Re: Can Jamaica afford to grow?

Did Seaga wave a magic wand and wallah ! 5% Growth ?

Mi nuh unnastan dis skepticism regarding the JLP when it comes to growth.. I mean if their history when in power indicated otherwise.. then I could understand.. but mi cyaan find that data... Karl, Jawge.. help mi out !
    Figet KArl and JAwge .... Mosiah providing the entertainment this week.

How long did it take Seaga to produce 5% growth after the DISASTER of the 70's...
      I wonder what is Lazie's, Maudib's, Assasin's answer to the above?

...and, if their answer is less than or equal to 10 years...then how will they interpret...explain away the thought put forth by Dennis Chung that you need an educated work-force?

...within constraints of time needed to produce that educated work-force?

mmmm? Get educational institutions up to speed - manpower (e.g. training and recruiting of the administrators, teachers and ancillary staff - Fact: talent abounds) & physical plants with equipment...

...and move the pupils ( Fact: talent abounds) through various stages of 'learning' and provide necessary experiences...
      ...in how many years?

...but, back to the questions: I wonder what Lazie's Maudib and Assasin's answer is to the above first question and the ...attendant second?

By 1987 the economy grew at 6.2%. What yuh must ask yuhself is why after 1990 we haven't come close to 5% damn ... we haven't reached 3%. Stop form the fool Karl. In Strategic Management, the first step is "People". It is abundantly clear we do not have the right people in the leadership positions. Yes, dem may popular, but its time we stoop treating this as a popularity contest.

Get rid of the Pimps N Pushers and mek serious people get to work. Imagine, unuh mek Manley fock it up for 8 years and it took 7 years to fix .... now unuh mek the same set a idiots have dem way fi 18 year ..... God help us.

Karl it nuh matter, Seaga will not be anywhwere near the country leadership. The question is how long will it take Portia or Bruce?

I tell you with the current policies of Omar Davis we going nowhere.

Karl it nuh matter, Seaga will not be anywhwere near the country leadership. The question is how long will it take Portia or Bruce?

Portia? Unuh nuh see say Portia is another Popular poppyshow (my back broader that Joan's) like Manley? Unuh nuh realize that in order fi counter what Bruce proposed in Parliament, she come with things in her presentation, that even Omar not talking bout?

I will tell you that if Portia wins Seaga will be in a leadership position...at the least it shall be offered to him!

You can put that in your pipe and smoke it!

I wonder what is Lazie's, Maudib's, Assasin's answer to the above?

...and, if their answer is less than or equal to 10 years...then how will they interpret...explain away the thought put forth by Dennis Chung that you need an educated work-force?

...within constraints of time needed to produce that educated work-force?

mmmm? Get educational institutions up to speed - manpower (e.g. training and recruiting of the administrators, teachers and ancillary staff - Fact: talent abounds) & physical plants with equipment...

...and move the pupils ( Fact: talent abounds) through various stages of 'learning' and provide necessary experiences...
                ...in how many years?

...but, back to the questions: I wonder what Lazie's Maudib and Assasin's answer is to the above first question and the ...attendant second?
                The meds wearing off ?... what are you trying to say ? Who is disputing Dennis Chung analysis on what type of capacity is required for Growth ?

Karl it nuh matter to me. I encourage her to use his very good analytical skills. That he is very good at.

Karl unlike you it nuh matter who grow the economy, I am just convince under Omar Davis and the current financial path he is taking, based on history, I am sorry to say we will have no growth.

What the ??!!

How Portia going to give the Anti-Christ a leadership position ?

And worse it sound like yuh supportive of that !!

Did you read this part:

"The logic I apply to this is as follows:

1. If we are to grow at acceptable international rates then we need to have a productive workforce and an adequate social and physical infrastructure;

2. If we are to have a productive workforce and proper infrastructure then we need to have (a) an educated population; (b) a healthy population; and (c) a low crime rate;

3. If we are to achieve these things then we will need to put money into them given the fact that the majority of our people cannot afford it individually;

4. If we do not put money into these sectors then we will not lay the foundation to ensure we are internationally competitive and grow at acceptable rates;

5. If we do not grow at acceptable rates and become competitive then we will sink further into debt and poverty. We may even qualify for debt relief under the IMF's debt relief programme for countries in dire straits, if that is our objective;

6. Therefore, logic dictates that the only option for us is to invest adequate resources in health, education, and fighting to move the country forward; and

7. It follows logically then that we must find the resources to do these necessary things, and it may mean reallocating funds or radically reforming the public sector for efficiency. We have tried the route of taxation over the years and it has now reached a point where any further taxation becomes unproductive.

So, based on my reasoning, it is now a matter of how and when the money to finance these areas can be made available, and the longer we wait, while discussing it to death, the worse it becomes. A recent report by the World Bank states that crime costs us 3.7 per cent of GDP. This of course is only the logic of a simple accountant, who could be wrong, but if there is another way, someone please show me."

Tell me, how long before we accomplish point 1?

What about point 2? Do you think that we can have an educated work force and low crime rate in the short term or in 4-6 years? Remember 72% don't have a single subject!

Act like yuh go good school. Don't just repeat it!
                      But Mosiah, how then do you explain the growth rates of Jamaica in the sixties and the eighties. Is it that in the sixties and the eighties all these conditions that you list existed, but then suddenly disappeared in the seventies and the nineties to present!?

I personally think these conditions to growth that you express will reappear again after the next election!! provided that the result is conducive for them to change...........

Perhaps they will reappear, but they can't happen overnight. Agree? And I feel it's easier to tear down that to rebuild many of these "factors".

How do I explain those growth rates in the 60s and 80s? There is much more to conquer today than what was present in the 50s and the 70s. In 1980 we were alarmed with 800 murders. We are doubling that with ease these days!

Perhaps they will reappear, but they can't happen overnight. Agree? And I feel it's easier to tear down that to rebuild many of these "factors".

How do I explain those growth rates in the 60s and 80s? There is much more to conquer today than what was present in the 50s and the 70s. In 1980 we were alarmed with 800 murders. We are doubling that with ease these days!
                          Why stop there? What was the murder rate in 1989? Admit it bredren ... bettah governance.

Tell me, what was the murder rate in 1989? I don't know.

So you mean we have been regressing over the past 20 years ?

But mi nuh unnastan.. you must have been actively campaigning to stop the destruction.. oh that's right.. Rasta Party..

Is Rasta Party produced the growth in the 80's ??

Growth of what?

(snicker)