• Colombian gov't scholarships galore

Colombian gov't scholarships galore

But Jamaicans not applying for them
    BY HG HELPS Editor-at-Large helpsh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, December 22, 2013

THE Colombian Government has been trying to entice Jamaicans to study in that country for several years, but there have been no takers, one of its senior diplomats has said.
    "We offer 15 scholarships a year to Jamaicans to study in Colombia, but nobody applies," bemoaned Deputy Head of Mission at the Colombian Embassy in Kingston William Bush.

BUSH ... we are promoting the fact that we have these scholarships. (PHOTO: LLEWELLYN WYNTER)

1/1

"Now we are promoting the fact that we have these scholarships," Bush told the Jamaica Observer.
    The diplomat in an interview with the Sunday Observer last week, said that qualified Jamaicans would study at various locations across the country as part of a wider arrangement of cooperation between Jamaica and Colombia that has several other education components.
    The scholarships are offered for first degree studies in medicine, engineering and social science. Successful applicants are enrolled in January and August of each year.
    Colombia, a South American country with 45 million inhabitants, joins others in offering mainly academic scholarships, and sports and the arts too, to qualified Jamaican students.
    The United States, Cuba, Canada, the United Kingdom, Spain, Germany, China, Venezuela, and Japan are among other countries which have extended the hand of generosity to Jamaica in that regard.
    "Colombia's Agency for Higher Education has very good programmes," Bush said. "But it seems that people don't know about the scholarships," he said.
    The offers for scholarships are made through Jamaica's ministry of foreign affairs and foreign trade.
    Another aspect of the education cooperation between both countries includes a swapping of talent in the subject areas of Spanish and English.
    "Our Spanish teachers go to the UWI (University of the West Indies) to teach the subject, and Jamaican students who finish UWI go to Colombia to teach English. That programme has been going on for over 20 years," Bush said.
    "We are working to make that even stronger. A lot of Jamaicans live in Colombia, many of them are teachers," Bush added.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2oDIjAomH

Big things lined up in Jamaica, Colombia alliance

BY HG HELPS Editor-at-Large helpsh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, December 22, 2013

JAMAICA and Colombia are set to roll out key programmes, beginning early in the New Year, that will result in significant benefits for both countries, a Colombian official has said.
    Apart from increased cooperation in education and sport, details of which have been caried by the Daily Observer, there is to be significant cooperation in agriculture, industry and commerce, culture, and defence.

Bush and his secretary at the Colombian Embassy in Kingston, Sherrill Wilmot, go over ducuments relating to cooperation agreements between Jamaica and Colombia. (PHOTO: LLEWELLYN WYNTER)

1/1

William Bush, Colombia's Deputy Head of Mission at that South American country's embassy in Kingston, said that over the next two years, the spotlight of progress will be focused on improving life for the people of both countries.
    "We have a free trade arrangement with Caricom already, but we have said that we want a free trade arrangement with Jamaica only. We are in talks with Jamaica's ministry of foreign affairs and foreign trade, as well as the ministry of trade and industry.
    "Last week we had our eighth neighbourhood commission between both countries to establish cooperation for the next two years.
    "Next year we will have an exchange programme with Jamaican farmers in the second phase of a cassava development programme that both countries have. We produce a lot of cassava and we will bring experts here, to work with farmers mainly from St Elizabeth," he said.
    Already, Colombian business interests are lining up a large delegation to attend a trade Expo in Kingston from April 3 to 6 next year.
    The Jamaica Chamber of Commerce will also have a strong Colombian presence at a conference for investors in Montego Bay during the year.
    In the area of security and defence, both countries will strengthen their cooperation in respect of the protection of each other's coastline, through improved and increased activity with the coast guards of both nations.
    "We will have an exchange of information on patrolling of the seas, as Colombia and Jamaica share a huge maritime frontier," Bush said.
    "Trade between both countries can be improved and we are inviting Jamaican business people to export their products to Colombia.
    "Now, Jamaican exports to Colombia are limited, as most of the items that go to Colombia are linked to the food industry. There are much more markets for Jamaican products.
    "Also, Colombia exports things like foodstuff and toiletries from Colombia and more can be done in these and more areas, too," said Bush, who was posted to Jamaica from the Colombian capital, Bogota, last May, after previous postings as Colombia's Consul General in Vancouver, Canada, and one of the country's representatives at the Inter-American Development Bank in Washington, DC.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2oDGunMzp

Where were these scholarships when I left high school decades ago?

Jamaica was still a colony of Britain.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jamaica needs Spanish teachers teaching conversational spanish in our high schools. Now with expected invasion of the Chinese, I hope part of the agreement includes Chinese language teachers.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I dunno. I received scholarships to countries that did not speak a lick of English back in the day. Not to mention cultures that were very different to Jamaica's and half way across the globe. I have several friends and relatives who took up scholarships in Cuba, Russia and Hungary. And now we don't apply for Colombian scholarships?!?!?

Are these scholarships advertised? Couldn't be!

They are available but treated like a private thing by some in the public sector. I actually won a commonwealth scholarship to go to Cyprus to study Tourism, My very good friend also did. We found out in totally different ways. Anyway at the last minute it was cancelled because of some changes of in government personal or policies from sponsors or locally.

The fact is these are not really advertise and I remember the public service ministry was the one who had the links. Part of the problem is like farm work cards and ship cards, this involves some power or political connection or some money letting off.