• NSA loves Email.... Snail Mail too

NSA reportedly intercepting laptops purchased online to install spy malware
    By T.C. Sottek on December 29, 2013 10:29 am Email @LaughingStoic

According to a new report from Der Spiegel based on internal NSA documents, the signals intelligence agency's elite hacking unit (TAO) is able to conduct sophisticated wiretaps in ways that make Hollywood fantasy look more like reality.

The report indicates that the NSA, in collaboration with the CIA and FBI, routinely and secretly intercepts shipping deliveries for laptops or other computer accessories in order to implant bugs before they reach their destinations. According to Der Spiegel, the NSA's TAO group is able to divert shipping deliveries to its own "secret workshops" in a method called interdiction, where agents load malware onto the electronics or install malicious hardware that can give US intelligence agencies remote access.

While the report does not indicate the scope of the program, or who the NSA is targeting with such wiretaps, it's a unique look at the agency's collaborative efforts with the broader intelligence community to gain hard access to communications equipment. One of the products the NSA appears to use to compromise target electronics is codenamed COTTONMOUTH, and has been available since 2009; it's a USB "hardware implant" that secretly provides the NSA with remote access to the compromised machine.

This tool, among others, is available to NSA agents through what Der Spiegel describes as a mail-order spy catalog. The report indicates that the catalog offers backdoors into the hardware and software of the most prominent technology makers, including Cisco, Juniper Networks, Dell, Seagate, Western Digital, Maxtor, Samsung, and Huawei. Many of the targets are American companies. The report indicates that the NSA can even exploit error reports from Microsoft's Windows operating system; by intercepting the error reports and determining what's wrong with a target's computer, the NSA can then attack it with Trojans or other malware.

Wipe clean and reload. Put electrical tape over camera.

Originally posted by world fan View Post
      Wipe clean and reload. Put electrical tape over camera.
      Wipe clean will work for software change. What if they installed hardware on the system to do what they wanted?
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yuh salt! Soh still put tape over the camera.

I think the camera is the least of you worries. What will they see if you are on the computer and doing whatever you are doing? A look at the expressions on your face? It is not like the camera will allow them to do screen capture.

If they can install hardware or software on your computer that allows them to see all you are doing on your machine at anytime, then that is big.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Unless yuh looking at child pornography and other illegal activities, like raising funds for terrorists(trigger deh soh), planning terrorists attack, illegal financial dealings, etc.......you shouldn't worry too much.

Certain things trigger it and some people even question the value of patwah.

In fact, i got laptop from work and they made us reload software as well as some other 'hardening'.

It like a cell phone, what can you do? Especially the ones where you can't remove the batteries(power).

Originally posted by world fan View Post
              Certain things trigger it and some people even question the value of patwah.
              What are suggesting here? Do you think if you write in patwa than it cannot be intercepted and deciphered? Do you know that there are Jamaicans working with some of these agencies as well?

Again - certain things trigger it and make you more of a suspect.

I now know that there are Jamaicans working some of these agencies. Maybe even a RBSC poster or two?

http://www.theverge.com/2013/12/29/5...-usb-plant-spy