You are "arguing" points that were not being discussed...that's the sign of an illogical mind
J$106.34 to one US dollar
something you do everyday. Go figure.
The fact is that it is all related to passing IMF test, read the IMF report.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I'm not too concerned with tracking intra-quarterly results to find fault wid dis ar dat interim outturn .... dats di job of the MOF to correct by exam time
I'm more concerned whether the IMF i.e. Jamaica's Financial Master, gives the green light on the quarterly tests which free up financing and improve investor confidence in the economyTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
yeah, since when....
time longer than rope. you soon change your tune.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
ok boss... tek di winninsTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
So if Portia did a bawl politically before bittah medicine, a wonder what she have to say since she start dishing it out and take the politics out of the medicine?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Can you post the full article or a link to it. Thanks, then we can talk about it.
Because I am sure Mr Chang always post about things that the government can do to growth the economy with or without the IMF.
Thanks in advance.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I hope you read this part
"This has nothing to do with any dictates under the economic programme (note: I have refrained from calling it the IMF programme), but rather, it is a wider social and cultural problem that we have.
The fact is that while greater economic growth could see a decrease in the unemployment rate, from the current 16 per cent, the quality of the employment created may not create the needed middle class.
In fact, many of the jobs could be casual jobs, which are seasonal or low-paying. The reason is that there is a critical mass of persons in the country, particularly among the younger labour force, that is not properly educated/trained and/or productive enough to face a more market-driven and competitive environment.
This is the big challenge (and risk) that the Jamaican economy faces, and which, quite frankly, we have not done enough to deal with. If you think about it, as investors get more confident, then what you will find is that they will start shifting from US$ assets to J$ investments, which will necessitate a sell of the US$ currency to the market. The exchange rate will not see any great revaluation, if any, but at the current exchange rate, the ROI is minimal compared to investment opportunities, in an economy where confidence is strong.
The problem is, because of the low productivity levels of this critical mass of the labour force, quality re-employment of the unemployed is not going to be maximized.
The challenge the government faces is how to transition this unproductive work force to a globally competitive one. It is a task that must be undertaken by the Jamaica Productivity Centre, and HEART in particular, and must receive the support of the ministries of industry, education, labour, and finance.
A failure to address this problem could result in some growth returning to the economy, but without the mass benefit needed. This would serve to stymie the growth of the middle class, which would not be a sustainable model for development."- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Reckless borrowing after Unprecedented Global recession ?
Reckless borrowing from the IMF ?
How dat work exactly ?
lol ! woiee !
Household tendencies are not a joke...
Lets take a little break from the DonZero disingenuous show..
The Bitter Pill requirement had its genesis before Shaw took office.. well before..
Of course the "Bittah Medicine" was overdue from PNP/PJ/Termite days...that's beyond dispute. But that doesn't absolve One Turd from NOT applying it in the face of the global downturn
Absent the structural reforms the MASSIVE loans were predicated upon and were required by the IMF...the borrowing was reckless
One Turd was a Big SamfieTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View PostOf course the "Bittah Medicine" was overdue from PNP/PJ/Termite days...that's beyond dispute. But that doesn't absolve One Turd from NOT applying it in the face of the global downturn
Absent the structural reforms the MASSIVE loans were predicated upon and were required by the IMF...the borrowing was reckless
One Turd was a Big Samfie"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Just who is this undefined "unuh" that should have been taking to the streets?? Which street should these "unuh" be taking to?? Fifth Avenue???
Are you daft??????
Man fi fool...but nuh suh
wooooiiieee mi medulla!!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE