Mosiah, Islandman, Peter R. (the true intellectuals)....

• Mosiah, Islandman, Peter R. (the true intellectuals)....

on this forum.

What do you think about this idea?

Thanks in advance.
    Zimbabwe Protecting Several Industries for Black Citizens

The owners of foreign firms operating in certain sectors in Zimbabwe after January 1, 2014 will be arrested, a senior official has warned.

Economic Empowerment Secretary George Magosvongwe issued the warning in parliament, state media reports.

“Indigenization” of the economy was one of President Robert Mugabe’s main campaign themes in the March election.

Farming, hairdressing and baking are among the sectors now reserved for “indigenous,” or black, Zimbabweans.

“January is a month to come and we are putting in place measures for enforcement in the event that they do not comply,” the state-owned Herald newspaper quotes Mr Magosvongwe as saying.
    He said that Zimbabweans were being identified to take over businesses to prevent shortages of goods.

According to the Herald, the “reserved sectors of the economy” include: retail and wholesale business, hairdressers, beauty salons, bakers, employment agencies, agriculture, transport, estate agencies and advertising agencies.

It said that foreign-owned restaurants that did not serve local food would not be affected.

Owners of businesses without indigenization compliance certificates face a fine or imprisonment if they are still operating, the Herald reports.
    It says these certificates are only given to local people.

There has been growing concern in Zimbabwe over an influx of traders from Nigeria and China who sell all sorts of goods in local markets, undercutting local retailers.

Mugabe says his policies are needed because under colonial rule, many economic sectors were reserved for white people.

Indeginization is a must. The implementation is the tricky part.

HL, You well know how to exaggerate (bout intellectual )
      I'm just hearing about this indigenization so I'll think on it before I opine.

..see why you were selected on the forums' short-list of intellectuals... ..it's your thoughtfulness....PR!!!

Di man haffi run di country in the interest of the indigenous citizens..

Yuh tink him want him country tun like Yard where c o o l i e and chiney and arab run di business dem and the locals haffi beg wuk !??

Here is the thing. Nothing wrong in principle with policies to empower those who have been the victims of institutional discrimination.

The devil is always in the details though. Are there enough qualified indigenous people for all those skill sets? If a non-black Zimbabwean or a black foreign born Zimbabwean resident has an established business serving a community do they have to close it down?

Hopefully this will not be as damaging as the disastrous farm land capture program that caused Zimbabwe's economy to shrink for a decade and caused them to eventually have to abandon their currency after triple digit inflation destroyed its value.

South Africa will have to follow suit one day!

And if yuh nuh mind sharp, all...rahtid, koo di time!

Have to say respect for posting. This is what I'm talking about. One cannot yield to the power of suggestion. Jane Elliot showed this in her experiment. Not posting to HL's crap about intellectuals is just giving him power. The same way someone can say by the shade of your skin you are inferior.

Years ago a Prof. told me that at the top is not about race it's all about money (he should know as he moves in certain circles)He also said the day you say someone is holding you back then that person is God. You yeild all power to that person.

HL doesn't know any better or he is just being mischievous by trying to divide the site using labels. Some people are socialized this way hence the need to project it.

Conclusion: The initial thread only goes to show that racism is only a psychological trick.

Note:Notice the one Mo posting gladly because "teacher said his eyes were blue and thus superior to those without blue eyes". LOL

Lee Kuan Yew has exposed the frauds...

Dat is why dem nuh waan hear bout him or what him haffi seh...

People can yap all day about horsemen and capitalism vs socialism vs communism and 21 Families and neo-colonialism and ray-tay-tay..

None ah dat cyaan guh ah supamarket..

So King Jawge--now that you have sighted the rake--and cleared up the crap. What is your thought on the Zimbabwe initiative for it's aboriginal people?

Thanks in advance.