is within ourselves,commonsense.

I am very upset.

Even the chairs and tables have to meet a construction criteria in artistry and refinement....ticket that too.

Come on Jamaica.

I learned from a Jewish man ,you count the grain of salt to get the weight to see the value of your money.Seriously down to the grain dis bredda a weigh,wi nuh get it.

So, what's this going to do? There are too many corrupt persons in the system for this to work. This is nothing but more legislation and big chat without demonstrating how we can eliminate the cheats and punish them meaningfully.

I mean what was in place prior to this? Didn't we already have a points system? I guess the real change is having the traffic authority persons empowered to revoke licenses. But don't see how wi going to eliminate the corruption, the bribes. The police control most of the minibuses, so...

What kind of points system is that when it has no automatic penalties,after certain points your lic should automatically be suspended then revoked,you dont need a comissioners with authority or individuals for that .

Thats the purpose of a points system,no wonder you have corrupted peace officers.Its weeping ,its a sive,granted even if you have automatic suspensions or revocation based on points,our system is wide open to abuse but at least automatic penalties based on points is a start.....$$$$ wasted in bribes and corruption.

No sah wi nuh narmal.
              Last edited by Sir X; January 11, 2014, 01:18 PM.

You invest in quality of life initiatives to do two things ,decrease crime and stimulate real estate ,i.e construction,renovation and of course employment.You see the gentrification of harlem and bed stuy ,crown heights ,etc.Which translates to government revenue.

It works.

Cho X what you upset bout, we don't have neither discipline or process to make that work anyway. Tek away license that is a joke, probably a good chunk of the worst drivers out there probably don't even have a license or buy them license, very easy to beat the system and get a new one issued if that is even necessary.

We are so far off those points you mention, but the truth is it is really some hardcore leadership that can stand up to criticism and make the hard choices that we need regardless of where the opposition is coming from, yes that is right a flat playing field for all regardless of rich, poor, jlp or pnp, uptown or downtown, black, brown or whatever. We don't have that leader or leaders like that have not seen in since the 70's.

True all these initiatives are simple revenue earners for the state.QOI is big money,Dinkins,Guilliani and Bloomberg used it to turn NY around ,the draw back some same is it maligns individuals.

2014...smh.